We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Unprofessional” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Locanda

Trattoria Locanda
1105 Main St, Fishkill, NY 12524-3601
845-896-4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 84 restaurants in Fishkill
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Unprofessional”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend booked Locanda for a party of about 30 people. They booked the party more than 6 weeks ahead & had invitations made and sent them out. About 2 weeks before the party, the restaurant called to say they would be on vacation the day of her party & could not have it there at the time she wanted, but DID say they could change the time and have it at night. (But aren't they supposed to be on vacation?!)

Not wanting to change the time of the party, she moved the party elsewhere. On the day of the party, some of us drove by Locanda afterward. It was PACKED with another party - a party that looked to be a lot bigger than ours. So they were NOT out of town after all!! They just booked a bigger party! Oh and when they sent the deposit back to my friend, their check bounced. Good job, Locanda!

Not a nice way to do business!!!!! SOOO unprofessional & disgusting.

If you want to plan a party there, you'd better be sure it's big enough for them!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    14
    4
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OCEAN VIEW
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Celebration dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visited in May 2013 for a celebratory dinner for my daughters graduation from Marist College. Party of 8 , I did have a reservation. Table was ready shortly after we arrived. Place is small, but we all liked the decor. We had a couple apps and a couple of us had dinner specials. Our server was great, I believe her name was Ashley. All entrees were good, wine was good. We were not rushed and really enjoyed our meal and our time there. Would visit again if ever in that area. Thank you , with the terrible weather that weekend, graduation was a washout. This celebratory dinner was the highlight of our weekend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice dinner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Six of us went to Trattoria Locanda for an anniversary dinner. It was the first time there for any of us, and we found it through Trip Advisor. The town of Fishkill has a long history, and the building across the street dates back to the 1800's. Locanda is in a rustic looking building. It's not terribly large, so reservations are recommended. The menu is standard Italian fare, with a reasonable selecstion of pasta, fish, and chicken dishes, with nightly specials. They start your meal with freshly baked garlic rolls, which were quite good. The salad that comes with each meal is pretty standard fare, but the house dressing was pretty good. I ordered the lasagna, others ordered eggplant parm, penne shrimp, and a mussels dish. All in all, everyone enjoyed the quality of their meals. For dessert, everyone was pretty full, so we got a single sampler dish. I particularly enjoyed the chocolate cake. I would definitely return, if I was in that area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came went to Locanda based on a recommendation of our hotel and we were not disappointed. Three different pasta dishes--all cooked to perfection! Completely enjoyed our evening out. Wait staff was very friendly. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This unassuming restaurant shines. Upon entering, one feels welcome and relaxed. The ambiance is subdued and warm.

The service is very pleasant, even charming. The menu is nicely varied and the food is delicious. My wife and I have returned several times since discovering Locanda. We bring family and friends there and recommend it to our neighbors.

The prices are reasonable, entres ranging from $14.95 to $22.95.

Promise, you'll love this cozy restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Locanda also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Locanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.