We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a bad budget hotel right in Flushing Chinatown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Flushing

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Flushing to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Flushing
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Flushing
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   133-43 37th Ave, Flushing, NY 11354   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Flushing
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“not a bad budget hotel right in Flushing Chinatown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It's a basic budget hotel with only the bare necessities, but looks like it recently underwent a major renovation and has clean, modern rooms. Pretty good bathroom. Located 1 block away from Main Street and the heart of Flushing Chinatown. Comes with a decent hot breakfast 7-10am every morning. I'd come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
7
11
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night as it was close to the drop off point after a Niagra falls tour we went on before leaving NY. The hotel itself and the room were unremarkable and for the price we paid ($210) was expensive for that type of room. No major complaints, room was relatively clean and of OK size (for NY). Flushing is a fair distance from downtown Manhattan, so I wouldn't stay here if you are planning a visit to downtown New York city. This place is close to the Tennis arena so might be an option if your after a room after watching the open ( I think this is probably why our room was expensive as the tennis was on around the time we stayed there).

Depending on the price you get it for, this is an OK option for a night's stay as is fairly close to both major NYC airports (arrange your own taxi as the receptionist called a hire car when we asked for a cab).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Comfort Inn corporation should be embarrassed to have their name on the sign. I had a guaranteed reservation for a non smoking room, but upon check in was informed that my non smoking room had been given to someone else and all that was available was a smoking room. The room was in a state of disrepair and dirty - even the telephone didn't work. Internet service was unreliable and sporadic at best. It is in a very noisy location on the flight path for LaGuardia. Tough area - nothing available but Asian food.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - no good rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

for you. I had no problems with it... Overall, it's a pretty decent place to stay while in NY. The hotel is within walking distance to the end of the 7 line (Main St.) Breakfast from 7a-10a is good and basic as you get to make your own waffles but get there early as some item will not get re-stocked once they run out... Wi-fi access was basically crappy as we got none! Got hard wire cable from front desk instead. Lots of great places to eat in the area also. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with general info for directions and stuff... My main issue with this hotel is with house keeping, like many places they simply do not clean properly... mainly with dusting...so if you're allergic to dust then stay elsewhere...

Room Tip: ask for lower level 2 or 3 to reduce plane noise. couples ask for corner rooms for better privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

All we needed was a clean inexpensive room to sleep during our 7-day tour of Manhattan. The room rate was excellent. I stayed at this hotel on a semi-businessl trip 6 years ago. It's in the chinatown of Flushing, New York so there are great and cheap chinese restaurants all over. It's close to LaGuardia airport but planes stopped flying over between 9 to 10 pm. There's a safe in the closet large enough to accomodate at least 2 laptops. If bathroom is occupied, there's a spare bathroom in the basement! I don't understand the 'not too well' reviews since their complaints would had been corrected by this establishment, i.e., left a written note to clean a few (very few!) molds around the shower stall. When we arrived, after an exhaustive visit of Manhattan, the bathroom was sparkling clean. Also, complained about stains on a couple of washed towels and was assured we only had clean towels until we checked out. The desk clerks were always helpful on any need we ask for and were always helpful giving us tips when going to places. The breakfast is nothing to complain about when compared to other hotels with continental breakfast. There are lots of items to choose from - make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. We saved on a meal of the day, 7x! The hotel is within walking distance from the start (or end) of the Queens "7" Subway line. It's very convenient to reach various destinations - from the Yankee Stadium to the Battery Park, from Times Square to the METS Stadium. Trips to Manhattan varies from half an hour to 45 minutes. We did not rent a car and used the excellent subway system, New York City had to offer.
I would love to visit New York City again someday and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel. I hope they don't change management by then...

Room Tip: Choose rooms towards the back and higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Comfort Inn in Flushing is a decent place to stay, and may be the only decent place to stay if you are booking last-minute and need somewhere cheap with subway access to Manhattan. This has all that.

It is located in Flushing, which is the last stop on the Queens subway line ("7" train). It's definitely a trek to get to Manhattan and back. The trip into Manhattan is at least an hour. The 7 train takes you to Times Square, so you may have to transfer to another train to get where you want to be.

Flushing is a bustling, densely-packed, and somewhat gritty Chinese-speaking area. Although it is a bit "urban" and seedy-feeling as is typical of the outer boroughs, it feels safe at all hours. Be aware that cabs are not ubiquitous in the outer boroughs as they are in Manhattan. This hotel is within 3 blocks from the Flushing subway stop: an easy walk.

The desk staff can direct you to local parking. There is a parking lot within 1 block of the hotel which charges $15 for 24 hours of parking: a great value for the city, and practically next best to having free parking at the hotel.

Inside, the hotel is comfortable and passable in all areas. The front desk staff gets high marks for being extremely helpful, cooperative, efficient, and English-speaking. They are able to help with questions about the area, services, transportation to Manhattan, etc.

The rooms are decent, if a bit on the small side; nicely-appointed; and clean. Mine did smell quite strongly of cleaning products, but I didn't really mind this. There was a big, flat-screen TV, but it offered basically a lot of Chinese programming, with mostly just news channels in English.

One major complaint about this hotel is that the walls are very thin, so a lot of noise comes through from the halls. You can't hear into other rooms, but you can hear hallway activity. If you are an insomniac or anticipate this being a problem, consider booking elsewhere. (I had a basement room, and it might be different/better on the upper floors--not sure.) On the other hand, the beds are very comfortable---they have feather beds on top--so my sleep ended up being alright.

Breakfast was good. However, when I showed up 20 minutes before it ended, most of the food and beverage options had either run out or were close to running out. I was still able to get a bagel, bold coffee (my choice would have been regular, but that was gone), and apple juice (would have preferred orange, but that was gone). It looked like they had previously had a lot of other pastries, as well as cereals, hot breakfast meats, fruit, etc. A generally good selection and good quality, but get there early.

There are free newspapers (Wall Street Journal) in the lobby. The lobby area itself is extremely small (two chairs), but comfortable. The elevator was a bit dirty, but other than that the common areas were solid.

In sum: it's a good, basic choice for out-of-town travelers, especially those with cars. But do take note of the long commute to Manhattan, which can be unpleasant at the end of a tiring day. The subway trip is simple (no transfers) and cheap ($2.25) but it is long. Cabs probably won't want to take you there, and if they do, it will be expensive and take even longer, so the train is your best bet.

All in all, probably worth it for the exceptional bargain on the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I only spent one night here. I am so glad I did not have to stay longer. The room I got was dirty, there was long black hair all over and the room smelled moldy. And the shower did not work. Which was really bad because I was on a tight schedule, had to get to the airport (which is why I picked this hotel) early in the morning so there was not time to eventually take a shower in a different room. And I really did not want to get on the plane unwashed.
The breakfast is not worth the name breakfast. The lukewarm coffee probably had been sitting there in those thermos for days. There was stale cereal and some toast. That was it. And given the cleanliness of my room I can't say I was tempted to eat that. Too bad, because given the location there was no Starbucks next door where I could have had breakfast instead. So I had to pay for an overpriced breakfast at the airports Dunkin doughnuts. I actually picked this hotel because it offered breakfast, so that would not happen. Now it did anyways.
Another problem was that when I called the hotel to ask for a pick-up from the airport no one answered the phone. I had to call several times until about 45 min later someone finally picked up. Then that person did not speak very good English, it took them a while to figure out I needed a pick up from the airport (they advertise with free airport shuttle). Very frustrating.
And the staff a the reception was unfriendly. Really unfriendly. One of them was watching a movie with the sound really loud. He seemed annoyed to pay attention to a customer during his movie.
At least in the morning the shuttle to the airport was very fast and got me there on time. But really I regret having chosen this hotel. It was not that cheap (about 120 Dollar) either.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Flushing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Flushing

Address: 133-43 37th Ave, Flushing, NY 11354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Flushing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Flushing 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Flushing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Flushing Hotel Flushing
Flushing Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Flushing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.