We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First few visits great but after Valentine's Day hesitant to go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prosecco

Prosecco
1550 Route 332, Farmington, NY 14425
(585) 924-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prosecco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“First few visits great but after Valentine's Day hesitant to go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The food is very good. The first few visits service was very good but on Valentine's Day we had a not good experience. We had reservations but had to wait, not horrible as it was Valentine's. Our waitress took drink orders, I ordered a Bellini which menu said it was made with peach puree. When the drink was brought it was nothing more than cheap peach flavored sparkling wine, I mentioned this to the waitress and she said that is always how it is. For 8 dollars what a rip off. From then on she was very rude to us. She listed the specials but then we heard her telling specials to other tables and she had failed to mention surf n turf which my husband would have ordered if he had known. After food was brought she never checked on us. The saving grace was the gnocchi was Sooo good. Haven't been back due to rude staff and the fact that Otto Tomattos has just as good food and much nicer staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baggio2012, Owner at Prosecco, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I have made it a point to respond as gracefully as possible to every comment regardless if it was ultra positive or relatively constructive. I think, as owners we should no matter if its a fair comment or not. In this business, we know that with every finger that is pointed, 4 are pointed back so we never take anything personally but we do believe in protecting our honor. We try to read and possibly take away some new information even if a review was written 4 months after a dining experience.
First we would like to say thank you for comprehending that on Valentines Day, one may need to wait even with a reservation. Our bellini is made with Prosecco plus a peach flavored vodka. $11 value for only $8. We dont use puree anymore because we would have to charge more and the shelf life is low. If server was rude, i feel awful because typically the staff is pretty pleasant and cheerful no matter how slammed it is. But if that is the perception you left with, shame on us for missing it. But I have to say that I wouldnt think a server would purposely or accidentally miss a $50 special on Valentines Day. Thats like saying a car salesman forgot to show someone a car. We appreciate the marketing strategy of otto tomato. We really do. He uses news and print to his advantage but, we cant agree with your statement that we have similar food. No disrespect but we just cant do it. We strive on food, ambiance and service excellence. We dont want to mention what other places do wrong, we just want to comment on what we worked hard to do right. Try us again and please dont be hesitant to call over an owner. We are pretty nice guys. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great Pizza, Spaghetti and Meatballs and I love the ravioli specials. Love the restaurant and keep going back for more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italian done right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As beautiful as the inside of this restaurant was, we decided to sit outside on the patio which by the way was equally as beautiful. The service was fantastic and the food was out of this world. The owner and chef both came out to check on us to make sure everything was perfect. The homemade tiramisu put the final touch on our evening. I highly recommend Prosecco to anyone who is looking for a perfect night out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Fals
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A nice find in the Rochester area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

After numerous disappointing dinners out in the Rochester area every time we visit from NJ, we continue searching for something better. Last night we tried Prosecco and for the most part had a positive experience. The restaurant is nicely done with ample space between tables. The appetizers of mussels and calamari were very good. However, we thought the menu was very limited as far as entree choices. Two of us had the pasta special of lobster ravioli - they were good, but the sauce seemed more suited to clams or mussels rather than the heavy ravioli. Spaghetti and meatballs was ok - lots of it though! The other special of red snapper was good. The three desserts we tried were outstanding - coconut cake, chocolate bombe cake and cannoli, as we're the cappuccinos. Our waiter Peter was excellent providing good service and a good sense of humor.

The restaurant also featured a music combo - ok from a talent perspective but much too loud for a comfortable dinner conversation! We we thrilled when they took their break!

We will come back again, probably have salads and pizza, and definitely ask for a table far away from the music.



Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baggio2012, Owner at Prosecco, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We appreciate your take on the ravioli, however we have had too many positive comments that the sauce is a nice change of pace to the norm. But please ask the server to have the chef to make it the way you like it. The staff is very happy to please.

Definately ask for a far table next time if the live music can be bothersome.

Visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service, Fair prices....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived last evening for our 7pm reservation and were seated right on time. The live music
was playing and there was a great "buzz" to the restaurant. Every table was full ( a good sign) Our server greeted us promptly and a busboy was not far behind with water. Great menu, excellent specials --nice size portions, good drink & wine list and a yummy sounding dessert menu --but, we were to full. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prosecco also viewed

Farmington, Finger Lakes
Farmington, Finger Lakes
 
Farmington, Finger Lakes
Farmington, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Prosecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prosecco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.