We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chakara

Chakara
7328 Pittsford-Palmyra Rd., Fairport, NY 14450
585.223.8101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Fairport
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a light but tasty supper, good gyoza, subtly spiced mains, overall very good value. The food is the star, decor not so much...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“"What is Asian Fusion?" you ask? Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Referred to Chakara by a friend for its delicious offerings and good service. Not really knowing what to expect from Asian Fusion, we gave it a try. My, oh my, what a wonderful food experience. The best of typically not combined items intentionally put together for a unique taste experience. A bottle of cold sake along with the appetizer special, which was pork belly sliders on difficult-to-describe bread along with peanut dipping sauce, followed by pork crispy rolls which were substantially stuffed, then fiery won tons - all wonderfully tasty with great favors We then shared the Mongolian Beef entree, which came on spinach pasta, and stuffed cupcakes for dessert. All very sizeable portions, and we were very full. For all we had, very reasonable pricing. Their location is a bit off the beaten path, but very well worth the effort. We look forward to our next delicious experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Every dish made to order”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have eaten here three times and cannot praise the wait-staff and the chef to highly.
There is always a fair portion on your plate and the soups are excellent!
The tastes area nice change from standard Asian fare.

The prices are quite reasonable and I will keep going back for more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“In a word, superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have gone to Chakara three times in the past 3 or 4 weeks. The food is to die for, and the service is beyond impeccable. Our waiter each time was Andrew, and he is the consummate definition of an attentive, polite and courteous (but unobtrusive) server. As an example, he remembered my dislike for peanuts between visits to the restaurant. We have been there with 2 other couples, three times, so that is twelve meals, all different, and all superb. I remarked to my dinner mates this time that it's difficult to make 12 meals to perfection, but they have done so. The atmosphere is engaging and authentic at the same time, very classy and relaxing at the same time, etc. etc. A 10 out of 10.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We tried Chakara for the first time a couple of weeks ago and were really impressed with the food. It includes creative versions of many different Asian dishes, with fresh ingredients and wonderful tastes. We returned this past week and had another great experience. The service was also excellent. We had the same waiter, Andrew, for both visits. He gave us very good advice on menu choices and taught me a lot about saki. The restaurant is open until 10 on weekdays and 10:30 on Fridays and Saturdays, which works really well for us. We'll return soon to introduce friends to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chakara also viewed

Fairport, Finger Lakes
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 
Fairport, Finger Lakes
Fairport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Chakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chakara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.