We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like homemade food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durf's Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Durf's Family Restaurant
150 N Main St, Fairport, NY 14450-1433
585-377-9879
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 90 Restaurants in Fairport
Restaurant details
Middletown, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“If you like homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Seven of us went to breakfast at Durf's based on my daughter's recommendation. Durf's atmosphere isn't much but the food was outstanding. Lots of daily specials to say nothing of homemade bread, jams, pancakes, waffles, etc. I chose one of their specials; corned beef and potatoes. It was the best I had ever tasted since it was made from corned beef brisket. If you ordered homemade bread toasted you got a little container of homemade jam. I would go there again for breakfast. I can't speak to their other meals.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

One of the local places to go for breakfast with good food, a throwback atmosphere and friendly service. The coffee is always hot and be sure to check the specials.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, ok atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Durf's a great place to catch breakfast of lunch. It is a hole-in-the-way atmosphere but the service is good and it is definitely a family-friendly restaurant. Breakfast are very good. They have a daily special board and I recommend looking along with the menu. They board features some outrageous pancakes worth trying.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A classic diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you have a breakfast favorite in mind Durf's probably has it on the menu. It is a place where you are sure to find the locals having 'the usual' anytime they are open. Nothing fancy, but for a good stick your ribs plate of eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc - you are going to like it here. The service is fast and the coffee is good. The prices are also a welcome treat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Old, decent food, decent prices, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Recently had breakfast at Durf's. I've lived in the area for many years and never tried it. Well, I probably won't go back. It's a diner, serving breakfast, and I don't know if they serve lunch and/or dinner. It's small, beat up, run down, but the food was very good. They offer typical diner breakfast choices along with some specials. Prices were about what I expected. Service was good. There was a line waiting to get in on the Sunday morning I was there. Coffee is available to those who are waiting in line - which is a good idea. For me, I find other places nearby that also offer good food, good prices, but a much nicer environment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durf's Family Restaurant also viewed

Fairport, Finger Lakes
 
Fairport, Finger Lakes
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Durf's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durf's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.