We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A story to tell people.....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Flushing YMCA

The Flushing YMCA
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Flushing YMCA to your Saves list
The Flushing YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   138-46 Northern Blvd, Flushing, NY 11354   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A story to tell people.....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Wow. I have traveled quite a bit, and wow, this place is unbelievable.

The pro is that it is very, very affordable. The staff do try.

Ok, here is the rest of it.

There is NO parking available. There is street side parking, which is incredibly difficult in Flushing. Next, this was for a single room. In order to get to the room, I had to go through a maze. The hallways had a musty smell. There is 1 common bathroom for men for the floor, and 1 common bathroom for women. The room was a single bed and it was the smallest room I have ever seen. It might have been 10 feet long and maybe 3-4 feet wide. There was a bed, a TV on top of a fridge, and a small closet. The window would not close so we had moths in the room as well as the sound of a loud generator all night. There are no kitchen facilities in the place, just two microwaves on the third floor.

I want to re-iterate to everyone that this is not in Manhattan, where most tourists go. This is about a 40 min - 1 + hour subway ride to Manhattan.

If you have very little money and need a room, go to a bar/lounge all night and shower at a gym. If you need a bed in an indoor space, then stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    15
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
1
14
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the flushing YMCA for 2 nights whilst in new york. It is just outside queens near Korea town. It was nice to stay here and see a different part of new york with all the Asian restaurants etc and not far from the main st subway. It takes about 20 mins on the number 7 train with the diamond sign/ 40 mins on number 7 train with circle sign on to get to times square.
Rooms were just what we needed with double bed, tv and mini fridge.
You get given 2 keys so have good security! One key for the door for the floor which ur staying on and then a door for the showers and toilet etc. Toilets and showers are shared just down the hall to your room.
Staff were very helpful and let us store our backpacks when we arrived early before check out.
Overall good experience and would recommend for someone looking for fairly cheap stay in new york and willing to travel a little more on the subway.
If you arrive at the bus station in manhattan you need to get the subway to flushing main st which is the last stop on the number 7 line and head to northern blvd to hotel which is about a 5 min walk!

Happy customer :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Booked in for two nights at this YMCA in Flushing and it was just right. Good private, double room with shared bathroom facilities. Spotlessly clean accommodation provided by very good and friendly housekeeping staff and a great on-site cafe. Good, frequent No 7 train direct into Times Square taking around 30-40 mins. Coming out of the station on Main Street, Flushing - walk down Main Street away from the overhead rail bridge and when you get to Northern Boulevard take Right, past the Quaker Meeting House (Large Notice is on the Right) and the YMCA is lit up directly ahead on that right hand side of the road. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 330 and there was no noise at all. Room has tv, small fridge and a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

Pro:
- lowest price private room you can get in a relatively safe area.

Con:
- only three shower room, but about 50 rooms a floor.
- not clean. So after the maintenance guy accidentally split food on my sheet I didn't even care.
- tv not working. Asked for help twice before someone came to help.
- the guy brought in another tv, which worked for only 20 min. I decide not to bother again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I had to stay there for the new years because I couldn’t find a cheaper one that was closer to the subway. Honestly, It was the worst staying experience I had. I don’t know where to start. First of all, it is not a hotel, it is a hostel. I booked it knowing that it was a hostel. The rooms do not have a bathroom. There are 2 restrooms 1 for gentlemen and 1 for ladies on each floor. In the restrooms there are 2 disgusting toilets and 2 beyond disgusting showers. My wife said that ladies room was at least acceptable comparing to mens. The name of the hostel is flushing but its toilets are not flushing at all. The rooms were filthy and as small as possible. There was a 5 inch tv in the room. The blankets were so smelly that I just hid it in the wardrobe. We slept covering the sheets on us. The second floor is a pool and the third floor is gym and also they are playing basketball in the second floor. The rooms start from the 3rd floor. You cannot imagine the smell of the corridors and the hotel. There was no breakfast and I would not eat anything even they had. The location is called Flushing and it is 15 min walk to the subway. It is the last station of the 7th line.
They have parking and it was written free parking but they wanted to take 5 dollars for a day. I rejected and told them that in the site that I booked the hotel it was written free parking. So they did not charge me for it. And free internet is not in the rooms you need to go down with your notebook to use internet. Luckily 2 days later I booked another hotel and got the hell out of there.
Would I stay in this hotel again? If there were no rooms available in any other hotels in New York and if they don’t let me to sleep in the subway or under Brooklyn Bridge, I might stay there.
Stay away from Flushing YMCA. Don’t flush your money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We couldn't find a good and cheap hotel in NY for a while.When entered YMCA official website we finally decided to book a double room in Flushing (price on that site is much lower than on the others). The hostel was located in very interesting and safe area filled with great Korean/Chinese restaurants. It took 30 mins. to get to Manhattan (purple line 7 goes 24/7). Our room was quite big. We had lot's of channels on tv. Staff at reception was very nice:)We could use swimming pool, basketball court, sauna (we just couldn't find time for that).Room service every day. All together-nice place to stay if you are travelling on budget.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed at the YMCA in Flushing for two nights Fri-Sun. My room was on the third floor above the basketball court which was somewhat of a downside since you can hear the balls bouncing in the morning, If I stay again I would have to be on the fourth or fifth floor. Room was clean, no bugs, just smelled a little strange but room had an air conditioner which helped. Front desk staff was fantastic and super friendly, they do have storage to place your items after checkout in case you don't want to haul it while you are out. They do have internet but it only works on the 1st floor I did not use it during my stay so I don't know how good service was. They also have a cafe with coffee and snacks on the 1st floor-Cash only. Easy access to Manhattan 40 min or so. Overall perfect for a cheap place to stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flushing YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flushing YMCA

Address: 138-46 Northern Blvd, Flushing, NY 11354
Location: United States > New York > Flushing
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flushing YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Flushing YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flushing Ymca Hotel Flushing
Ymca Flushing
Ymca New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flushing YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.