We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Fish

Island Fish
655 Horseblock Rd, Farmingville, NY 11738-1235
(631) 698-7700
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 restaurants in Farmingville
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
East Setauket, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Basically a fish store with take-out and some in-house seating. The food was wonderful and prepared while you wait. The store was clean and the personnel friendly and most helpful. After tasting the lobster bisque, I had to have more. And you say you don't like seafood. Well, they had a great variety of chicken dishes. If you chose to cook your own, where else can you find Bahama lobster tails?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    5
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Home cooked meals that are worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great prices and quality food, there are dishes and salads here that you just can't find anywhere else. This family owned business seems to take care in preparing quality food. I love the mango crusted tilapia! There is also a great variety of both frozen and fresh seafood, from local clams and crabs to lobster tails and fish.The people who work there were very friendly and even gave me tips on how to prepare the lobster tails. I would definitely go back. Wish I lived closer, I would be there all the time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Got fish there 2 times”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Both times sucked...stop and shop has better quality fish.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Worth going inside to check out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Okay wow! Not only is it a great seafood store, these guys can seriously cook.( btw there is no fishy smell whatsoever) I've tried many of their meals and there out of this world. The lobster bisque is soo creamy and thick!! Very yummy! Great tilapea sandwiches on Portuguese rolls, and they make a great shrimp fa diavolo. The inside is small, but very clean with a small seating area. You can't miss the place, they have a large mural of the side of an island.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best seafood place in long island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

Must try lobster bisque AMAZING bring all my friends from Boston and never leaves disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish also viewed

Farmingville, NY
Farmingville, NY
 

Been to Island Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.