We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget lodging at the YMCA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flushing YMCA

Save Saved
You added The Flushing YMCA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Flushing YMCA
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   138-46 Northern Blvd, Flushing, NY 11354   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Budget lodging at the YMCA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was my third stay at a New York Y. When compared to the YMCAs near Central Park and the U.N., this YMCA is my new favorite -- mostly because of its small size, and community atmosphere. The front desk here is very friendly. There is a sign near the employee timeclock near the elevator that reminds the staff to say "hello" and smile to everyone, and the many, many hellos during my stay were genuine and welcoming.

I did not use the indoor pool nor basketball court, sauna, nor gym facilities -- but that stuff is there if you wish, and it's included in the price. The shared washroom near my room was fine. The 3 showers were fine - each curtained for privacy.

There are not hordes of students nor tourists staying here - it's more adult friendly. And I love the Korean/Asian shops and restaurants everywhere in this neighborhood. Do bring earplugs for sleeping to tune out the MTA busses motoring by on Northern Avenue. The '7' subway line is a few blocks away.

Spartan room. Comfortable single bed. No frills, no fuss. The front desk shared two keys with me: one to enter the guest room section, and the second for the room. The room included a small fridge, and local channels color TV. A microwave is available down the hall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is really cheap for NY so we didn't expected a palace BUT :
We payed for a service and nothing was right : first, the last constumer keep the key (enjoy the security ...) and they promise us to make an other one for us but they never did (they always answer "it'll be done in a hour" and then "we can't do it"). So we had to wait somebody every time we wanted to go back in the room.
The room didn't fit with the picture (there is maybe just one room like this !)
It's a commun bathroom and the curtain hide nothing and it's dirty (a toilet was always obstructed).
They never clean the room and change the sheet (we stayed 2 nights)
The wireless is available just on the first floor and don't works very well (they had to reboot it often)
The staff don't speak english very well. The cleaner lady didn't check who we were before open our door so every body can go in any room...
They lost the security key so someone could go in any room and they was not able to act in case off emergency.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chomutov, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed there during our NYC visit in 2010. We booked quite well in advance because of US Open. What a surprise it was when we arrived and were told that instead of a double room they only had a single room for us - overbooking, they said. The receptionist was, however, quite helpful and offered a discount for the inconvenience. We used the room for sleeping only so it didn´t matter there was no place to move in there.
Another trouble was the Internet access which was free but neither of our laptops could access the WiFi. As a result we had to pay for the access using provided desktops (some other visitors had no troubles with it though).
Bathrooms and WCs are common on the floor, which is ,in some cases, not very convenient but one can handle it:-)
The good point was it was close to a pizza place, supermarket, subway, bus stop (10-15min walk). It felt quite secure, too, even at late hours.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estherville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I needed a cheap place to stay that wasn't a shared dorm and close to the US Open tennis site. This place was ideal. It was less than a 10-minute walk to the subway #7 line which was then just one stop to the National Tennis Centre (and a straight shot into Manhattan in about 1/2 hour)

The neighbourhood itself is very much like being in Korea with lots of Asian shops/restaurants around but that just meant there were usually people around so felt safe.

The YMCA itself was basic but it was comfortable. TV in the room with an a/c that worked fine. Get a room with a sink in it so you don't have to go down the hall to the bathroom.

It was mostly clean and the staff were mostly friendly. The internet didn't work in the rooms tho and try as I could I couldn't get any signal in the lounge as well so that was the only bummer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Wow. I have traveled quite a bit, and wow, this place is unbelievable.

The pro is that it is very, very affordable. The staff do try.

Ok, here is the rest of it.

There is NO parking available. There is street side parking, which is incredibly difficult in Flushing. Next, this was for a single room. In order to get to the room, I had to go through a maze. The hallways had a musty smell. There is 1 common bathroom for men for the floor, and 1 common bathroom for women. The room was a single bed and it was the smallest room I have ever seen. It might have been 10 feet long and maybe 3-4 feet wide. There was a bed, a TV on top of a fridge, and a small closet. The window would not close so we had moths in the room as well as the sound of a loud generator all night. There are no kitchen facilities in the place, just two microwaves on the third floor.

I want to re-iterate to everyone that this is not in Manhattan, where most tourists go. This is about a 40 min - 1 + hour subway ride to Manhattan.

If you have very little money and need a room, go to a bar/lounge all night and shower at a gym. If you need a bed in an indoor space, then stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the flushing YMCA for 2 nights whilst in new york. It is just outside queens near Korea town. It was nice to stay here and see a different part of new york with all the Asian restaurants etc and not far from the main st subway. It takes about 20 mins on the number 7 train with the diamond sign/ 40 mins on number 7 train with circle sign on to get to times square.
Rooms were just what we needed with double bed, tv and mini fridge.
You get given 2 keys so have good security! One key for the door for the floor which ur staying on and then a door for the showers and toilet etc. Toilets and showers are shared just down the hall to your room.
Staff were very helpful and let us store our backpacks when we arrived early before check out.
Overall good experience and would recommend for someone looking for fairly cheap stay in new york and willing to travel a little more on the subway.
If you arrive at the bus station in manhattan you need to get the subway to flushing main st which is the last stop on the number 7 line and head to northern blvd to hotel which is about a 5 min walk!

Happy customer :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Booked in for two nights at this YMCA in Flushing and it was just right. Good private, double room with shared bathroom facilities. Spotlessly clean accommodation provided by very good and friendly housekeeping staff and a great on-site cafe. Good, frequent No 7 train direct into Times Square taking around 30-40 mins. Coming out of the station on Main Street, Flushing - walk down Main Street away from the overhead rail bridge and when you get to Northern Boulevard take Right, past the Quaker Meeting House (Large Notice is on the Right) and the YMCA is lit up directly ahead on that right hand side of the road. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 330 and there was no noise at all. Room has tv, small fridge and a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Flushing YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flushing YMCA

Also Known As:
The Flushing Ymca Hotel
The Flushing Ymca Hotel Flushing
Ymca Flushing
Ymca New York
Address: 138-46 Northern Blvd, Flushing, NY 11354
Location: United States > New York > Flushing
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The Flushing YMCA 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Flushing YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flushing YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.