We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Westage Business Center, Fishkill, NY 12524 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Fishkill - Pougkeepsie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Fishkill
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The front desk was very professional and we thought wow if they are this pleasant our stay will be superb. It was our 1 year anniversary and we didn't want to stay home but not go to far either.
The rooms was very clean and the bed was so so so comfortable I wanted to stay for the rest of the week in bed.
I will surely go there just because , I would just go to get away from stress and to have peace and quiet. The breakfast was like the best also. No continental breakfast a real breakfast with eggs, sausages, bacon, pancakes etc. We didn't want to leave everything was superb. Thanks Hyatt House in Fish kill we will be returning.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    75
    16
    12
    16
See reviews for
90
75
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

At the front desk, We were greeted by Tahira. A lovely, polite professional that managed our late arrival due to inclement weather with an real sense of caring. Our guest experience began with a level of courtesy normally expected at the most expensive resorts!
This place is clean. The amenities are new and beautifully maintained. The employees are well chosen and appropriately trained. And did we save $$$$$!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in the Hyatt House in Fishkill for one night. The guy at the front desk said on Friday nights the hotel is usually totally booked. Since the hotel wasn't fully booked, and we are Platinium members, we were upgraded to a suite.

The rooms are very clean. The beds are VERY comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was sufficient (and FREE!).

The only problem we had was that, being at the end of a wing on the third floor, it took FOREVER for the water to get "hot." Even when it was "hot" it wasn't as warm as we would have liked it for a shower. When we left, we told the very nice girl at the front desk that we had a problem with the hot water. She told us that it was a problem with the City water and that all the hotels in the area had a problem getting hot water. I thought that was pretty laughable and didn't spend the time explaining to her that, obviously, it's a problem with the HOTEL..not the CITY!

Other than that, it's a nice, modern, very clean hotel. I would return when in the area.

Room Tip: If you want hot water, don't stay at the end of a wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel when it was the Sierra Suites....It was the best place to stay in Fishkill. Now it's the Hyatt and you would expect that it would be better than ever......Not so. I paid for my stay via Expedia and arrived at the Hyatt on Friday November 30th with my confirmation in hand. The Hyatt front desk told me that they did not have the King suite that I had reserved but had a room with a single king bed.....A room with a single King bed for 2 adults and 2 kids?? With that they told me NEVER TO BOOK A ROOM THROUGH A 3RD PARTY VENDOR!....The next part was totally shocking.....the message was .....well ....leave! Like you’re trying to check yourself into a low grade hotel without paying! Are you kidding! Is this really a Hyatt?? Hyatt Customer service was no better at handling the matter.....Sorry. Like you should have known not to book with us! Essentially....GO AWAY... So with that I say DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BOOKING THIS PROPERTY. YOU WILL BE SORRY! My final thoughts...I am not the only one that this has happened to...read the reviews. I have traveled around the world and have not ever had anything like this happen to me. Inexcusable!

Room Tip: Want a room...Don't try checking in here....They will leave you on the curb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here during a business trip to the Black Rock Forest Consortium field station. Hotel is very new and modern looking with a bit of a "chain" feel to it. Check in was fast and professional. Room was very nice, with good furnishings and a comfortable bed. Overall feel of luxury without being pretentious. A very good hot breakfast was available. Located near several restaurants and a Walmart. Overall a good choice for short or extended stays in the Hudson Valley region of New York.

Room Tip: Thermostat is on the wall, not on the heating/AC unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First of all, I will preface this review knowing that we stayed here for a wedding during the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy and people were more on edge and the hotels more full than normal.

Now, we booked 2 rooms 3 months in advance for my brother's wedding in Poughkeepsie. This hotel tells you it is in Fishkill/Poughkeepsie, but it is actually 12 miles (almost 30 minutes) down a very very busy heavy traffic filled Rt 9 from Poughkeepsie. So if you book this hotel be aware.

Arrived (about 10 PM) to a very unprofessional front desk person. She looked unkept and had her dress shirt untucked and wrinkled. She was barely polite and gave us a handicapped room (we are not handicapped) right next to the bar/breakfast kitchen. I immediately could hear everything that was going on in the kitchen when I entered the room and asked politely if we could switch. She acted really annoyed and told us they were full because of the hurricane. I went back and tried to endure it for 30 more minutes, but the wall actually shook when they were doing something with dishes in the kitchen. I went back out and met a very well dressed young man at the front desk that was very polite and told us he would be happy to switch us to the 4th floor. What happened in 30 minutes? Some people just don't want to be a help I guess.

2nd thing- I specifically asked if my Grandmother's reservation was ok and was told yes, they were expecting her the next day. When she arrived (I was not there) she was rudely told that they were now overbooked and she would have to drive 12 miles!!!! down the road to another hotel. My grandmother is 80 and she does not do well with directions and things like that. She was soooo upset when she was calling me. I think it is absolutely unacceptable that a hotel would do that to customers that had a confirmed reservation especially elderly customers that begged not to be moved. For that reason I do not recommend this property even though that other things about the property were fine.

One other thing- Across the street from Wal-mart, the entrance to this hotel is difficult to get into.

Room Tip: do not take a room near the lobby on the first floor, especially 130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

You can't beat it for the money. New, clean hotel with nice amenities in a great location. We stayed in your basic room which was fine for the two of us - flatscreen TV, fridge, nice and clean!

We tried to reserve for a last-minute second night but they were sold out. Would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie

Address: 100 Westage Business Center, Fishkill, NY 12524 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Fishkill - Pougkeepsie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Fishkill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fishkill
#4 Family Hotel in Fishkill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sierra Fishkill Pougkeepsie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.