We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mexican food, done right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caracara Mexican Grill

Caracara Mexican Grill
354 Main Street, Farmingdale, NY 11735
516-777-2272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caracara Mexican Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Farmingdale
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent mexican food, done right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Went to this very pretty mexican restaurant with a friend after work on Friday night. Guacamole made tableside was superb. Pitcher of sangria in red or white done correctly with brandy. Innovative entrees, made for a hard decision because each one was better than the next.
Downside...too small tables, too big plates. Extremely noisy, and then the band came out to play. Absolutely not a place to bring a date if your looking for romance and or a quite dinner for two. My voice is still hoarse from screaming most of my conversation.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing in all respects”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We very much looked forward to this restaurant. Thought for sure it would be better than the restaurant from which its owners came. What a disappointment. The food lacked flavor, the presentation wasn't inviting, the decor was unappealing and the service was blase. I certainly hope it improves and quickly,

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"Did not enjoy"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The decor is alright, kind of gimmicky. The only thing that is good is the guacamole but what mexican restaurant does not have good guacamole? It's not that hard to make.
The fish tacos hardly have any ingredients. This place is ike a slightly upgraded Chili's. The food is not authentic at all, IMO. Their ingredients are not fresh. Their rice is like Uncle ben's rice, like it comes out of a box. The beans are good but again, beans are very inexpensive and you can not make beans taste bad, even if you have never cooked them before.The waiters, really need to minimize their talking. They over explain the dishes being served, as if they are such complex ingredients. If they plan to serve this food, they really need to lower their prices. The drinks are about the only good thing.

My husband and I enjoy Mexican food but this place is not good nor is it authentic.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Table side guacamole was some of the best I've had. Service was attentive, but not overbearing. Excellent sangria and our group all enjoyed the food very much.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Definitely Going Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stumbled upon this place at Open Table because the Mexican restaurant we wanted to go to was fully booked. The reviews were good so we gave it a shot and were so happy that we did. The margaritas were very good and so was the guacamole. We had a mango salad which was delicous and for the entrees we had salmon and the shrimp tacos which were very good. We visited Caracara on Conco de Mayo so they were very busy but the service was still good. The restaurant was clean and so were the bathrooms. Atmosphere was good reminds me of Besitos in Hungtington but this place was just a little cheaper than Besitos. We are definitely going back...we walked out as very satisfied patrons.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caracara Mexican Grill also viewed

 
Farmingdale, NY
 

Been to Caracara Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caracara Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.