We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place for a quick stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Fishkill
Killingworth, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“nice place for a quick stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this place is easy to get to (right off 84) and has a gas station and diner both adjoining parking lots. The hotel itself seemed pretty new, and the staff was friendly. The room was clean and we had a room where the shower had 4 jets that you can have the shower massage on.
Typical HIE breakfast selection - and had good open parking with 4 ways to come in and out (all the non-front were secure 24/7). TV selection was also good - better than what I saw at Marriott properties in the same area.

Room Tip: the x10 rooms are near the "quiet" elevator but the beds align to the wall away from other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear erik f -


I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive rooms which do include the upgraded amenities. Also, you did mention that you were impressed with the vast selection of cable channels. We are very happy that you did notice that we offer more than the competition in the area without the extra cost. Many of our guests do comment on our "brand new" appearance, which does serve as a reward of the hard work that we put in to keep the atmosphere within the hotel fresh. The staff at the hotel does look forward to your next visit so we can continue to serve you as one of our valued guests.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
15
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I found this property by sheer luck.Nancy the front desk manager couldn't be any nicer! She is always there to welcome us with a smile!The property is always clean and the accommodations are top notch.We have stayed at many different locations in the Fishkill /Poughkeepsie area and this one by far stands alone. People often ask why Fishkill? The area is beautiful,the locals are great and the Holiday inn express is superb,that's why.BEST KEPT SECRET!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Stacy H –


Our Assistant General Manager, Nancy, is one of the main reasons we retain our base of repeat guests. As she works her hardest to fulfill any requests that come her way with her trademark cheerful attitude, she is one of the major tent poles of this hotel. I also do want to give acclaim to the positive remarks with our facility, we are very happy that you consider us “top notch”. As you did mention, there are many other to choose from when it comes to lodging in Fishkill. We are the first choice for many travelers to the Fishkill / Poughkeepsie / Newburgh area based on the feedback that we receive, which speaks to the level of quality and service that we put out. Nancy, as well as myself, does look forward to your next stay with us.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in Fishkill in a business trip.Usually I stayed in Quality Inn.
I tried Holiday Inn Express for one night.
It is a clean hotel with a nice rooms but....
Stayed one night
Was charged for three nights

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Michael b -


Thank you for providing your review... First, I am pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us, given us positive feedback about the rooms and the common areas of the property. We are the most recently constructed hotel in the Fishkill / Poughkeepsie market, which is why we always receive the comments that we still look “fairly new”.

After reviewing the reservations, it seems that you did reserve advance purchase reservations that you subsequently attempted to cancel. When you choose to reserve a room under the advance purchase rate, you are charged immediately for the reservation and you cannot cancel it.

If you do have questions with how our billing is posted regarding certain types of reservations, I would like to invite you to contact me directly at the hotel. I do hope that you do choose to stay with us once again when you are back in the area…


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Excellent service at this hotel. Friendly, extremely helpful front desk staff. I had a car problem and they could not have been more supportive, even personally helping me try to jump my battery and then referring me to a very good mechanic. Room was clean, fresh and pleasant. Comfortable beds, good coffee at breakfast. Good diner practically next door (we walked while the car was being fixed). Location right near I-84 (but not close enough to be noisy), good for our school tournament.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Darlenehcp –


I am really happy to hear that your experience at the Holiday Inn Fishkill – Mid-Hudson Valley was a positive one. As we always go above and beyond when a guest has an issue, whether it be hotel related or not, I am glad to see that the assistance that our staff provide you made a lasting impression on you. I also did notice that you enjoyed the hotel itself, as well as the free hot breakfast… We do look forward to the next time we have the opportunity to serve you as one of our guests.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill – Mid-Hudson Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Next time I visit Fishkill I will select almost any other hotel, they are all within walking distance of each other so location isn't really an issue.

Good points: It was clean. Staff was polite. Room was nicely made up and furnished. Beds were comfortable. Complimentary breakfast had a large range of selections. The front desk staff was very polite when I had to call to ask them to tell other guests to please quiet down.

The downside was: 1) I waited a long time, almost 5 minutes, at the counter before anyone was present to check me in, no one around; after a 4 hour car ride I just want to get in my room; 2) I had read reviews here already warning me to not stay in room 118 or 119 or frankly, anywhere on the 1st floor, but I stupidly thought How bad can it be? when I was told I was in room 118; 3) the bathroom door in our room wouldn't close without much shoving and banging up high from the inside, it was warped by steam; 4) Room 118 is right next to a side exit/entrance where people come and go from all hours and apparently chat on their cell phones and whistle all night (prompting a call to the front desk asking them to tell whoever was loitering to move along); 5) Room 118 is also next to the pool, the shrieking and screaming of every child was so bad I couldn't hear the TV 40 feet down the hall (prompting another polite phone call to the desk at 9pm asking them to deal with this); 6) the hotel walls and doors are paper thin, I heard an entire phone call of a man in the next room and it was just a normal phone call, so you know, no privacy; 7) endless slamming of hotel room doors and people tramping in and out all night left me getting no sleep at all. Oh and 8) the pool: its an indoor pool with a glass wall and the snow overhead was dripping through the glass bubble and ALL the upholstered furniture was soaking wet from a combo of the dripping weather and the kids splashing all the chairs and tables so there was nowhere to sit and supervise your kids, I had to put one chair in the shower area (far from splashing) with 6 towels on it, whole area foggy with chlorine.

Room Tip: Friends staying on the 3rd floor said their room was great, quieter, though the walls were thin. I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear EmleeMA –


I really do want to thank you for providing us with a summary of your experience with us. The staff is happy that you gave them positive marks about the cleanliness of the hotel and the polite attitude of the staff. Regarding the issues that occurred while you stayed with us, I would first like to apologize that your stay was not up to par with your expectations. As we did have a large group in house which did cause some of these issues, we did bring up the issues with the group contact who did take the appropriate actions. I would like to invite you to contact me directly at the hotel so that I can get a detailed explanation of what occurred, so I can fully assess what occurred. I would like to thank you for staying with us and do hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was a stay for work. I dont really know what else is in the area so im not sure why anybody would stay here otherwise. The hotel has a small pool and hot tub. The rooms are very nice with big tv's and adequate size refrigerator and microwave. The beds are very comfortable. The noise the doors make outside of the rooms are very loud and annoying. You can hear through the doors very easily also. There is an elevator also. Parking lot in the winter was extremely slippery and dangerous and wasn't taken care of.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Moosetalker –


With all of the choices of hotels in the area right off Interstate 84, we are happy that you chose us and did enjoy your stay. As we do have more to offer than the competition, we are happy that you liked the big TV’s as well as the pool and hot tub. You did mention that there were some inconveniences during your stay, such as the noise made by the doors and the parking lot. As we did have a large group at the hotel causing the noise with the doors, we did reach out to the group leader to express our concerns, who did correct the issue. With our parking lot, during inclement winter weather, we do have our staff tending to the lots as frequently as possible. As we do try our best to eliminate all ice, there may be a period after the treatment is applied and before it is applied once again that ice may reform. Once again, I do apologize for the discomfort that this has caused. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again when travels bring you back to our region.


Steve Curley
Director Of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill – Mid-Hudson Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Very nice hotel. Nice large, clean rooms. Small gym, pool, ice machines, laundry room, refrigerator and microwave in room add to the stay. Very nice staff. Well located with a few good restaurants near by and a movie theater across the highway. I stay hear because of the great hiking near by. Great way to spend the day, then grab dinner and back to the hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are pretty similar. You may want to ask for the 2nd or third floor to cut down on am t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Fishkill, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Dan O. –


I do want to thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay. It is great to hear that you have selected us as your hotel of choice when staying in the Hudson Valley. For you to say that our hotel “is the way a hotel should be” speaks to the efficient, professional manner our staff works hard to project to our guests at all times. I really do look forward to your return visit so we can serve you as our loyal guest once again.


Steve Curley
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill – Mid-Hudson Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Fishkill
Holiday Inn Fishkill
Fishkill Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Fishkill
Address: 21 Schuyler Blvd, Fishkill, NY 12524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Fishkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Fishkill, New York.If you're traveling on business, our hotel in Fishkill, NY, is convenient to IBM East, the Xerox training center and LAM Research and is just 15 miles from the Culinary Institute of America. If you're traveling by air, our Hudson Valley hotel is close to Stewart International airport (SWF). Albany, LaGuardia and JFK airports are also all within 75 miles of our hotel. For leisure travelers exploring the region's wineries or the Hudson River Art Trail, we make it easy to get around since we're off I-84 and convenient to both Rte. 9 and NYS 52/82. Our Fishkill lodging is a great place to stay when visiting nearby West Point Military Academy or Washington's headquarters at Newburgh. While you sample the many offerings of the Hudson Valley, let our Fishkill accommodations be your home away from home. This new hotel is 100% smoke-free and features high-speed, wireless Internet access in all rooms. Enjoy the heated pool and solarium to relax and rejuvenate after a day spent touring or hiking. Our Fishkill hotel is filled with amenities that make us a wonderful value. The Holiday Inn Express in Fishkill will make your stay as memorable as the area.Take a virtual tour of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.