We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a quick trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fishkill
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great for a quick trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

New, clean, simple.

Rooms are small - no closet / just a wardrobe. Large / king sized bed was comfortable.

Bathroom is small, but fine.

My wife didn't like the fluorescent lighting for her makeup.

Free breakfast is better quality than most free breakfasts

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    36
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
47
17
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sACO, me
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been here many times on different occasions. I want to point out there are plenty of positives here - the welcoming staff (cannot give enough praise to Nancy)
Warm complimentary breakfast with both hot and cold items - in love with pancakes making machine. 2 quick pancakes in a matter of minutes.
The solarium pool area with hot tub and shower. The glass windows retract to open for even more sunshine and breeze.
Guest laundry, business, and fitness center complete the package.
Many local area restaurants, malls and big chain stores make a good location to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear IttleyIIwcrzr,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud to have you a returning guests. It defiantly shows we are doing some thing right. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hot breakfast. We do have a wide variety of choices that caters to even the pickiest eaters. The pool is a nice feature that everyone enjoys.

We do have a wide variety of shopping as well as every kind of restaurant you can imagine.

We look forward to having you return the next time you are in the area.


Nancy Sullivan, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to warn you about the Holiday Inn Express Fishkill. I prepaid in full for two rooms, five months in advance for Ring Weekend. When we arrived, they had sold one of our rooms and could not provide lodging for our party of four adults. We were referred to the Peekskill location, where we had to pay an additional $120 per night.

To date: We have not been refunded any of our money nor have we been compensated for the trouble or added expense. I have contacted IHG C.E. 13 days ago, still no action has been taken in an effort to make this right. I have called, emailed and contacted Expedia, nothing is being done. We lost $650.00 I beg anyone that has reservations here for grad week to change your plans. I explained that I have 4 rooms reserved for Grad Week and that I would even be ok with appying payment toward that reservation. I was told they would not do that. They told me, because of the events going on at West Point, they are not in a position to have to negotiate with me, they will remain booked and my reservation and dissatisfaction is unfortunate but changes nothing.
Stunned and very upset.


Sarah Brattain

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ms Brattain,

We are sorry you had some issues with your stay, however there are things I would like to clarify. When you book through a 3rd party company as you did with Expedia.com there is very little we as a hotel can do with your reservation. When you wished to change your arrival date that must be handled through the 3rd party company. While it is quite unfortunate that when you arrived on Friday evening there was only one room available, our policy is if you do not check in on your day of arrival you needed to call before check out time on the first day. All of that information is clearly stated in your confirmation form Expedia.com. Arriving at 11 pm that night we did the best we could under those circumstances. We did everything we could to find you alternate accommodations at a location which was closer to your ultimate destination. When you chose to cancel the reservations for 2 rooms you had with us for Saturday night We gladly did so with out charge. Even though it was past our 24 hour cancellation policy. As you stated you would not stay here. Upon speaking to you we did agree to allow Expedia.com to refund you for that night. Your refund must come from Expedia.com since that is who you paid. We have done and will continue to do what ever we can in order to assist them in this process. You entered into a contract with them and provided your payment information to them. They in turn provide their own payment to us. If you have any questions regarding your refund you can call their customer service number.

While we understand your frustration let me be perfectly clear. We have hosted thousands of West Point families over the years and we have never had any complaints to this magnitude. We DO NOT prey on any guest at any time. We have always valued our guests and are appreciative of all the sacrifices our Armed Forces make for our freedom.

We are hopeful that once you return to the property for Graduation weekend we can change your mind and have a pleasurable experience.


Nancy Sullivan, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had a great time at this hotel, rooms are small but very clean, pool tiny too.
Breakfast was amazing lots of selection, cold to hot, even had a pancake maker.
I guess my only complaint was we wanted to stay another night, but the price was way too expensive, we thought because we had stayed for 5 nights already they would give us a discount but no they would not.

Room Tip: I would say just don't stay on the first floor near pools, too much traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in August on the way through to Boston.

This was our 6th IHG group hotel in 2 weeks as part of a road trip and unfortunately it was the hotel with the most areas for improvement.

Upon arrival we had to wait a few minutes for the front desk staff to come out and she wasn't very friendly, she didn't explain the hotel or the area. I also noticed she was the only IHG front desk staff member not to thank me for being a Priority Club member.

The pool looked nice, it had a retracting roof so in better weather it would have been a great place to relax. It's open 10am-10pm.

Plenty of restaurants in walking/short driving distance and a large Walmart.

Ours was an upgraded room, unsure what was upgraded about it though, it was obviously still quite new. The couple of room issues I had were; air conditioning was noisy, TV colour was off and the set up of the cable box and TV made it impossible to fix, there had been a floor tile replaced in the bathroom and it was sharp around the edges (not that you'd cut yourself but you could feel it), no plug for the tub and the jets in the shower didn't work properly.

Breakfast was fine, I like the set up of the Holiday Inn Express breakfasts, good choices for everyone. The cinnamon rolls are my favourite!

Upon check out we waited a few minutes and the lady working in the breakfast room noticed we were waiting and called someone for us. After another few minutes I just left the key card as we needed to be on the road.

Overall, not a bad hotel, could be better if the staff were a little friendlier and the room detail looked at a bit closer

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Stephanie J,

Thank you for your review. We rely on feedback from guests such as yourself to help us identify areas in which we need to improve. We appreciate your loyalty to IHG and I'm sorry we did not not convey that to you. Given the nature of your review we failed you in many ways and for that we are sorry. I have taken your review and made it the focus of our last staff meeting in order to correct all of these issues you experienced.

I sincerely hope that if you find yourself in the area again you will return to us so we can prove to you how important each and every guest should be treated.


Nancy Sullivan, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel was wonderful from the start to finish. The rooms are excellent, clean and well equipped. The staff was extremely helpful and even printed a map to help us locate a restaurant we were going to. Breakfast included everything you could want for a morning meal and the food was hot and fresh. All in all a wonderful place.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Showmama1967,

Thank you for recent stay. The entire staff works extremely hard to ensure each and every guest has the best experience possible. Your kind words have been shared with the staff, Management and Owners.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Nancy Sullivan, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for a few nights booked on Travelocity. The outside property and landscape is neat and clean, and quiet. You have a few surrounding hotels and a gas station across the street. The check in was smooth with a courteous front desk staff. I booked on Travelocity and requested upper level near corner room. (always ask for upper level near corner) You want to stay away from the elevators. We instead got a 1st level room near the snack machines and an exit. We immediately requested upper level and got it. The entire hotel looks renovated or relatively new. The hall ways are clean as are the rooms. We had 2 beds for four people no problems. The beds were very comfortable no complaints about anything. The bathroom neat and clean. (just watch out for the door- swings in wide and takes most of the bathroom up). We could tell that most of the people staying there were business people, but there were families. If you are a business person - do not count on the business center, and bring your own paper and pens. The computers freeze often, but the wifi worked well. The gym was ok, two tread mills and a bike. The breakfast was outstanding. though small area. Your choice of eggs, sausage, pancakes, bagels, cereals, yogurts, pastries, etc. The staff at the breakfast was spot on making sure everything was filled. Make sure you visit the Rip Van Winkle boat trip on the Hudson River HudsonRiverCruises.com - You have a Red Line Diner across the street from hotel. Good eats, but always packed and expensive. You have plenty of other choices on the route 9 and in the area.

Room Tip: Always ask for upper level near corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear jac1028,

Thank you for being out guest!!!. I have shared this review with all staff, management and ownership. We are so glad you were able to find everything that you needed right in close proximity to the hotel. The Red Line Diner is a big hit with guests and staff alike.

We have been opened since Dec 2007. Our entire staff works tirelessly to ensure the hotel looks as it did on opening day. It brings them great pride to see all their hard work is noticed and appreciated.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back if you ever find yourself in the area again.

Nancy Sullivan, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 21 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Fishkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Fishkill, New York.If you're traveling on business, our hotel in Fishkill, NY, is convenient to IBM East, the Xerox training center and LAM Research and is just 15 miles from the Culinary Institute of America. If you're traveling by air, our Hudson Valley hotel is close to Stewart International airport (SWF). Albany, LaGuardia and JFK airports are also all within 75 miles of our hotel. For leisure travelers exploring the region's wineries or the Hudson River Art Trail, we make it easy to get around since we're off I-84 and convenient to both Rte. 9 and NYS 52/82. Our Fishkill lodging is a great place to stay when visiting nearby West Point Military Academy or Washington's headquarters at Newburgh. While you sample the many offerings of the Hudson Valley, let our Fishkill accommodations be your home away from home. This new hotel is 100% smoke-free and features high-speed, wireless Internet access in all rooms. Enjoy the heated pool and solarium to relax and rejuvenate after a day spent touring or hiking. Our Fishkill hotel is filled with amenities that make us a wonderful value. The Holiday Inn Express in Fishkill will make your stay as memorable as the area.Take a virtual tour of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Fishkill
Holiday Inn Fishkill
Fishkill Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.