We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good, service is spotty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Buddha Thai Cuisine

Golden Buddha Thai Cuisine
985 Main St. Fishkill, Fishkill, NY 12524
+1 845-765-1055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 83 Restaurants in Fishkill
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sawasdee and welcome to Golden Buddha Thai! We are a homestyle and family-friendly restaurant that is committed to serving delicious, fresh, authentic Thai food. As Thai cuisine has long been popular around the world, for every customer, we make it our mission to ensure that its authenticity is preserved. Thai food is a fusion of centuries-old Eastern and Western influences. However, Thais have fused these influences and created something unique that is now famous as "Thai cuisine". It has a variety of tastes, textures and flavors. Many of the fresh herbs and spices used in Thai cooking contribute to making Thai food one of the healthiest. We take great pride in the dishes we serve and hope you enjoy your dining experience with us. Dishes can be refined and adjusted to suit all palates. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff can guide you through the journey of Thailand and its savory cuisine. Please enjoy a delicious dining experience with an authentic Thai ambiance at our restaurant conveniently located on Main Street (Route 52) in the Village of Fishkill, just 1/2 mile from Interstate 84 exit 12 and also 1/2 mile from Route 9.
Hopewell, New York
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Food is good, service is spotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have not been to this restaurant in a while. But I did eat here a few times with friends and coworkers until we found other Thai in town which we prefer. While the food is good, the portion sizes are small, especially if you don't eat white rice. And could somebody please explain why in a restaurant where you can see all tables from any vantage point one would need a "call" button?
The chef is clearly skilled but for now, with the competitive options in town the price value of this restaurant does not put it as my primary Thai option anymore.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Big Surprise in Small Places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The restaurant is easily missed, tucked in the corner of a small strip mall next to a beer and soda place. They have decorated it well and wisely, providing a hint of privacy for conversations. The ambiance might well suite the high brow as well as us common folks. The menu is quite extensive and so far everything we have ordered was well worth the adventure into the unknown. The prices are REALLY reasonable and their lunch specials will fit most anyone's budget. However, it is the incredible tastes that keep us coming back.

If you have never had Thai, or maybe I should say GOOD tasting Thai, then you are in for a taste sensation. The staff is small but they are patient and will describe all the dishes you may never have heard of. There are traditional ways of eating some of the dishes and they will gladly point them out, to enhance your experience (like whether the rice goes in the bowl or the bowl contents go on the rice) if you like.

They do incredible things with rice! Even the mango and sticky rice dessert is amazing. This family venture is a sweet change from fast moving waitresses, mass produced meals, and loud customers. Try it and you will be hooked!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have only had takeout here, but the food is phenomenal. I feel lucky to have such a good restaurant in my town. I want to keep returning to try something new each time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

first time there on a Sunday night at 7 30. We were the only ones there for 20 minutes or so. The service was prompt and efficient. Had crab rangoon, and chicken and pork dumplings. Both delicious. Then 2 different soups- again delicious. 3 dinners- duck with curry peanut sauce, son had chicken dish in some kind of curry and chicken salad. All wonderful. We all agreed we would be back and hopefully soon. Menu is large and quite daunting. If you like Thai food, this is the place. And their 'really hot' isn't too hot so plan accordingly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were lucky and got in and were seated right away as the dining room filled up quickly. The food was really terrific and the attention to detail was nice. The only problem we had was that we ate too much!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Buddha Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Golden Buddha Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Buddha Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.