We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caracara Mexican Grill

Caracara Mexican Grill
354 Main Street, Farmingdale, NY 11735
516-777-2272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caracara Mexican Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 110 restaurants in Farmingdale
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Westbury, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My second time going and I want more. Both times our waiter service was on point. They must really take the time to train their wait staff properly because it shows. They know everything about their food and drink menus. And they are professional and courteous. Did everything right as far as I was concerned. Even the amount of time in between tending to you. No too soon nor too long in between. And the food and drinks were delicious. Two thumbs up!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    19
    8
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not your typical Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My Husband and I love this restaurant! The food is so fresh, and not the typical greasy, cheesy food you normally find in a Mexican restaurant. The guacamole is a must, made fresh at your table, and made just the way you want it from plain to very spicy! The portions are just right, and made with really fresh foods, not loaded up with melted cheeses or sour creme. They have a live band on weekends, which is a nice touch in the lounge/bar area so it does not interrupt your dining experience with loud music! We make reservations on Open Table, which makes it so easy to guarantee us a table on weekends. They tend to get out the food really fast, so if you want a leisurely dinner just tell them to space out the time between apps and dinner! The owners are beyond nice, and really take pride in making sure everything is just right! Give this place a try!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great waiter, nice time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Tuesday night. Food was good. Service was great. Fantastic waiter. Hope he doesnt mind us posting his picture making us guacamole. Would definately go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere. Awesome guacamole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went on a Saturday night for dinner and didn't have to wait too long for a table. Wait staff was very attentive. Live music added a nice touch. Table side guacamole is a must! Fresh tasty and just plain awesome! We both had chicken tacos. The flavors were fabulous. You only get three tacos but after the guacamole that's all we needed. Mojitos were very tasty as well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Seating was too close together, kids running around almost knocking over waiters, two different dishes containing steak was too chewy and impossible to eat. On the plus, the waiter was excellent, but the management was extremely unprofessional and rude. For the price, definitely is not a comeback. Toilets overflowed and we were rushed out of our table by managers because of a reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caracara Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Caracara Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caracara Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.