We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn, Uncomfortable Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essex
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast
Save
You added Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast to your Saves list
2297 Main Street, Essex, NY 12936   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn, Uncomfortable Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here on a bike trip. The Inn was lovely, and the restaurant facilities were very good. Unlike many B&Bs or Inns, though, there are not really any common areas to relax and chat, other than the bar area.

Our room was very nice and spacious, but the big problem was that our bed arrangement was quite strange. We first found the problem when were retiring late in the evening. The bed had a mattress pad, and then an unfitted sheet that did not entirely cover the pad, topped off with a queen sized comforter in a king sized duvet cover. We thought that this was perhaps a variation on what we might find in Europe. But in this case, since the one sheet did not really fit on the bed, it did not stay nicely on the mattress all night, and we did not have a good cover for the hot evening (as a comforter was much too hot and having nothing over us with the AC blowing was also undomfortable). All in all, we had a quite uncomfortable night, and discovered the next morning that there was supposed to be a fitted sheet on the bed as well, which would have been nice. Josh was startled to learn that there was not a fitted sheet, and said he would take care of that, but it appears that only applies to future guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Essex Inn and we thoroughly impressed. It is very clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had arrived well before the 3pm check-in time and they allowed us to check in early, no problem. We enjoyed cocktails in the rocking chairs on the porch before dinner and had a wonderful meal at the Tavern in the Inn. Also, they provide a complimentary breakfast, which is more than what you would expect for a free breakfast!

Inn is set in a very small, quiet town but was perfect for our getaway from the city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food was awesome. The rooms were a little over priced but warm and clean. All of the staff were spot on with service! The morning breakfast was beyond perfect . For being one of the only places in town , they are at the next level.Staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I made a reservation for two rooms at the Essex Inn on February 19, 2013 for a trip to Lake Champlain on June 28, 2013 which I cancelled on March 7, 2013 (16 days). I expected to be charged the $35 cancellation fee despite the short time span between reservation and cancellation but was charged $70 instead. When I called to ask why I was told it was because I had booked two rooms for two nights and the amount of the charge for the rooms caused a $40 swipe fee to the inn. If the inn was being charged by the number of swipes I wonder why the reservation for the two rooms was made with two separate charges (swipes) which caused a fraud alert on my credit card!?!? Also, had this been a few days out from the date of arrival I might be more understanding but they have 3 1/2 months to fill these two rooms which is at the height of their season. So needless to say I am very disappinted with the double charge,
especially since this is nowhere in the inn's policy that they charge cancellation fees by the room rather than the reservation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexInn, Business Lessee/Proprietor at Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Darlene,

We understand that you are disappointed with our cancellation policy, and regret that we were not able to host you. I do wish to address a false statement in your posted review, however. You write that nowhere in our cancellation policy does it state that cancellation policies are per room rather than per reservation. This statement is untrue, and I think perhaps an honest mistake on your part. As protocol, when customers call to book we ask if they have seen our policy on the website, if not, we refer them to it and inform them of the policy. In addition, our cancellation policy is both posted on our website, and included in both of the booking confirmation emails you received, and clearly states exactly that "The cancellation policy is applicable per reserved room." You reserved two separate rooms, for three nights each. Guests who cancel before the 30 days have the option of cancelling the reservation and receiving a refund minus the processing fee, or applying the full amount toward a future stay within the next year. Such is also posted on our site and in confirmation emails sent upon booking. Also, when guests book online, they are asked to verify they have read and understood the policy before their booking goes through.

Again, we understand that you are disappointed with the policy, and we regret that we will not have the opportunity to host you, however, I did want to address the false statement in your review regarding the informative and transparent nature of our policy. Our offer to you to apply the fees toward a future stay still remains.

Warmest regards,
Gladys Archer
Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I travel professionally (80 to 100 hotels per year) but don't usually write reviews. We stayed here in late July for a wedding and the Essex Inn has remained in my mind since July as one of the premier stays. The staff is friendly, courteous and accomadating. Our room was comfortable, spacious and beautifully furnished. (I gathered ideas for decorating my own home while here.) Our room had refreshing AC for the summer visit and a romantic fireplace for winter stays. The front balcony (we had a private entrance from our room) offers lovely views. Mornings bring the smell of fresh baked goods, outstanding coffee and ample food selection in a common room. The inn also has an excellent restaurant for lunch and dinner and a gorgeous bar. I felt relaxed during the visit and refreshed afterward. The town of Essex is only a short, scenic ferry ride from Burlington, VT where we flew in and a great base for travel in the area. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Essex Inn is the best! Great people, delicious food, wonderful atmosphere.
Very very clean! Looking forward to another visit .The biking is very easy with good roads and excellent terrain. Next time we would like to spend more time as there are so many different roads to travel.

Room Tip: It is all good! Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy, maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Taking the ferry from Charlotte,Vt to Essex N.Y. is in itself a treat, but when you get to Essex you know you are at a special place. We had been to Essex a couple of times before, but just as a stop ova to stretch on our way to Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame. This time tho we had different plans and decided to spend a couple of nights at the Essex Inn. A very special Inn with wonderful hosts. The Essex Inn is wonderfully decorated with classic Adirondack furnishings. Chef Josh does wonders with his meals and his wife Gladys is a gracious host. We highly recommend this beautiful Inn.

Room Tip: Check the web site for description and images of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast

Address: 2297 Main Street, Essex, NY 12936
Location: United States > New York > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast has undergone a complete renovation that has transformed this nearly 200-year old landmark into the crown jewel of the Lake Champlain region. The Inn offers elegant overnight accommodations in beautifully appointed rooms, suites, and apartment. The rooms offer a variety of styles to choose from, including traditional or rustic splendor. Casual fine dining is offered in the on-site restaurant and tavern. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Essex Inn On The Adirondack Coast Hotel Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Inn on the Adirondack Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.