We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for price but breakfast was meager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28-66 College Point Blvd, Flushing, NY 11354   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Flushing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Good hotel for price but breakfast was meager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights this past weekend and were generally happy with our choice. The hotel is indeed in an out-of-the-way area but since we had a car we weren't really all that concerned about the location. And, since we were primarily visiting places in Connecticut, Queens and Long Island for the weekend this turned out to be a good mid-point selection.

The check-in staff was friendly and clearly explained the shuttle options to us when we arrived. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the free internet access was a welcome amenity. This hotel cost significantly less than the Courtyard near LaGuardia and the Sheraton closer to the subway and not having to pay for internet access or breakfast was a plus.

Unfortunately, breakfast was less than satisfying. The waffle maker was out of order, they ran out of bananas early in the weekend and didn't get any more until we left and the other offerings were okay but not stellar - dry cereal, tiny muffins, some danish, donuts and bagels. The breakfast sandwiches are a heart attack on a plate so I wouldn't recommend them unless your cholesterol is extremely low. They also offered hard boiled eggs but I don't eat eggs so that left very little to eat in the morning. The orange juice was good and the staff was friendly.

The computer station and printer in the breakfast room also came in handy.

The parking is free - another thing that usually costs extra at other area hotels - but the parking lot is small. Street parking in the area was plentiful though and relatively safe (I always try to park under a street lamp and never ever leave anything in the car overnight.)

Since we didn't plan to go into "the city" I can't comment on how long it would take to get there but having been a former long distance commuter I know that what you sacrifice in time you make up for in savings so you have to be prepared to make a trade-off when you visit New York on a budget.

  • Liked — Price, comfortable bed and free internet access
  • Disliked — meager breakfast options
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    95
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
66
48
19
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We used our points for the Marriott to be able to visit NYC. This was the most affordable way we could find to do it.
The past reviews were positive, so we took a chance.
Pick up from Airport was simple. Glad we didn't try to drive to it on our own! In a surprisingly industrial area, even though we knew it was. REALLY industrial. NO views at all, but we didn't stay in the room much.
We appreciated the shuttle to the sub station. Easy to figure out. We even ate at one of the nearby hole in the wall places once. We enjoyed the subway experience and part of being in NYC.
Room was very comfortable, appreciated the free internet to check email and reservations. We stayed at beginning and end of trip. Everyone was very friendly. Breakfast was good.
We would stay here again. Pleasant experience, just strange location. Chalk it up to a "cultural experience". After seeing the touristy NYC and crowds, I am glad we didn't stay there. I am not a city gal. (Don't misunderstand...this hotel is still in the city, just a totally different feel).

  • Liked — price compared to other options
  • Disliked — view, or lack of
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

If you have read the other reviews for this hotel, then this will probably be a bit redundant. We stayed here for the US Open and it was a fantastic hotel for this venue (also Shea Stadium if you are visiting there). The hotel shuttle van was extremely helpful, and the drivers were very courteous. They also picked us up at LaGuardia, and this was a great service also. The hotel itself was very clean and the breakfast was very good. Internet service was very fast and free.
Now, the downside - This is NOT a good hotel for visiting Manhattan. Yes, the van does drop you off about 2 blocks from the subway, but it is a big hassle to coordinate the van, walking, subway and then pick up when you come back. From your room door to Times Square subway station will take every bit of an hour. It is a very safe trip, but a little lengthy for my wife and myself. Overall, I still rate it above average - just because of the free shuttle service, breakfast & internet usage.

  • Liked — cleanliness, breakfast & free internet
  • Disliked — location in accordance to Manhattan
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

My husband, son, and I stayed here Aug. 22-23 en route to upstate NY. My husband and son wanted to go to a Mets game and I was meeting a friend in Manhattan, so we picked this hotel for its proximity to Shea Stadium, the subway, and also it was a Marriott "E-getaway" for the weekend (price break). Although it's true the location is right in the middle of some very industrial sites (lots of cement trucks, dump trucks, etc.) and there is nothing within easy walking distance to do, the hotel itself is very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The customer service is outstanding, We were initially given a room with a strong smoke smell (despite Marriott being a smoke-free hotel!!), and the front desk changed us right away to a different room. The (free) shuttle took us right to Shea, where I picked up the #7 to Manhattan; on the return trip, I got off at the last stop (Flushing/Main Street) and walked a quick 2 blocks to a Mobil station where the shuttle picked me up.

Breakfast buffet was nice--lots of fruit, juices, DIY waffles, bagels, cereal, microwaveable breakfast sandwiches. However very small seating area--make sure you go early so you don't get shooed out by the staff who tend the buffet (trays are available to eat elsewhere, like back in your room). Also popcorn and Otis Spunkmeyer cookies in the afternoon/evening. Free parking, a big plus in NYC area.

I would definitely stay here again for an overnight trip to NYC. For a longer stay, such as a tourist visit to NYC, I don't think it would be that convenient, but for our purposes it was just right. It's a great value and the customer service is really fantastic. I hope management gets a big bonus from Marriott corporate!

  • Liked — Free shuttle, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Nothing within walking distance
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

Overall, this hotel rates a 4, mainly for cleanliness and value. Why not a 5? The location is not ideal, nor is it in a terribly great neighborhood. Don't let that deter you, though....this hotel is perfect for a ONE night stay if you arrive before midnight to La Guardia, or if you are going to nearby Shea or the National Tennis Center. If most of your activity will be in Manhattan, then stay one night and move the next morning into the city.

Here's the deal: the shuttle stops working at midnight. So that $30 you just saved on this nice hotel (and it is surprisingly nice and clean) by not staying across from the airport, it's gone. If you definitely arrive after midnight, consider one of the hotels adjacent to the airport, it could be a lot quicker to get to bed and the same price (it might not be as clean though).

Overall, I would definitely say that for one night, it's a good place. However, we happened to stay two nights and just like the first night, we couldn't make it back before midnight on the subway from our late night out in Manhattan...bam, another $15, 3-minute cab ride.

It is a clean, well-lit place, they have a nice little breakfast setup, so if that's all that you need, it'll work. And the shuttle works for getting to the subway in the morning, but just know that you have to walk two blocks after the drop off (the driver noted he received a ticket in the past for dropping off next to the subway). Expect about a 30 to 40 minute subway ride to Grand Central, more if you need to transfer.

So, now that you know all that, you'll have to figure out what's best for your needs. Overall, this hotel works for what it is, but if you are spending 2 or more days in NYC, after the first night, I would advise spending a little bit more and staying in the city.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

My family and I took an "exotic" vacation in NYC (we're from the much more rural state of Montana). This place was more affordable than motels closer to Manhattan and they offered a shuttle from LaGuardia.

I was immediately grateful for the shuttle-I couldn't imagine driving in that mess around LaGuardia. Our driver knew what he was doing and got us to the motel quickly and safely. I was one entertaining ride!

The motel is in an industrial area, but it felt plenty safe to me. We took advantage of the shuttle to take us to the intersection two blocks from the subway station the first couple of days, but later on we discovered that the Q65 bus goes right past the motel and dropped us off right in the heart of the very vibrant Main Street Flushing area a few steps from the subway. The bus used the same Metrocard that the subway used and it added to our adventure. Don't be afraid to give the bus a try!

We hit NYC hard and never got back very early (well after dark). We never felt concerned for our safety around the subway, on the bus, or walking back to the shuttle pick up. There were people everywhere!

The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, the internet worked great, and the breakfast was perfect for us. If we make it back to NYC-we would love to stay at this motel again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Stale snacks in the vending machine
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Yes the hotel is located in an industrial area. But this should not be a reason for not staying here. If you want an hotel near LGA, JFK or outside of Manhattan, this hotel fits the bill in my opinion.
To start with, it is in the better part of an industrial area. Yes driving towards the hotel from Flushing Main Street, the area can look bleak and depressing in some parts. But then so are a lot of areas outside Manhattan.
We stayed here for two nights using the hotel as a base to tour Manhattan. The complementary shuttle drops you off near Flushings subway station. You get on the Line 7 which takes you all the way to Times Square station in 35 minutes(may be less if you get on an express service). The reason we were in NY was to tour Manhattan. We had no intention of going out for a walk as tourists around the hotel so the immediate vicinity was irrelevant.
For an hotel outside Manhattan, this hotel is good value. The staff are all friendly and helpful. We stayed here because we wanted to save and not pay Manhattan prices. We were expecting a quality room and service and this is what we got.
We would definitely stay here again if we need a hotel outside Manhattan.

  • Liked — Shuttle to Subway, Airport etc
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing

Address: 28-66 College Point Blvd, Flushing, NY 11354
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Flushing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Fairfield Inn by Marriott New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing our guests appreciate the blend of comfort, convenience and affordability. Conveniently located near LaGuardia Airport, Citi Field, and the U.S. Tennis Center, our LaGuardia hotel provides a free shuttle from 4:30 a.M. Until 12 a.M. To and from LaGuardia Airport, and to the #7 train located two blocks away from the hotel with a short commute into New York City. Take advantage of our additional complimentary amenities including high-speed Internet access, and a hot breakfast daily. Catch up on work in our 24-hour business center, or keep up with your workout routine in our well-appointed fitness center. Treat yourself to a few little indulgences while you're here: Pick up freshly baked Otis Spunkmeyer cookies and popcorn at our friendly front desk. Reserve your next stay online today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn New York Laguardia Airport/Flushing Hotel Flushing
Fairfield Inn Flushing
Fairfield Flushing
Flushing Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.