We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Stay in Sandy Aftermath” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   113-10 Corona Avenue (Horace Harding Expressway), Flushing, NY 11368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Flushing
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Stay in Sandy Aftermath”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel, was fine but needs a bit of a refresh. One of the reasons we stayed there was due to the shuttle to airport and subway. Due to the storm and gas shortage shuttle operations were severely cut back. We had to catch a cab back to airport to be sure of making it in time. Also, we thought when we reserved that it was walk-able to subway but it was a bit too far, especially in this weather. Front desk staff were friendly but inflexible when we tried to discuss our concerns of being returned to airport. Breakfast was provided. Could have done with a bit of a fruit selection. I would't rule out staying there again but I think I'd do a bit more research first.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMosquera, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment.
We apologize for the inconvenience but due to Storm Sandy it was very hard for us to obtain gas for our shuttles. I will also like to mention that we do have more fruits for our breakfast but that also was affected due to the storm.
We are glad to see that you won't rule us out for your next visit, and we will appreciate you returning for a second stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    62
    33
    7
    9
See reviews for
45
41
20
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in September. It is a typical airport hotel, having shuttle bus service to/from airport. There are some shops and small restaurants in the nearness, so you can walk in the surroundings, at least during the daylight.

It is a typical Holiday Inn Express Experience, no deflection about the basic scheme.

The staff was very friendly and helpful during my stay.

My room was next to the street and even with earplugs it was impossible to have a good sleep due to heavy and continuous traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not to the street, since the street is busy through whole the night. You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMosquera, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments and tip for our next guest.
You are completely correct about the local shops and restaurants, we have started a shuttle service to some of the nearby restaurants. We also provide shuttle service to the subway station. As we continue to take notes from all of the feedback we receive, I will like you to know we are looking into all new things to wow our guest. We will love for you to give us another chance when you return to NY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the first week after Sandy as we were evacuated from our home. The hotel staff were more then accomodating and helpful. The hotel itself is impecibly clean and very comfortable. Although it's exact location is not the greatest for restaurants and accessability, it is about a mile to Austin Street and Forest Hills were there is great shopping and lots of wonderful restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot as the highway can be a bit noisy at night. We stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMosquera, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for those wonderful words,
We hope your life is almost back to normal, and that you and your family are well.
We are glad that our hotel made you feel comfortable and you are correct about Austin St., the restaurants located on that strip are excellent.
Again thank you so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We only booked in to this hotel after arriving in to JFK and deciding to spend a night before travelling onwards to Atlanta. Finding this hotel proved to be problematic thanks to the yellow cab driver, but after an hour and a second cab we finally arrived at the hotel.

Check-In was quick, and we were in our room on the 5th floor with 5mins. Room was well equipped with free wifi and a very comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom.

Outside the hotel is a small gas station which sells the usual array of drinks and snacks which kept us going until breakfast the next morning.

Great stay that allowed us to avail of some quality sleep and freshen up. Taxi arranged by front desk staff the following morning arrived promptly and delivered us to La Guardia far quicker than the previous evenings experience...

Will use again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spent one night in the HI Express in Flushing. Room was OK. Staff was friendly. But, there isn't much else around the area. We had the Horace Harding address programmed into our GPS and ended up in a residential neighborhood. Upon calling the hotel, we were told we needed to use another address to actually find the hotel. For a four mile trip to La Guardia the taxi was expensive at $25 + tip. Would stay elsewhere near the airport next time.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed there only for one night during the Maker’s Faire. This hotel stood out for service, hospitality, and friendliness of the entire staff. Did not expect that from a typical “airport” hotel but was truly surprised. Room was clean and average in size. Thanks much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I wish I could have stayed longer at this property but I had a flight to catch. The room was quite large and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large enough for 2 to get ready at the same time. The staff was very nice and welcoming and even the hotel shuttle driver was very prompt and courteous. The breakfast looked inviting although I did not have enough time to stop to eat it. There are free computer terminals for use by guest and vending machines in the lobby. This place is on my must stays for my next visit to the city. The hotel does sit right next to the freeway so ask for a room on the side away from the freeway if noise bothers you. There is also a 24 hour convenience store next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the interstate if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport

Address: 113-10 Corona Avenue (Horace Harding Expressway), Flushing, NY 11368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Flushing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our New Flushing, New York Hotel near LaGuardia Airport. Located near LaGuardia Airport, our Flushing, New York hotel provides guests with a comfortable environment that is just minutes away from the excitement of New York City,Rockefeller Center. Flushing Meadow Corona Park and Marina, , Long Island and the Queens Museum of Art Flushing hotel's location. Families are sure to enjoy nearby New York attractions like the New York Hall of Science, Shea Stadium or the Statue of Liberty during their stay at our accommodations. Unlike some other Flushing, New York hotels, our lodging offers a relaxing and pleasant environment for business travelers. Our premier business amenities include copy, fax and shipping services as well as printing, a computer and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Jacob K. Javits Convention Center is in close proximity for that in town trade show. During your Flushing vacation or business trip, take advantage of the on-site fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast bar, along with other choice amenities. Book your reservations now for our hotel near New York City and LaGuardia Airport and enjoy our Flushing hotel's great deals and rates today. Make the smart choice, and stay at the Hotel fit for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Flushing
Holiday Inn Flushing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;