We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waitress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Just Like Mother's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Just Like Mother's
11060 Queens Blvd., Forest Hills, NY 11375
718 544 3294
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Polish
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rude waitress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We normally came for breakfast, food is always good, service is ok. We also came for dinner, not too much varieties, but acceptable. Last Friday, we went for breakfast, and the service was horrible. The waitress was rude, abrupt, got the order wrong. I ordered spinach omelet, my 'normal' order, with separate order of Kielbasa on the side,..when the food came, the Kielbasa was mixed in with the spinach omelet. I didn't return the order, I was hungry, I should had returned the order, because the home fries was not even warm,....I either will not go back on weekdays, or will never go back altogether. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Go and try! Food is very tasty you will not be dissapointed :)) Sometimes in the rush hours servers are in hurry so you have to wait a little bit more..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat and relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good place to just eat & talk with a friend, or relax over a meal by yourself. Not much to talk about -nothing special except the perogies, potato pancakes, and other good Eastern-European food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Food - Terrible Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I'm not Polish but love the delicous Blintzes that are made by several Polish Restaurants in NYC. This one has among the best. However beware of the service. I recently ordered a small order of Blintzes. The waitress brought a large order which I simply did not realize until I got the check at the end of the meal. After two phone calls to "Mother", she very reluctantly adjusted my check. Caveat Emptor!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Most things on the menu are tasty but the service is ridiculously slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a few times and my experiences with the food have been hit or miss. They have sensational hot chocolate and the pancakes with fruit compote on the top are very delicious but no matter how good they are I still can't get past the fact that my friend and I had to wait about 40 minutes for pancakes and bacon in a nearly empty restaurant. I went with my mother another time and she ordered the cherry filled crepes which she was very excited about. She was disappointed to find that the cherry filling inside of the crepe was ice cold.

I have also been there for dinner and ordered a cheeseburger while my husband ordered the salmon. Both dishes lacked any real flavor and were somewhat overcooked. It was one of the very few burgers over the course of my life that mostly remained on my plate by the end of the meal. Do yourselves a favor and travel a bit further up Queens Boulevard by Queens Center Mall to Georgia Diner which has speedy service and great food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just Like Mother's also viewed

 
Forest Hills, Queens
Forest Hills, Queens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Just Like Mother's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.