We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and decor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MoCA Asian Bistro - Queens

MoCA Asian Bistro - Queens
10718 70th Rd, Forest Hills, NY 11375-4241
718-268-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
MoCA Asian Bistro - Queens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 162 Restaurants in Forest Hills
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Austin St. and 70th Rd.
Transit: Take F, E, R, V and G train stop on 71st Street/ Continental Ave.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and decor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The decor is very modern-chic (especially the lighting).
Food was mouth-watery (very very delicious!), and service was great.

It is a little pricy though (I mean, come on -this is Queens, not Manhattan). I'd go again, but not often.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Trendy Asian Fusion Atmosphere and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked a table for 5 through OpenTable for Mother's Day Lunch. It was not busy, place had tables outside in the sun, but also inside in the nicely appointed interior. Service was realtively quick and efficient, waiters pleasant, though missed one order (upgraded it to something else, double in price). Food was generally good to above average, though nothing really special. You can count on decent food and atmosphere. Make sure when you order, you got what you asked for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Night club restaurant with bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Moca is a restaurant that stresses on decor but not its food. The sushi rice did not have enough vinegar and the fish' freshness is so-so. It is a restaurant for someone cares only about the atmosphere and not the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Sexiest Restaurant in the Big Apple!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

As soon as I saw the interior of this place, I knew that I would be giving MoCA a five star review unless the food made me gag - in which case I would still have given it four stars.

MoCA isn't just a sexy dining experience, it's the SEXIEST - the ultimate date place. A restaurant to get that new woman in your life to respond positively when you invite her back to your place for a glass of Cognac. Or to get that old woman in your life to sizzle more than usual between the sheets.

The interior is rather dark but with areas lit up by blue and red neon. One side has booths with tables glowing red below tall, illuminated glass portraits of what I thought were Japanese courtesans, although my wife (who hails from that part of the world) claimed they were Chinese maidens. There is a modern glass "waterfall" on the opposite side.

I'm not a fan of Japanese food, but MoCA also has Thai, Chinese and other Asian options on the menu. I had the $9 sesame chicken lunch special that came with choice of soup or salad and white or brown rice. My wife had the $9 "Bangkok Basil Beef" lunch special that also came with soup or salad and rice.

The food was presented with care and I really enjoyed my salad and sesame chicken. My wife said that her basil beef was just "okay" and thought it could have been spicier.

MoCA can be pricey if you order off the regular menu but I think it's worth it for the ambiance alone, and the weekday lunch specials are a thief's bargain. Also, they currently have a $29.95 prix fixe for two persons, Sunday through Thursday.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Restaurant in Forest Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We've eaten at this restaurant twice recently and had delicious, well-presented meals both times. The restaurant itself has a colorful, dramatic ambiance -- it's like stepping into another world. The staff is friendly, well-informed and professional, but the food is the unusual and delicious. I had one of their specialty dishes last time - a sizzling combination of scallops and shrimp that was delicious. I've also tried their mango chicken and loved it. Their drinks are excellent and it's fun to see some of the exotic creations that are brought to other tables. I highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoCA Asian Bistro - Queens also viewed

Forest Hills, Queens
 
Forest Hills, Queens
Forest Hills, Queens
 

Been to MoCA Asian Bistro - Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MoCA Asian Bistro - Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.