We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2 Day Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West Main Street, Elmsford, NY 10523   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Elmsford
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A 2 Day Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is very clean and nice but suited for the guest who is passing through or short stay.
A hot breakfast is provided daily but no other food service is really available at the hotel. There are several small restaurants and delivery services available and they are listed in the rooms.
The location is rather isolated but it is "on top" of the major highways that intersect at this location. Compared to other hotels in the White Plains, NY area - this one has a very reasonable price.
One recommendation that applies here (and for all hotel reservations), check on-line for your best deal. I booked thru "booking" wed site and got a good deal. But I later found out the hotel offered a government rate - but I could not change it upon arrival since I did not book directly with the hotel. So cehck the various booking web sites (I usually google the location and serach "nearby" hotels - but I failed to check with the hotel directly. So a good habit to get into os to compare prices on-line - and then call the hotel direct and see if they can beat the offer. It will also give you a hint of the service as to how they speak to you - a potential guest.
If you do stay here - ask for an "even nuber room" which will put you on the back side of the hotel away from the busy freeway in the front.
The hotel is very nice - steep entrance and parking - would be difficult if icy or snow - but other than that - a solid hotel when passing thru or working in nearby White Plains. There is little that is near the hotel but great if you just need a room and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room to stay away from noise of highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    121
    48
    19
    15
See reviews for
85
62
34
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Has to be an older Hampton. Bathrooms are very small, so much so that you have a difficult time closing the door.

Staff outstanding. John and several other front desk persons were always pleasant, accommodating and efficient.

Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear noles2u

Thank you for taking the time to share your quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your time and input and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Michele Viapiano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had dinner at the Ritz Carlton, White Plains. Only living an hour away, I didn't think I'd spend the night. When I left at 10 it was snowing hard, visibility was bad and roads covered. I didn't want to go back to the Ritz Carlton and spend $350 a night so I drove slowly out of White Plains. I was getting lost and although I could put Highway 287 in my navigation, I was afraid to go over the Tapan Zee bridge. So, I searched for any brand-name hotel and the Hampton Inn was the first I found.

There was no available spots in the first tier lot so I had to go up a hill to a back lot. I hoped first there would be vacancy, and second that the snow would be plowed in the morning because I worried about the hill going down.

I was greeted warmly in the lobby by a lovely young woman, Zena who told me they did indeed have vacancy and she worked to find me the best rate. She asked if I was a Hilton Hhonors member, and I recalled signing up someplace and was glad since that was a better rate. I paid $115 and although it wasn't cheap, it was better than the Ritz Carlton and I wasn't going back out. I made a hot tea in the lobby, went up to my clean (small) room, took a warm bath, then watched TV comfy-cozy.

The storm was worse in the morning, but the hotel was well-staffed. The complimentary breakfast was nice especially the mini omelettes and fresh fruit. There was a very nice attendant who passed out mints and moist towelettes. I'm sorry I didn't get her name for this review.

I waited as long as possible to check out and the roads sanded. A gentleman named Sean helped me clear my car and made sure to alert the plow to re-do the parking lot because I was worried about all the declines. His concern for me and the other guests was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is very clean, very quiet. The staff is excellent and the rooms are clean, fresh, and well equipped. We stay here because it is close to Iona College and NYC!!! Breakfast was very good and staff at breakfast was excellent. Hotel is very clean. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If it weren't for 1 major issue my rating would have been 4. The staff is very friendly and mostly helpful. My HiltonHonors status wasn't mentioned, but that's not a big deal. The lobby and rooms are nice and in good condition.

My major issue was with the temperature control in the rooms. I arrived late on the 1st night and the extremely warm air hit me as I walked in my room. The temperature was 78 with the heat running. I changed the setting to cool and dropped the set temperature to 69 degrees to try to cool it down. Since it was late I went to bed expecting the room to cool down. I woke on top of my covers and found the room to only be 2 degrees cooler. On my way out that morning I asked what I could do as I could not sleep in such a warm room. The lady at the front desk pulled out a letter explaining the heating/cooling system & said I should have received it at checkin (did not receive it). She said that the letter stated that if you had trouble to contact the front desk to have them put your system on manual control. She said she'd have maintenance do that while I was out for the day.

When I came in that evening, the heat was blasting on high and the room was 86 degrees. Front desk sent maintenance, but he couldn't get it to a point where it would cool off. The person at the front moved my room at the suggestion of maintenance. I was already in my pajamas (much cooler than the sweater I was wearing when I got back to the room) so I packed up my things and moved rooms. While in the elevator a lady told me her room was so cold & wouldn't warm up. The new room was cool, but stayed at a constant temperature and I was able to sleep under the covers.

When checking out I stopped at the front desk to suggest getting the temperature control system fixed and was told he'd mention it. I explained that it was a frustrating experience to have an unpleasant sleep one night and then have to move rooms the next. He said that he was there and did me a courtesy of moving my room. Not even an apology for the situation--just that he took care of it by moving me.

Room Tip: If you're room is severly warm at check-in contact the front desk immediately. You cannot contro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear MAB927

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We apologize for the temperature issue you encountered and the service you received in conjunction with the issue.We strive to make every guests' stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible and regret this was not your experience. We will work with our front desk as well as our maintenance staff to prevent similar situations and better handled if they do occur. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we might show you the quality hospitality you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Sincerely,
Michele Viapiano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a standard Hampton Inn like most others. The lobby is typical, but without much in the way of seating if you want to meet there. The breakfast area is larger than most. My room was #304 on the back side, away from the street. It was quiet and comfortable. The heating system seemed a bit difficult to regulate. I couldn't get the temperature to stay where I set it.

This hotel is built into the side of a steep hill. It has plenty of parking, but in several tiers of lots. It you can't manage stairs, try to get one of the spaces in the first lot as you come up the hill. That has the most level walk into the building.

The location is close to several restaurants in Elmsford and Tarrytown. The hotel is at the intersection of several highways so it is convenient for travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear TinySwimmer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I apologize for the difficulty you had with the heating unit.

We have been working hard to make the units easier to use.
I am glad our location was convenient for you.

Sincerely,

Michele V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

How welcoming does it feel to walk into the lobby toward the check-in counter and be greeted (always) with a warm, genuine smile and be addressed by your actual name??!!! THAT is exactly what happens at Hampton Inn, and specifically, by John Dias. If it was possible for the human body to bend backwards to make your stay the best possible, John would do it! And if that isn't enough, that kind of hospitality continues, including quiet, clean rooms (and a yummy breakfast kept clean and hot/cold by the ladies there as well). Yup.....we'll continue to stay at this hotel. There is no reason to search alternatives!

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room yet..........try them out......you'll be pleased!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele V, General Manager at Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Bill T

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that the staff brings you back.
I will share this with John Dias.

Sincerely,

Michele V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown

Address: 200 West Main Street, Elmsford, NY 10523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Elmsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Elmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown Hotel Elmsford
Hampton Inn Elmsford
Elmsford Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown Elmsford, NY - Westchester County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn White Plains / Tarrytown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.