We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherry Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belvedere Hotel
Bayview Walk, Cherry Grove, Fire Island, NY 11782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Cherry Grove
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Buddy and I stayed at the Belvedere Guest House for the first time during Memorial Day weekend. Our stay was enjoyable. We stay in a luxury room because we wanted our own bathroom (instead of sharing with other guests). The room was small but nice. There's no air conditioning but it wasn't really necessary in late May as the room was waterfront. The carpet could use replacing but otherwise the room was nice. The property is great but needs updating/renovating. Staff were courteous and attentive. The guest house is close enough to shops/bars without being too close.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are waterfront and have their own bath (as opposed to shared bathroom). A bit pricey, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    8
    7
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
27
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was at the Belvedere 6 to the 10 of Sep.2012 staff was very nice my room was nice and clean yes it was a little run down in parts but still had a nice look about it i would be happy to good back and stay the next time i go to Fire Island verynice pool area was very nice i had a good time and would like to thanks the staff for give me a very nice weekend at the hotel.

Room Tip: room on the south side are quieter and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This place is a total dump. Do not believe the pictures on their site. This place is full of disgusting old men.

I'm a good looking young guy hit this place in July and would have left right away if I had not prepaid the stay.

The rooms are horrible and very expensive. Was there couple nights and my room was never cleaned once. The room was a tiny box barely enough room for the bed and an extremely loud fan. No AC at all, had to share a filthy bathroom.

This is not the place if you are young and looking for a good time. If you have to be on Fire Island, skip the grove and go to the pines.

The place looks like a castle but is so trashy. I wasted my money here, don't make my same mistake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherry Grove hotels

London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff were incredibly friendly, couldn't fault them really, the pool area is lovely as are some of the decking areas and courtyard. The overall look of the hotel I really quite liked. Its a really nice relaxed no attitude style atmosphere.

That said though the hotel does feel a little run down in parts, the bedrooms smells a bit foisty, beds could do with some nice new clean crisp white sheeting all this I really wouldn't have mentioned if the price wasn't so high, perhaps this is the fire island market rate but I've stayed at some incredibly far more luxurious hotels for far far less!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friend and I came to stay at the Belvedere on the recomendation of a friend who had been there a few years ago. This past weekend wasour first experience in Cherry Grove/ Fire Island. The Cherry Grove community is wonderful, restaurants are vastly over priced but the area is wonderful. The BELVEDERE Hotel is a mess. We entered the palatial hotel expecting to find a superior property. We reached this assumption by the room pricing - VERY expensive for a pretty view and that is it. The rooms are dusty, the beds are very dirty made up with dingy sheets and in many areas, the place is falling apart, ceilings crumbling and flaking paint everywhere. The "TV" room reaks of sweat and cigarettes and the mini vistas in and outside of the hotel are badly in need of some care and cleaning. This hotel must have been wonderful in day but someone needs to CLEAN THIS UP! The staff is polite but the cleaning crew seems confused and misdirected. The chandeliers in every hallway and the great room (off limits to guests but clearly viewable from our second floor room) were dingy and covered with dust. The windows were dirty, the floors were sticky. I asked about having our bathroom cleaned when someone had urinated all over the seat in the communal bathroom and the cleaning staff laughed and said, "it must have been a good night." The two in keepers - one seems disinterested and the other is a presence in the hotel but seems to see nothing. Not a good value for the money. For a Washington D.C or New York price, you get very little. Clean it up!

Room Tip: I did notice a few newer rooms as I walked around - ask to see the room and check the sheets - they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was my first time in what was advertised as "an elegant" experience. I must admit, at one time, the place must have been wonderful but that was definitely in the past. The hotel is not clean and reeks of stale cigarette smoke from days gone by. If the sheets on the bed were clean, it was when they came out of the box when new. Simple amenities like clean fresh towels are often absent fromt he bathroom I shared with the many "squatters" who would ramble in from the boardwalk. The place is interesting, that is true. From the spiders that seem to crawl in every dark corner to the crucnhy sheets, the place is a hoot. We all came from NYC to meet there and while they charge NYC prices, the only thing you get is a vew into a not so well kept past. This place has potential but needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the second floor or a room with an out side window. Our room faced an in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

You certainly would not expect such a crazy eccentric Venetian Building in that area of the world as the place is more surrendered by modern architects wooden houses! I have stayed on Fire Island before but always dreamed of pushing the door of that very private almost secret property!
Did it now and do not regret at all! As you are greeted by the "door keeper" and step into this mini kingdom, you have to sign a form accepting the rules of your new country and it could feel a bit constraining but you will soon understand that you would need such rules to live peacefully ever after in that very special place which is after all a private collector millionaire mansion now opened to guests and for their own enjoyment and pleasure! There are 35 rooms and they are all different...Ours (The lantern) was a charming turret with a private terrace opened over the garden and with a great bay view. Although the room is small, the bed was large and very comfy and it was kept spotless. You have a choice of rooms according to your budget and you should take a look at the description and pictures on the website before booking. In my opinion even if they are not very spacious they do look better in reality than on the site as you can obviously see that the managers take special care to give a warm feeling in each one of them. There is a very nice garden with shade for hot days, a small swimming pool deck to refresh and a Jacuzzi to massage your back with company. Gym addicts will be pleased to exercise under a nice tent with fans by the pool and show off their muscles and performances :-) The sun deck for sunset or moonrise is stunning and opened until 11pm during week days (as for the swimming area) and 1 AM at week-ends. The ambiance is playful and you think you are attending a luxury summer camp for happy grown-ups. We were adopted straight away and invited for drinks by a charming couple on their terrace together with half of the guest house, we immediately felt at home. Our guests were very helpful and charming and I found most of the staff efficient and agreeable. Do not expect the service of a hotel as there is no breakfast or bar meaning you need to plan to bring your booze and prepare your breakfast by yourself as there are communal kitchenettes to store your food and micro waves to heat it.
Of course there are nice places just a stone's throw away where you can enjoy good drinks or food from breakfast to dinner. This place is totally unconventional as male-only and clothing optional making it unique in this environment and if you are ready for the experience with an open mind and to be part of the game it will leave you with wonderful memories and you would only wish to come back the next summer. When you walk down the corridors at night to get a snack in the fridge and realize that Apollo has stepped down from his pedestal to wander around you would certainly not go back to your room still hungry! Of course if you want more tranquility and not to mix with the community, this is perfectly possible although it would be better to visit this place during the week or off-season. Do not forget that this is an historical building with no air conditioning but very efficient fans and I did not find it was a problem at all even though the temperature was quite high! If you are used to a totally dark room to sleep, bring your mask as some of the rooms have plenty of light and it seems difficult to block it out completely, ask the owner to advise you. Of course we will recommend the place and we will come back! An unforgettable experience! Philippe & Danny from Paris

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Cherry Grove
Belvedere Hotel Fire Island/Cherry Grove
Address: Bayview Walk, Cherry Grove, Fire Island, NY 11782
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Fire Island > Cherry Grove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Cherry Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Belvedere Hotel to your Saves list