We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait & Switch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Point to your Saves list
Hotel de Point
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20-07 127th Street, Flushing, NY 11356   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Flushing
Philadelphia
1 review
“Bait & Switch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked the room for business travel, selected it for dining options onsite. The roof-top restaurant is no longer open. There is a lounge on the roof but it also didn't 't seem to be open as I could not access the roof from the elevator. I also had no idea about the far eastern flair. The good: clean/modern room, good value, large TV, friendly staff. The unexpected: AC unit is very loud, didn't seem to be in a great neighborhood, the basement/shopping level smelled like hydrogen-sulfide, not as advertised concerning amenities. I ended up eating at a "steakhouse" down the street which was another not-as-seen-on-tv experience. I would not stay here again due to numerous other options but the place isn't a no-go, especially if English is s second language.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit L, General Manager at Hotel de Point, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear mss228,

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel. We are happy that you were able to give us some positive feed back regarding your stay.

We are sorry you didn't get to experience the area and many of the restaurants outside the hotel that are located just 2 blocks away. We hope that you will stay with us again and have a better experience!

Thank you,
Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    35
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
22
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay and experience with my family. The staffs here are all so friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was great, but the view of the fake swimming pool and storage closet is not the best view in the morning, especailly when you are expecting to see sunrise or at least the view of Manhattan. However, the food was not bad, there is the continental breakfast along with some hot food like waffles. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit L, General Manager at Hotel de Point, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear MysLady,

We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us!

I am happy to inform you that the swimming pool is no longer on the rooftop and guest are able to enjoy the Manhattan skyline while enjoying our complimentary hot continental breakfast.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Thank you,
Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very confusing to get there thankfully Kevin at the front desk done a great job giving us directions on the phone his directions were exact. There is a market on the first floor and a night club on the roof which is also your breakfast area in the mornings. Room was clean and updated, shower is nice! we had a few problems with the fridge and hot water but FD responded fast and got everyhting fixed in no time. VIEW ON THE ROOF IS AMAZING!! Free shuttle helped a lot! Very nice Staff!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit L, General Manager at Hotel de Point, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear bmw_2004,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review! This hotel complex is in a residential area so it does get confusing to get to, but I am very happy Kevin gave you great directions.

I apologize for the issues you experienced while staying here. I am so happy our staff was able to resolve those issues immediately for you without disturbing your stay.

We hope next time you are in the area you will choose our hotel to call home for a night!

Thank you,
Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tholen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A perfect hotel for visiting New York. Breakfast on the roof of the hotel. Sitting in the sunshine enjoying a very good and fresh breakfast with a view on the skyline of manhattan.
near La guardia and JFK airport.
Shuttle to the Metro

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit L, General Manager at Hotel de Point, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear MarjadeBakker,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review! We are so happy you and your family were able to enjoy breakfast upstairs on our rooftop and take in the view. It is definitely a site to see when visiting our property!

Thank you,
Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was highly impressed with this hotel. The room was modernly furnished and clean. The hotel staffers are extremely nice and helpful. They have a free shuttle that takes you to Main St. Flushing next to the 7 train which offers you easy access to Manhattan. The breakfast was good. The area, College Point, is nice and located next to the hidden gem of Queens: Whitestone. Would definitely stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Green Features: The hotel is solar powered. That was a big draw for me during my research process.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit L, General Manager at Hotel de Point, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Julio A,

Thank you so much for taking time to write us a great review! We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Thank you,
Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

work rescheduled, me and my coworker stucked in New York, so we found hotel de point which was close to LGA airport. The hotel was beautiful, modern decoration just fresh people up. One thing what I like the most was the breakfast there. Servers there were super nice, and lot hot food such as waffle, fried eggs, and sausage which was great for Asian, different from other hotel only serve cold food, and the outdoor view was just fabulous, especially in summer, just made my day~!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit L, General Manager at Hotel de Point, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Yohei T,

Thank you so much for taking time out to write such a great review for our Hotel! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A flight cancelation out of LGA left me needing a hotel nearby for the night. I stumbled on this unique hotel because it was the only one with shuttle service to LGA with non-smoking rooms left. The staff were very helpful with information about the hotel amenities and services. The hotel was clean and modern with a large rooms and a cute little convenience area with Ice, vending, water cooler and microwave in the foyer by the elevator. There were several restaurants, shops and a supermarket in walking distance that served the surrounding Asian neighborhood but seemed welcoming to all visitors. A little further away was a shopping center and movie theater-I think it was less than a mile away. If I'm ever stuck at LGA again I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit L, General Manager at Hotel de Point, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear bernadettelw,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope to see you again in the future!

Thank you,
Kit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Point

Address: 20-07 127th Street, Flushing, NY 11356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Flushing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Point 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de Point Flushing Queens is the area's newest hotel offering state of the art energy efficiencies, modern style and an array of on site shops, dining, and roof top views of Manhattan and the surrounding areas. The 114 guest rooms offer spacious high ceilings, comfortable bedding, and modern designs. Guests can dine at the The Buffet - an Asian buffet offering a vast selection of home prepared item, Sal's Pizzeria or the Mexican Trail restaurants. Shop in one of the on site specialty shops or in Kam Man Foods, a 30,0000 square foot Asian grocery store. On site, we offer an indoor pool, fitness center, business services and more. Minutes from downtown Flsuhing and LaGuardia Airport in College Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.