We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location for any event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Inn

Blue Heron Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Findley Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn
Save
You added Blue Heron Inn to your Saves list
10412 Main Street, P.O. Box 588, Findley Lake, NY 14736   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Findley Lake B&B and Inns
Ohio
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A great location for any event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After 27 years together, my partner & I got married with the ceremony held here. We spent the night before so we didn't have to rush on the day of the wedding.

From first contact to leaving, we had great, positive experiences. The beds were great, the rooms comfortable & the food (we had a buffet) was excellent.

We think of it as the Underground Railroad for LGBT folks living in States where you cannot yet marry. The Blue Heron will give you an affirming, positive experience!

Tobi & Bruce were great, accommodating hosts. We will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My friend and I were looking to escape from the stress of work and have a quiet, relaxing, weekend in wine country. We wanted a bed & breakfast so it would be more low-key and cozy. The Blue Heron Inn was exactly what we were hoping for and more. It's location was perfect, being centrally located along the Lake Erie Wine Trail, it was very convenient to set up a great day of wine tasting. I'm truly surprised by any negative feedback from the other reviewers on here. This is a Bed & Breakfast, which is it's very essence is to be made to feel like a home. The owners were welcoming , friendly, and accommodating. While placing our reservations we were even asked if there were any dietary needs or preferences that we may have to ensure our meals were enjoyable. The meals were better than we had expected and I felt that the portions were more than appropriate, and delicious. We had the steak and it was incredible, as were our breakfasts. For the reviewer that needs larger portions I would recommend Super 8 motel, I hear they have all you can eat buffets.
Our room was perfect and the beds were so comfortable it was hard to leave them in the morning! One of the biggest draws of a bed and breakfast is the historic feel of the property and this beautiful old Victorian next to a lake was perfectly decorated to fit the style. If you are looking for modern Ikea style updates, a bed and breakfast is probably not where you want to stay. I loved the various historical pieces throughout the house and felt it definitely added to the experience. There was a t.v. in our room but we wanted to get away, not watch t.v. so we didn't really use it anyway. We wanted to go out our first night and the owner directed us to Pine Junction, which was a bar/lounge/restaurant with an outdoor BBQ-ing deck and we had a great time. But then again, if you are looking for night clubs and a party scene, perhaps a B&B wasn't the right choice for you.
We will be returning soon with the rest of our friends to enjoy another awesome weekend with Tobi,Bruce, and Hillary. Absolutely recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernal, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Me and my husband ordered the steak which was a good size. But not the most flavored. I had a small potatoe he had a larger one. The cole slaw was like two, three bites in a small condiment cup. Not worth what we paid. My son had the salmon which was quite small, with the same cole slaw. We ordered the penne to go and it was a very small portion. We are still hungry and paid alot for that meager meal, we had never been here and wanted to try it, we wont be going back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueheroninn, Owner at Blue Heron Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
PLEASE NOTE: This a Dining review - not a Lodging review

We were sorry to read the negative review of your recent dinner at the Blue Heron Inn. In an effort to promote healthy eating our kitchen is deep fryer-free, all meals are made to order, and we select the finest ingredients which are served in healthy portions, based on current restaurant industry standards.

We wish you had shared your dissatisfaction with your server at the time of your meal. Had you done so we would have been happy to address your concerns. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked two nights and forfeited the second night without a refund instead of staying. The room was surface cleaned at best. The bed was hard and there is nothing to do after 9:30 PM on a Friday night. There are no TV's and the toilet seat was broken. There is no water pressure and when we brought it up to the inn keeper, she tried to guilt us into staying, Oh ya...I hope you don't have any issues because she doesn't stroll in until 11:00 AM. I would recommend staying at Peak n Peek. it may be $70 more per night but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: sleeping in the parking lot may be more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueheroninn, Owner at Blue Heron Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
PLEASE NOTE: The guests who submitted this review threatened to blackmail us by writing a poor review if we didn't issue a refund for the 2nd night of their stay. Contrary to the review heading, a refund was applied to their credit card account the same day they checked out; 4 days PRIOR to posting this review. A copy of the refund has been provided to tripadvisor.com. That said, we will address their remaining concerns:

1. Guests made a 2-night reservation on the same day as arrival. As they planned to arrive after 10pm they approved a self check-in. At the time of reservation they asked if golf was available locally and were informed there were several courses nearby.

2. The most emphatic complaint was the lack of an in-room tv, and from there the complaints spiraled. To be clear, at the time of reservation they did not ask about late-night activities, whether there was in-room tv or any other details in particular; had we been asked we would have answered honestly. They were livid that there was no tv in the room (there is a tv in the Bar on the 1st floor) and that no local businesses were open after 10pm. The Blue Heron Inn is located in a quiet, lakefront town in rural Western New York, which is a large part of our charm. There is no night life (per se) and 98% of our guests choose our location as an opportunity to relax & disconnect from their busy lives. We provide a plethora of games, books & magazines for guests' pleasure and even send magazines home with many of the guests.

We operate a lodging & dining facility - we are not event planners. That said, we are happy to (and often do) act as Concierges and direct our guests to the many unique attractions located in and around Chautauqua County.

3. As is the case of many rural lodging facilities, we operate with well water. And yes, well water tends to have slightly less pressure than city water. The wooden toilet seat had a small crack in it and has since been replaced.

4. The most surprising complaint was the "horrible bed" comment. By far, the most often-repeated compliment we receive refers to how wonderful our beds are, and what a wonderful night's sleep our guests experience. We made a point of purchasing exceptional quality mattresses (well above commercial-quality) because a good night's sleep is an important part of our service. We have NEVER (before or since) received a complaint about our beds in the more than 30 years we have been in the hospitality business.

The Innkeepers do not live on premise but are available in case of emergency. Our 24-hour phone numbers are posted inside every room for this reason. As in the case of many small businesses the Innkeepers wear many hats; one is the Chef and the other operates the gift shop in the barn behind the Inn. Unfortunately, the Chef was very busy in the kitchen and the other Innkeeper attended a business meeting until 11am that morning. When asked what we could do to make the guests happy they were beyond reasonable, and repeatedly berated, screamed at and threatened the Innkeeper.

We have been in the hospitality business for over 30 years and our goal is to see that guests enjoy themselves and look forward to returning. And that is the case with the vast majority of our guests. Sometimes we make a mistake & problems arise; however, we will bend over backwards to right a wrong if given the opportunity to do so. Simply put, the Blue Heron Inn wasn't what these guests were looking for. As such, there was no way to make these guests happy and they carried their threat to fruition by posting this poor review, in spite of the fact that we immediately complied with their request for a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the third time we stayed at the Blue Herron. Owners have a great family, very comfortable and the restaurant is outstanding (chef and owner Bruce). They do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Very close to Peek-n-Peak Ski Resort and snowmobile trails. We will be back agian!

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are the best, but all rooms are confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Blue Heron Inn over Veteran's Day weekend as a quick getaway. Tobi and Bruce opened their B&B to us free of cost as they were participating in an event offering a free night's stay to veteran's (my fiance is an Army Veteran) and their guest. It was really wonderful meeting other veteran couples, and the B&B was closed to the public while we were there, so it was great. Our breakfast was fantastic- absolutely delicious. My fiance really liked his dinner, but I got the vegetarian kabobs and was still hungry- my fiance's meal was an appropriate price but I felt that I should have gotten more. Our room was small but cozy with a pretty view of the lake. We weren't sure how to regulate the temperature and the room did get really hot, but there was a ceiling fan in our room which helped. Tobi is such a sweet lady. They also have a really cute shop in the back with all sorts of special things. While we were there we also did some tastings at a few local wineries which was really fun.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our view of the lake (we stayed in the Garden Room) but there is another room with a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room was over-priced (159.99+). It was not cleaned well, the decor was out-dated, the faucet in the bathroom was broken,the shower dispenser for shower gel was empty, wall paper border was peeling off, the sheets were wrinkled and stained, there was no thermometer in the room and it was so hot you could barely stand it, and there was no hairdryer! There was nothing special about it. No special welcomes or friendlieness. A waitress from the restaurant downstairs took us to our room. I would have rather stayed in a hotel.

Room Tip: We atayed in the king sized room, which was no better than any of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Address: 10412 Main Street, P.O. Box 588, Findley Lake, NY 14736
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Findley Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Findley Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking scenic Findley Lake, the Blue Heron Inn is located in one of Chautauqua County's most scenic destinations. Casually elegant, antique-appointed accommodations with private baths & a/c set the stage for rest & relaxation. Wake each morning to a delicous full breakfast, stroll the lake & plan a day filled with boating, fishing, golfing, horse-back riding, skiing, snowmobiling, shopping, antiquing & local winery tours. The Inn is conveniently located 5 minutes from Peek'n Peak Resort, 15 minutes from Chautauqua Lake and the shores of Lake Erie. Open year-round, the Blue Heron Inn is the perfect get-away for all seasons! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.