We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Flushing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Flushing to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Flushing
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-31 Prince Street, Flushing, NY 11354   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Flushing
New York City, New York
1 review
“just poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

everything is ok if you are not a quality seeking traveler. focusing on details of my experience means nothing in my mind. some basic elements evaluating the quality of a hotel like cleanness, comfortable, relaxation are poor. so i cancel the remaining days after first night experience. you may feel disappointed once you see the building and you will feel more disappointed when you walk in the lobby, the elevator, and your room. in a word, my point is this hotel is only suitable for those customers with the most basic needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
11
13
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

excellent service,
receptionists at the front desk were extremely helpful and catered to my every whim.
felt like i was a king, breakfast was pretty bare but acceptable. very nutritious and clean food.

the rooms were adequate and beds were comfortable.
would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Right, so hurricane sandy did a number on us and it's the second day we're without power. After staying a night at the red roof inn in Westbury, we had to find different accommodations because they were booked solid through the week. After many phone calls and many inquiries at at least a dozen hotels , we found the red roof inn in flushing to have vacancy! Now if you're looking for your regular-all american hotel like Holiday Inn or Marriott, scratch that thought right this minute. This is a bare bones (no coffee machine, no microwave, no parking!!) tiny rooms (10x20 feet, excluding the bath that's about a 6 foot x 6 foot - no joke.) one chair , one tiny desk, one small refrigerator and a tv. For a one twin bed plus one full bed on the third floor (room 30A), we're paying $200 a night. Highway robbery but we have literally nowhere to go.The floors are filthy , you must wear socks to walk around because there's no wall-to-wall carpeting. Beds are small but okay.
There's a perpetual Chinese cuisine scent permeating in the air, perhaps because people like eating in their rooms and the walls are paper thin, or the restaurants are too close.
If we weren't so desperate, I'd pay in full and leave right now without using the room, however, I'm rather grateful they have vacancy at all.

Room Tip: Do yourselves a favor and go the Sheraton a few blocks down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rriflushing, Manager at Red Roof Inn Flushing, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at this Red Roof Inn. I am glad we were able to accommodate you at our hotel. Our rooms are smaller than your typical Red Roof Inn hotel as most hotel rooms are in the city of New York. Coffee is available 24 hours a day in our breakfast area. Some rooms microwaves as part of the room type. In the future, we can always reserve a room for you that has a micro/fridge. Again, for the space of the hotel rooms, our desks are smaller than your typical Red Roof Inns. Our rates are competitive with other hotel rooms in the market. Our housekeeping team takes great pride in preparing all rooms for customers. Our floors are vinyl flooring and carpet in the bed room area. This is the brand standard design for Roof Inn. The Asian food smell you experienced may have been due to surrounding areas and other guests. Our hotel is located in the heart of the Flushing, NY Chinatown. We apologize if this caused you any inconveniences. During Super Storm Sandy we had many customers who were staying with us and come from many different countries. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you better the next time you require lodging in this area.
Regards,
Lily Yuan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel rooms are clean and well appointed, updated and nicely decorated, sort of what I expect from the Red Roof ads. But beyond that this was not at all the experience I have had at other places in this chain. Lobby looks like an abandoned bus station with a single couch and an unstocked vending machine. Best thing is that it is close to the airport. The beds however are awful -- rock hard, no sort of give, combined with a single so soft pillow that is almost useless. No extras in the closet. The front desk person when I checked in was nice enough, but they had lost my reservation and seemed to want to argue about that rather than just offering me an open room that was exactly what I had reserved. We only took the room because we were so exhausted and not at all interested in finding an alternative late at night -- and there is little else right around here to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rriflushing, Manager at Red Roof Inn Flushing, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing the experience you had with the cleanliness of your rooms. Our hotel opened two years ago and we try our very best to keep up the conditions of the property. Our lobby is small compared to many traditional lobbies. We have 33 rooms at this hotel and space is very limited. We are however in the process of renovating our lobby so it feels warmer and more inviting. Our beds are only two years old. Some guests find our beds very comfortable but I do apologize that you did not have a good night’s rest. We are in the process of replacing our pillows as we have had feedback from guests like you about their softness. We keep iron and ironing boards at the front desk. Hangers are available in the closet for guest convenience. I want to apologize about the level of service you received at the front desk. I will work with the staff to ensure that we never argue with a customer and try to accommodate them the best we can. We hope that in the future when you are in NY again, you will give us the opportunity to serve you better.
Regards,
Lily Yuan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Vermont
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is close to the airport, but there is no shuttle. The taxi ride is about $15 each way.
The lobby is spare with only a black couch strewn with Chinese language newspapers, and a vending machine.

It looked as if the bathroom in the room had been recently updated. The rest of the furniture was a bit worn.I only stayed about 8 hours, but it was quiet and better than sleeping at the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati [India]
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you are in need of a decent accommodation in New York at affordable price while being not too far from the City Centre, then this is the place to be in. Great safe location, very helpful front desk, decent and very clean rooms- all the ingredients for a pleasant stay. Subway station just a couple of blocks away that takes you to Times Square in about half an hour. Trains run very frequently. The only area where a little change desired is the breakfast menu which offers the same items everyday. On the whole highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was stranded at the airport over night and the only room I could find was at this hotel. The only room they had was a suite. It was $300 for the night. I have paid less for a room in the Theater District. The room was disgusting: hair in the shower and on the floor, nail polish and scuff marks on the sheets, larger burn slash on the bed spread and a tissue box with one tissue.
The only good thing was the very patient man at the front desk,

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Flushing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Flushing

Address: 36-31 Prince Street, Flushing, NY 11354
Location: United States > New York > Flushing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Flushing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Flushing 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Flushing is located in the heart of downtown. We are minutes away from USTA National Tennis Center (Home of the US Open), Shea Stadium, downtown Manhattan and LaGuardia Airport. Guests may relax at the Botanical Gardens, Flushing Meadows Park, or enjoy a city tour of Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Flushing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Flushing Hotel Flushing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Flushing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.