We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Lunch Buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanjore

Tanjore
992 Main St, Fishkill, NY 12524-1788
+1 845-896-6659
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Fishkill
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Takeout, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Buffet
Stormville, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I have been twice for lunch and have been impressed by the quality of food and the prompt service. On both occasions the main elements of the buffet were two meat-based curries and four vegetable dishes along with Tandoori Chicken, naan, rice, assorted salads and pickles and an appetizer such as pakora. Starting out with the Tandoori Chicken, I knew we were onto a winner as it was moist and flavorful. Everything from there on in was fresh and authentic but for me the high points were the pickles and the vegetable dishes. Coming from the UK I have eaten a lot of Indian food over the years but Tanjore introduced me to new dishes such as lemon and garlic pickle, stir-fried cabbage and the most amazing velvety eggplant curry. If all that weren't enough, they also serve up desserts such as Carrot Halweh and Indian Rice Pudding. We will be back and often!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millbrook, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great first impression of Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently went as a group of eight for the lunch buffet which is a great way to taste a variety of Indian dishes. They had this wonderful moist pita-like bread that was great. There were chicken, fish, lentil, beef, tofu and an assortment of other yummy main courses. My favorite was surprisingly the fish stew made with some coconut milk of some sort. Mango chutney, mint chutney were a few condiments to try. All great. They had a tasty sweet minced carrot dish that was more of a dessert along with a rice pudding with cardamon that was fantastic. The price was only $10 all you can eat during the week. I plan to take my family there next time we want to try something different. For sure on the new list of favorites in Fishkill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Could use some music! Excellent food though, service needs to be trained. Chicken chettinad was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The food is is so WONDERFUL.The staff is so friendly and the atmopshere is so nice.The food has such great taste with all the many different spices used,its so flavorable, its the best around.I would highly reccomne this resturant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Decent lunch buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant for lunch because we had read good reviews about their buffet. The service was good and the food was hot and plentiful. The naan bread was a bit disappointing as it was sitting in a covered pan and not made fresh and brought to the table.The Tandoori chicken was good as were some vegetable dishes. Not the best Indian food I've eaten, but decent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanjore also viewed

 

Been to Tanjore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanjore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.