We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something is missing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Westage Business Center, Fishkill, NY 12524 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Fishkill - Pougkeepsie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Fishkill
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Something is missing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Room size is excellent but that doesn't make up for the lackluster interior, large ink spots on the dirty rugs, (which are also lifting in several areas--and since rug material is synthetic, there is extensive fuzzing and pilling, and God knows how many germs lurking...The seating is uncomfortable and has a creepy dirty feeling (sofas, desk chairs) incredible lack of attention to details in the rooms, ugly popcorn-ish walls and ceilings in cold muted beige with inconsequential pictures hung for no apparent reason except to fill wall space. Everything wreaks of cheap, cheap, cheap- from the rough tissues and one ply toilet paper, to the packages of Maxwell house coffee (Maxwell is not my usual choice but I agree it would not be too bad normally-- but I had to use two pods to get a decent brew) to the little place cards distributed throughout the room in a nonsensical way. The desk chair didn't function properly, the toilet ran on and on until finally after jiggling the handle for 5 minutes, it stopped. There are no soap holders, no shower caps unless you ask, poorly designed showers that have slippery ledges that supposedly hold the soap. The closet space and hangers are excellent. the bathroom vanities have good counter space and drawers. One bathroom had a pull out plastic basket for disposing dirty towels, but in typical inattentive style, the second bathroom basket was missing. The elevators are not air conditioned , although the halls are. The breakfast offerings are not very healthy. We have tried eating here several times in the past three months, and have ended up leaving and going across the street to Starbucks or Panera bread. The breakfast room has been a nightmare of poorly brewed coffee, empty coffee, cold coffee, dirty messy areas. Ever since Hyatt took over from the previous chain, things have deteriorated. There is no organization in the breakfast room. The staff is very friendly, but they seem to be overworked, under staffed, low on creative ideas- What an utterly poor excuse for taking people's money-- particularly after paying less for an amazingly well run, spotless, tastefully designed hotel called "Six on Sixth" in Hanover,NH. This place feels as if it is running on its own--without vision, without sincerity, without concern. Again, the staff seems pleasant-- not truly committed, however... But this is a management flaw!

Room Tip: Great option is the 2 bedroom suite with one king and two doubles or are they queens? excellent for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    83
    17
    12
    18
See reviews for
91
81
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island, new york
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a friends wedding for 2 nights. It is very simple to get to and is in a great location. Food and Super Walmart all within walking distance. Everything we needed was there. The room was great size for us both and the bed very comfy. The bathroom was well done.

If I'm ever going to be in the area, I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Easy check in. Clean room. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Good price.
We were travelling and stopping half way overnight. Great for two people. King-sized bed was comfy. Had both a kitchen/living room and a bedroom. Much nicer than a regular hotel. We were late and a wedding party was staying at the hotel so we ended up in an "accsessible suite". Kitchen counters etc were hobbit-sized with no full size 'frig but no-big-deal. If you don't need an accessible suite you might want to indicate that you don't want one....

Nice decor for this type of hotel. Also has a small restaurant and bar. Checked out the pool and spa-- seemed clean and well-kept up.

It is in the middle of a business/retail area so can be trafficy getting into it if you are coming from the highway.

Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't need an accessible room, make that clear when you reserve. If the hotel is busy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Booked the room based on good experiences in other Hyatts. Check in was easy and I was given my choice of floors and rooms matching my reservation. The room actually had more ammenities than I expected. Room was clean and quiet. There are many choices of restaurants for dining within close proximity as well as dining available at the hotel. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto-shi, Kyoto, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed 2 rooms for 1 month. Staffs in hotel is very good and kind. Especially, Tahira is better. She worked at night and some requesters come to her. But she had done all requests properly. And she didn't forget explaining to person who was kept waiting. I thought she is polite to customer.
One room of 2 rooms is large. I get upgraded room that is very comfortable and 2 TV.
Another room is small. But that is enough to stay.
I had Starbucks coffer free in breakfast. I love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Modern hotel, very good staff, very fast wifi, big rooms (suites) fridge,microwave, 2 tvs living room and bedroom..... Good breakfast,nice pool and spa and nice pace to sit outside,I recommend would stay there again...anyday

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been working in this area for several months and have stayed in several hotels and this is the best by far. Great breakfast, pool, bar, and beautiful well - appointed rooms. It is across from a Walmart but the quaint village of Fishkill is close by with lots of good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie

Address: 100 Westage Business Center, Fishkill, NY 12524 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Fishkill - Pougkeepsie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fishkill
#5 Business Hotel in Fishkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sierra Fishkill Pougkeepsie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.