We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 North Ocean Avenue, Farmingville, NY 11738   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Farmingville
Vandalia, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Our reservation was perfect. We were picked up from the Long Island Railway by the shuttle driver who was very friendly. We enjoyed their breakfast. They offered a very nice selection of cereal, coffees, waffles, sausage, omelet, yogurt, etc. We found our room to be quiet and everything was clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig078, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
DebbieVandalia_Ohio,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your experience at the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again.

The Team at the Hampton Inn Brookhaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    55
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
66
34
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Staff; Friendly and available.

Common Areas: Clean and well maintained, but often crowded as this hotel is VERY popular choice for weddings and events due to its central LI location. It can get very loud in this hotel.

Room: Getting old and worn. Not the cleanest. but that's mainly due to age not housekeeping Heater and air conditioner worked well, not too noisy.

Location: Very central to the Island. Right on the LIE. Easy access to Rt 112. Although can be difficult to get in and out of . Use the Kmart entrance. Not much in the area, and at night this area can be a bit "salty". But again, with such a good local, finding food and other entertainment is a short drive.

Price: reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig078, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are pleased to have been able to meet your needs while in town and apologize for the congestion and noise experienced in our lobby. While we do get very busy with special events, we try to make every guest we encounter feel valued and appreciated. We've shared your comments on the look and feel of our guestrooms with our facilities team who will look into performing any necessary maintenance. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Long Island so we can show you the complete hotel experience you expect and deserve.

Thank you again,
Craig Goldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This large Hampton Inn is ideally located next to the expressway and Ocean Ave. It is your standard Hampton Inn, with complimentary wi-fi and breakfast. What made this visit special was the extraordinary service offered by the hotel manager. Arriving at 5:00 am on a Saturday morning with only a Saturday EVENING reservation in hand, the manager (unsolicited) put me into my room EARLY (without charging me for an extra night) as he had one open room ! This is a rarity in the travel world and should be highlighted! Getting into the room early and grabbing a couple of hours sleep was a godsend. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better; make reservations early as this hotel fills up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig078, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
RootBeerFloat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the hotel. We are glad to hear that we were able to help you and you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the future

The Team at the Hampton Inn Brookhaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We always use Hampton Inns. We can rely on clean rooms and comfy beds. The beds at this Hampton were not comfortable. We could not understand why the hallways were so wide and the rooms were so small and crowded. The breakfast was good as expected. The access in and out is limited. We will pick a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig078, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback as frequent guests of the brand and we are glad you found our property to be clean and that you were able to enjoy our breakfast offerings. We are very sorry to hear you were not comfortable on our beds and we will keep your comments on room layout and mattress comfort in mind as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to the area in the future.
Thank you,
Craig Goldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a solid Hampton Inn experience ... including the usual Hampton breakfast (in a very nice breakfast room). Incredibly convenient location; just off the LIE, and with a bit of navigating you can enter and exit the property at a stoplight. Nearby dining included Applebee's, Friday's and Burger King, among others. The adjacent shopping plaza had a Kmart, grocery store and liquor store.

The room, too, was standard Hampton fare. Comfortable and well laid-out.

But what I really appreciated was the staff's attentiveness. They seem to get a lot of regulars -- the hotel seems popular with truckers in the area -- and the breakfast staff in particular recognized regulars by name. That kind of warmth can't be taught; they have some treasures working for them here.

Convenient to ISP airport, not far from the Ronkonkoma LIRR station, and about an hour or so from the North Fork wineries. If I find myself on Long Island again, I'd easily choose to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig078, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
ericopia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as we take great pride in providing great guest service.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

The Team at the Hampton inn Brookhaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very nice hotel, your typical hampton rooms. But nice and clean, well maintained hotel. Close to exit, only drawback is dont get a room on highway side, very noisy. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. Overall good place to stop mid island.

Room Tip: Take a room on opposite side of highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig078, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
psaltydog4,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a nice breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

The Team at the Hampton Inn Brookhaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for just one night, and overall had a satisfactory stay. The first room given to us absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke when we opened the door, but the front desk was apologetic and was able to find us a different and non-stinky room.
Pros: nice and helpful front desk staff (in addition to quickly giving us a different room when we asked, they kindly gave me a toothbrush and toothpaste when I realized I forgot mine). Rooms were dated but seemed very clean. Breakfast was included.
Cons: Rooms are on the small side and very basic. The hotel is no-frills, as well. As another reviewer mentioned, the hotel can be a little hard to get to from the road, so I was glad I had my GPS.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig078, General Manager at Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
R0bin72,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. It’s unfortunate that other guests smoke in non-smoking rooms, but I am glad to hear that the staff took care of you. We take great pride in providing great guest service.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

The Team at the Hampton Inn Brookhaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven

Address: 2000 North Ocean Avenue, Farmingville, NY 11738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Farmingville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Farmingville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven Hotel Farmingville
Hampton Inn Farmingville
Farmingville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.