We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice - Loved the room, the staff, everything!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Westage Business Center, Fishkill, NY 12524 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Fishkill - Pougkeepsie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fishkill
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice - Loved the room, the staff, everything!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

I stayed at this hotel on business for 3 months. The service was excellent. Housekeeping came everyday at the same time. The rooms are great. There is a separate bedroom. The work area is large with a nice desk and comfy chair. The living room has a big TV and plenty of seating. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything – from a coffee pot, cups, and dishes – everything you need. The pool area is very nice. The cocktail lounge is very nice. They offer one complimentary drink per night and the complimentary breakfast and light snack in the evening is great. The price is a little high. However, because of the length of time that I stayed, they gave me a great deal. This is an excellent hotel that I would definitely stay at again and recommend to anyone!!

  • Liked — The seperate bedroom.
  • Disliked — The fire alarm going off at 6 am and having to leave the building. (A false alarm)
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    82
    17
    12
    18
See reviews for
90
81
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

The pros:
The hotel lobby and dining area are nice, the breakfast was very good, there are plenty of restaurant choices nearby (as well as a Wal-Mart supercenter just across the street if you'd rather buy food and microwave it), and the hotel's quick shop is well done.
The cons:
Our "suite" was just a small-to-average-sized room with microwave, I requested a second floor room but they didn't even see the request until I arrived, our room was on the third floor which smelled bad but not offensive, the room itself had a similar odor, our view was of the Wal-Mart, and the business center internet connection was too slow to even use.

Our bottom line is that this hotel was just what you'd expect from a business-oriented hotel, but nothing more, nothing less. Don't pay extra to stay here, but this hotel is fine if you can get a good deal. The second floor is probably your best bet for least odor and avoiding night-time headlights in your window. Note: there are a LOT of choices in the same area (we counted five other business-oriented hotels within a few blocks and there are more going up).

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — room was not really a suite, just a room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We were forced to leave the local Residence Inn after our first night due primarily to the fact that we had people partying above us till almost 5 am. Called the Hilton, which was booked, but asked for a local referral and was advised of the Sierra Suites. I had never heard of this small chain before, and so I visited the lobby before booking. Great staff, nice tasteful new decor. Wonderful bed and pillows. What a relief after the Residence Inn, and for only $10 more! Their mini-mart next to the front desk was well-stocked too. Only complaint was lack of a safe in the room. Would definitely stay there again! In fact, I will look for this chain in other cities!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

This is a brand new property that is very nice. Rate includes complimentary breakfast and wine/beer hour (from M-Thurs.) Rooms are clean, spacious and include wireless internet, cable, and nice showers, towels. It is conveniently located right off the highway but still quiet. The only lookout is that the upper floors have longer term guests, so there is a "cooking smell" from all the kitchens. Try to avoid.

There is a Wal-Mart Supercenter across the street to pick up breakfast or snacks.

The free breakfast offered by the hotel is adequate but nothing special. In our many travels, we have had better at similar limited service properties.

The management staff is quick to respond to any issues and more than accommodating.

  • Liked — Newness, design/style, cleanliness, towels, front desk staff
  • Disliked — Hallway smell on upper floors from longer term guests cooking in their suites
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

I stayed at the Sierra Suites overnight with my husband for a weekend getaway to go to the nearby sites and have dinner at the culinary institute. The staff was friendly and attentive and there is a 24 hour convenience center with food, and toiletry items. The hotel was fairly quiet when we got there but I have to say there ended up being a lot of kids at the hotel. We went to the pool and jacuzzi area which was full of children and the free brunch the next day was very busy with kids and their families. I guess we would stay there again because the rooms were nice, and very clean and the price is great. Nearby there is a Walmart, Ruby Tuesday and other chain restaurants. I would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Liked — Rooms and pool
  • Disliked — All of the famiies
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah Georgia US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

While there are a whole host of chain hotels available and lovely, local flavor inns (which were not in our price-range for a business trip) we could not have been any more pleased with the Sierra Suites in Fishkill!

STAFF: are SUPERB - beyond friendly, attentive, excited you are there, quick to offer a wide range of suggestions (for dinner, etc.), smiling

ROOMS: are CLEAN, beds & linens are PLUSH, mattress was very comfortable, room large, mini-fridge/freezer ACTUALLY was COLD (this is a first in any hotel of any caliber I've ever seen, I was amazed).

BATHROOMS: are CLEAN, large, nice shower, nicely maintained.

EVENING drinks/appetizer time were well done. Bartender and appetizer attendent again, engaging, friendly, warm, fun. The beer, drinks, wine available were surprisingly extensive and very nice - appetizers were delicious (just one choice per night but really nice)

BREAKFAST: Eggs, Eggs w/ham, Bacon, hash browns, nice assortments of breads, pastries, portable fruit (as in bananas, apples, etc. not a fruit plate presentation), juices, coffees.

BUSINESS CENTER: 3 or 4 computers & printers (so nice not to be limited to one and being in a rush to print boarding documents or the opposite side - nice to peruse mail and not have someone huffing at you)

FOOD/AMENITIES STORE: is great. Awesome selection of foods, drinks, wines, liquors, medicines, frozen meals (microwaves in rooms) - even canned green beans (?)

Overally, we loved it. We were there for business but are actually staying there for a portion of a pleasure trip this summer.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, comfortable - better than a normal chain!
  • Disliked — It's still a bit chain-ish (though well above average!)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

Nearly everything was perfect: huge room, comfortable bed and wonderful bedding, refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker, excellent steam iron, great shower, lovely bathroom, etc. On top of that, service was first-rate and always instantly available. These folks really seem to care about the customer experience! The only problem we had - and it was minor - was a curiously slow internet connection.

Great value for the money, and a very positive experience. Anytime I return to the area, this will be my hotel of choice; and I'm keeping the chain in mind for travels to their other locations.

  • Liked — Room, service
  • Disliked — Internet speed
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie

Address: 100 Westage Business Center, Fishkill, NY 12524 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Fishkill - Pougkeepsie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fishkill
#5 Business Hotel in Fishkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sierra Fishkill Pougkeepsie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.