We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renting of rooms by the hour is going on here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paris Suites Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Paris Suites Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paris Suites Hotel New York
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Horace Harding Expressway, Flushing, NY 11368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Flushing
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Renting of rooms by the hour is going on here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was stilling in the lobby with my laptop for two hours or so. In this time period, I counted at least three couples walking in without luggages. The men paid cash and were given keys to rooms on the first floor. I do not know what to make of this but one reviewer earlier indicated that the place is known for rent-by-the-hour prostitution.

As for my experience for a 3-day stay, not too bad and not too good either. First, the place looks like it has been recently remodelled. Marble floor, marble walls, aquirium, decorations, and all that. However, I am surprised why the owern spent all that money remodeling and yet have the receptionist hidden behind a bunker of walls and what looks like bullet-proof glass? Either the owner does not trust the neighborhood this place is located in or there is a lot of cash transactions going on!!!

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors based on my observations above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I noted mixed reviews on this "hotel", but I thought I'd give it a try on a recent weekend trip to NY. The lobby is tiny and there are so many mirrors it was a little disorienting. It appears there are renovations going on, so there is no elevator service for guests. Throughout the night, however, I was constantly disturbed by the sound of the bell that would ring when the elevator for staff was used. My first thought about the furniture was that it was cheap, but that I could overlook. I felt it was very strange that with the exception of a badly scratched, mirrored, heart shaped two prong hook, there was no place to hang any clothing. The jacuzzi tub was cheap, uncomfortable, and noisy. The bed was definitely not a queen sized bed and was very uncomfortable, and there were ashtrays in my guaranteed "non-smoking room". There was no ice machine. When I asked about ice, the pleasant gentleman said someone from housekeeping would bring me a bucket full of ice. The bucket was plastic, the type of thing you'd see a child using at the beach to put sand in. The ice was all melted within an hour. Due to the location of my room, there was a lot of noise from the staff talking loudly during the night. "Breakfast" was set up on a small table in the lobby and consisted of some soft fruit, stale cookies, and mass produced bagels that you could get from a supermarket, six or eight in a plastic bag. For tea, there was hot water, but the "lemon" was fake lemon juice in a plastic "lemon". One review I'd read had stated that a guest had been standing outside and seen a man rent a room, leave, and return to the hotel shortly thereafter with a prostitute. I was certain that reviewer was being overly dramatic until I returned from a dinner in Manhattan by taxi. The taxi driver stopped about 2 blocks from the hotel to ask for directions and the locals said I definitely didn't want to go to the Paris Suites hotel, because it was known as a "short-stay" hotel where rooms are rented by the hour. It appeared I'd unwittingly chosen a house of "ill repute". I was assured I wanted to go one block in the opposite direction to the Holiday Inn Express. Still, I returned to Paris Suites, thinking I would be safe for a few hours until I had to get up for an early flight. The key wouldn't work in the door. The gentleman working at the front desk said they hadn't programmed the door for my second night's stay although I'd paid for two nights. He let me in to the room, then took my keycard and disappeared for about 10 minutes. The room had not been touched by a housekeeper. After a time, there was a knock on the door and it was the housekeeper, returning the key card, bringing towels, and greeting me by saying, "Hello, Mommy". By that time I was already on my laptop trying to get a room at the Holiday Inn Express down the street. I'm a woman who is used to traveling alone, but after hearing from the locals what kind of hotel this place was and having my keycard out of my possession for any length of time, I knew I could never have felt comfortable or safe staying there another minute. I quickly packed my clothes and ran to the safe, reputable hotel. Naturally, I lost the money I'd prepaid for the room at PAris Suites and had to spend more money at Holiday Inn, but it was worth it to have peace of mind. The receptionist at the Holiday Inn told me they get several people coming from Paris Suites after having bad experiences there. Paris Suites may be a place some couples would enjoy, but beware.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We needed a last minute hotel for the US Open at Flushing Park. This hotel was the best value of those around the area and we were pleasantly surprised.

The rooms are big, we got one with a jacuzzi which was great fun. Though the rooms were a little worn and musty.

However, the breakfast has a lot of variety and best of all the staff were really lovely and helpful! Very eager to please, friendly and went out of their way for us. They made our stay.

Flushing Field is walking distance (15/20 mins) from the hotel and there is (limited) hotel parking.

My only plea to the owner was to have less fish in the tank! They are too cramped and too big for the tank!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

When I arrived at the hotel by taxi I was not even sure it was a hotel, there were two aquariums in the lobby, the reception was inside one practically! There were parrots hanging off the ceiling and a ballet dancer statue in reception. The owner and his wife were very friendly too. The breakfast was self service in the lobby, we took it to our room which was actually at the reception. Coffee was good and there was juice and cereal and other things to eat. The room smelt of stale cigarette smoke and so did the air con when I turned it on. When I mentioned to the owner he said he would change the air con and he did while we were out. Over all the hotel was clean, it did give the idea that maybe they filmed some porno movies there because off all the mirrors and the jacuzzi in the rooms. I probably would not stay there again just because by the time you pay for a taxi to get to the train and then back again its better to spend the extra money and stay down town

Room Tip: Dont take a ground floor room if you can as right on a road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We went to NY for the UN. Most of the hotels in the city were either booked or the price was sky high, so we found this place on the internet. Their rate was extremely reasonable. It was only $125 plus tax. The owner said they have never raised a penny in the past 15 years for the convenience of his guests. The lobby was all marbled from walls to floors. We especially liked the huge aquarium in the front desk which adds great value and beauty to the hotel. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Do not stay here under any circumstances -- unless you are looking for an hourly rate motel. The reception desk is enclosed in bullet-proof glass. The rooms are dirty and smell of smoke. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We where visiting NY for the US open games and where looking for affordable, clean and close to the Us open fields. We found it all at the Paris Suite Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flushing
Independent Hot...
Show More
1.6 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#3 of 14 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Quiet, Shuttle...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel LaGuardia Airport
Free internet...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Flushing
Red Roof Inn Flushing
#11 of 14 in Flushing
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Marco LaGuardia Hotel by Lexington
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#5 of 14 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson LaGuardia Airport East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Suites Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Suites Hotel New York

Address: 109 Horace Harding Expressway, Flushing, NY 11368
Location: United States > New York > Flushing
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Paris Suites Hotel New York 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Paris Suites Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris Suites Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.