We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524 (Formerly Residence Inn Fishkill )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fishkill
U.S.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just Off Highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for an extended period. Staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Hotel is pet friendly, which was much appreciated. Being able to stop in for breakfast or a quick bite on most weeknights was convenient, as was the kitchenette in the hotel room. Laundry facility was nice to have. Gym consisted of cardio equipment and was adequate. Rooms are pretty dated, but staff tries their best to keep them in good working order. Avoid parking under the pines during warm weather, as the sap will drip all over the car. Be sure to take advantage of the rewards program for future stays.

Room Tip: Stayed in building 12. Would recommend staying in one of the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    89
    46
    28
    11
See reviews for
119
44
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night during a trip to the Hudson Valley for shopping (primarily at the Premium Outlets in Central Valley) and cutting a Christmas Tree (in Poughkeepsie). This hotel was right in between the two locations and served us well.

As other reviewers have noted, it is not the newest hotel, and would benefit from a makeover. That being said, our room was very clean and had everything we would expect and then some. Even the kids - who will tell you that they prefer to stay at a "resort" (don't we all) - had no complaints. The room was spacious, had two TV's and Wi-Fi, and comfortable beds. Also important, it is located rigt off several main roads and had many restaurants nearby (several withing walking distance). Breakfast provided by the hotel was good, and the small "business center" (a computer/printer in the lobby) allowed me to print several things I had forgotten to print at home.

The staff was friendly and was able to provide everything we needed.

Overall, we enjoyed this hotel - we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was meeting my sisters for a weekend, and we each live about 80 miles from this hotel. It has everything you would need for a great weekend stay. There are many wonderful restaurants nearby, lots of shopping, and the hotel itself is so comfortable. Our room was like a small apartment with a living room area, full kitchen, nicely appointed bathroom with tub and shower, 2 full-sized beds and a rollaway sofabed so that we could each have our own beds. The breakfast room was very inviting and the breakfast (which is included) is better than usual. The staff is extremely helpful and in the summer, there's a nice outdoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The front desk is great and very friendly but time is catching up to this hotel,,once one of the best in the area in my opinion..Still a good hotel but not great like the last time i stayed here..Burn marks on the carpet,,old furniture,,bad mattress,,one phone was not working,,one of the TV stopped working,,but still I enjoyed my stay...Free breakfast but I didn't stay for it..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading other reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. The managers reception was a nice welcome after a long day's drive and very good too. And the breakfast every morning was everything you would want. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was conveniently located for visiting neighboring towns and for taking the train into the city. I would stay there again if we come this way.

Room Tip: We were near the pool but since it was in October noise wasn't a problem. It seemed that our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This property is in desperate need of a complete remodel...from the roof down to floor and everything in between....there's 'old but well maintained' and then there's just 'old and tired and worn out'...that's this hotel...dirty stained furniture, peeling water damaged cabinets, dirty stained bathroom floors...a 'refurbish' is planned in 2013? definitely not up to expectations anticipated with Marriott property..... my advice is stay away..too many other newer, cleaner choices in same area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Let me start by saying that just because a property is way overdue for a rehab doesn't mean that it gets a bad review. I've been sticking with the Marriott brands of late not just for the points but because they are reliably clean, regardless of how old the property is, and clean is my number one priority. Our room, especially the bathroom, was up to my standards of clean--nothing strange in the bathroom fixtures, no funky odors. The bedding was new--clean and comfortable. Service was fine, breakfast was plentiful but limited for those watching carbs and gluten-free.

There furnishings in the room were a bit strange. There were no storage drawers for our clothing, just a closet by the front door. I don't remember seeing a luggage rack, either. There was only one pillow for the sofa bed that slept two (not that we used the sofa bed but we needed the extra pillow). There is also no in-room safe.

We had a HP accessible room on the first floor, room 112, a studio suite w/queen bed. So let me talk about those features for those who are interested. 1) I'm not convinced at how wheel-chair accessible this room actually is because I'm not sure that there is room to easily maneuver into the room let alone once you are in it. The stairway for the second floor blocks the walkway. 2) No roll-in shower. There is sound boost equipment for one of the phones and flashing light system on the front door that flashes when you open or close it. No doorbell.

Otherwise, the hotel was just fine for our purposes, a weekend away to explore the Hudson River Valley.

Room Tip: Aim for the second floor if hearing the people upstairs walking around is a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area

Address: 14 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524 (Formerly Residence Inn Fishkill )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Fishkill
#6 Family Hotel in Fishkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE ALL SUITES ROOM DESIGN ... The property was designed for extended-stay needs as so each suite is larger than normal hotel rooms. Every Suite includes a fully-equipped Kitchen with appliances, just like at an apartment or at home. Every Suite includes a sitting area - with Flat-screen TV and free cable - and a Sofa that opens to a bed. We have a bi-level Penthouse Queen with a queen bed in the loft, Murphy bed in the wall, and 2 baths. We have a bi-level Executive King in a room with French Doors, a queen bed in the loft, and 2 baths. ... COMPLIMENTARY FOR OUR GUESTS ... Hot Buffet Breakfast, with a waffle maker, in the lobby area from 6:30 to 9:30 each morning. Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) for connectivity throughout the property. Day Pass to the Fishkill Allsport Health Club, in addition to the exercise machines on the property. Manager's Reception in the lobby area Monday to Thursday at 6PM with adult beverages and snacks. Seasonal Outdoor Pool and Jacuzzi - Free Parking - Patio area with tables, BBQ Grills, and Gazebo Business Computer and Printer are located in the lobby area. ... AND MUCH MORE ... Meeting Room located upstairs with 325 Square Feet, seating up to 20, includes screen and whiteboard. All Exterior Entrances with convenient parking in front of your building. 18 Buildings of two stories each. Laundry Room for guests is on-site, quarters-operated, and we will even provide the laundry detergent All Rooms are 100% Non-Smoking. Please use designated smoking areas. Pet Friendly Policy, up to 60 pounds, with a one-time cleaning fee. Member of the Dutchess County Regional Chamber of Commerce. Member of the Wyndham Rewards(R) Program with 12 brands and now over 7000 hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fishkill Hotel Fishkill
Fishkill Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fishkill/Poughkeepsie Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.