We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in so many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodcliff Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Woodcliff Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Woodcliff Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   199 Woodcliff Drive, Fairport, NY 14450   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tulsa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel in so many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

In Rochester for a July wedding, we followed everyone’s recommendation and stayed at Woodcliff. Nearly everyone during our three nights there was involved in a wedding, some of the ceremonies conducted on the hotel’s verdant grounds. This gave the place a festive atmosphere. Amenities were in every way excellent. Although a lot of partying was clearly going on, our room was soundproof. From the outside Woodcliff looks a little like a corporate HQ (planting trees in and along the parking lot, California style, might be worth a thought), but the interior is well designed and smartly appointed. Woodcliff houses a swell old-style hotel restaurant (great view of Rochester and hills south of the city) and the breakfast buffet is worth every dollar. Woodcliff is not inexpensive but hardly extravagant. You definitely get full value and there’s no nickel-and-diming, as in a Hyatt. The pool and fitness center are on the level of a private club. Just outside there are forested trails and the concierge is happy to provide a map. The staff are unfailingly polite and helpful—but not obsequious. All in all, Woodcliff is very endearing, a word usually reserved for small boutique operations. This four-star hotel situated southeast of Rochester will be the place we stay in future trips to that part of New York State. Woodcliff’s proximity to I-490 makes the New York State Thruway and downtown Rochester readily accessible.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guillaume51,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and especially for the 5 Star Review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed Horizons Restaurant as well as our Full Service Fitness Center and Pool. Your comments in regards to the polite and friendly approach by our staff is exactly the type of service our associates strive to provide. We are looking forward to you returning and again we thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    56
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
68
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Overall very satisfied with our 2-night stay. Shuttle service to/from airport and even beyond the 5-mile stated max meant we didn't need a car. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, good food with free kids buffet breakfast. Casa Larga winery just minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Barry_McConnell,
Thank you very much for your 5 Star Review! I am so glad to hear that you had such a pleasant experience and that you were able to enjoy the local area. As you mentioned we are only minutes from Casa Larga Winery as well as the upscale Eastview Shopping Mall. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Attended a wedding in Rochester and the bride and groom reserved a block of rooms here for out-of-town guests. The Woodcliff totally exceeded our expectations. Lovely location, superior service and fantastic food! On our first night, we arrived very late on Thurs evening after a flight delay and hadn't had any dinner - the kitched was closing in about 20 minutes, but they served us a delicious sandwhich at the bar as if it was the beginning of the shift instead of the end. On our last night, we got in right at closing time, but asked if we could still get a dessert - again they treated us like we had all the time in the world and the dessert was fresh and delicious. We also had an opportunity to have breakfast - one of the nicest breakfast buffets I've ever had at a hotel - in addition to the standard bakery items, fruit and a few hot dishes, they served delicious eggs benedict! And dinner one evening was so good, that we thought they undercharged us - their chef is first rate!! Everyone was very service-oriented and attentive. We noticed that they even had a lifeguard at the pool even when there were only a couple of swimmers. The room was a good size, comfortable beds, great air conditioning and a terrific view. The location is just a short 20-min drive to downtown Rochester where we enjoyed the Eastman House and also the Memorial Museum of Art. Just 10 minutes down the road in the other direction is a large shopping mall. Can't say enought about this place! Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey D, Manager at Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Carolehk_wis,
Thank you so much for your 5 Star Review! I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the Woodcliff Experience. Horizons Restaurant features some of the greatest steaks and freshest seafood in Rochester and it is evident that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience. It is also great to hear that our location was ideal for your travels and entertainment. We look forward to you returning.
Sincerely,
Jeffrey DiTondo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was the perfect stop to break up our drive back from Massachusetts to Ohio. Comfortable and well-appointed rooms, crisp and clean pools, a great breakfast buffet, and friendly, helpful staff. I only wish we could have enjoyed the amenities a bit longer! Set in a picturesque landscape, this was exactly what we needed. I highly recommend!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a restful and beautiful place to stay in the Finger Lakes. The location is convenient and picturesque, the staff could not be more gracious and warm. The room we were in was pristine and well appointed and the food on site was delicious. We needed a break from a house full of teenagers and this was a restful oasis at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for two nights for a wedding.The office staff made sure we had adjoining rooms and we were able to book three rooms in a row.
The rooms are large and comfortable.We didn't use the golf course but it looked to be an excellent course.
The staff were very helpful and courteous.
The rate is a bit pricey but it is an upscale venue.
There is lots of free parking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The room was nice along with the amenities. The staff was very kind and professional. The restaurant staff was also very nice and the food was excellent. They even had live music that was quite professional. As for the fitness room and pool area, they were not as nice as I would have hoped. The treadmills were older and worn out. They need to replace or refurbish them. The pool area was also a little outdated. They close at 10pm and made me stop running on the treadmill right at 10pm...I thought they could have given me a few more minutes. Anyway, overall the stay was nice.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodcliff Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcliff Hotel and Spa

Address: 199 Woodcliff Drive, Fairport, NY 14450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Fairport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fairport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodcliff Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, a premier Rochester Hotel, conference center and spa located close to the scenic Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. We welcome you with the comfort, amenities and warm, personal service that you expect from a first class hotel and spa. Located atop wooded hills in Fairport, just off I-90, Woodcliff Hotel and Spa is only 20 minutes from downtown Rochester, and offers spectacular views of the Rochester Skyline, Rochester Bristol Hills and Finger Lakes region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Woodcliff Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcliff Hotel Fairport
Hotel At Woodcliff
At Woodcliff Hotel
Lodge At Woodcliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodcliff Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.