We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will need the bloody mary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Cafe

Charlie's Cafe
205 Hoffman Street, Elmira, NY 14905
(607) 734-1173
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 98 Restaurants in Elmira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Elmira, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You will need the bloody mary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Breakfast - The bloody mary was good not great, but good. The Eggs benidect with crab was okay the hollindase was good but there was hardly any on my eggs same with the crab maybe a teaspoon of crab meat, maybe. The potatoes were so overdone i had to ask if they were normally served "blackened" and was told yes they looked normal. They were as crunchy as a carrot (raw) yuck. My husband got eggs and sausage with the same gross homefries. Grand total... $38.00 (including the tip 15% which frankly was undeserved) NOT WORTH IT!!! we ended up going to McDonalds after becasue we were stil hungery

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

It feels like it's a "special day" when you eat at Charlie's Cafe even though their prices are "regular". It seems like they spend a little extra time makeing each dish special or a bit different than what you would get elsewhere. Two thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expected great things”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Took my sister in law for dinner. The Greek egg/lemon soup we started with was fantastic. Unfortunately, the rest of the meal was less than perfect. The vegetables were over done and especially disappointing.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What's happening to one of our favorite restaurants?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have gone to Charlie's for many years now. We've been through a few owners -- some better than others. Sadly, the last few times we've been there the quality has slipped -- it takes too long to be served, food quality is not as good as it used to be. The waitstaff is consistently good but they can only do so much to control the overall meal experience. For example, last nite we ordered veggie lasagna with sliced broiled chicken on the side and a caeser salad. Sadly, the chicken was like leather -- way too dry, too cooked, and the salad had almost no dressing on it and hardly any parmesan cheese. When we asked for more dressing, no problem. More cheese? They said they had run out -- apparently in the middle of making our salad. So, they should have told us they couldn't do it and asked what else we wanted. Instead, we had cheddar cheese with a caesar salad -- weird. We recommend this restaurant to people -- or used to, Bummer.... Hope you all get your act together or we will miss you!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great new find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was my first visit, but won't be my last. I had read some reviews before going, and the biggest complaint was about the slow service. Unfortunately for Charlie's staff, I have to agree. The table seated after us had their drinks, salad, and bread before we even had our wine. Now, I guess that means their service was appropriate, so it seems to depend on the server. We actually had to ask the other waitress for our stuff! But honestly, otherwise it was great. Creative dishes, nice atmosphere, and good food. Despite the questionable service, I would recommend visiting. The other positives make it worth what I consider a lesser risk.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Cafe also viewed

Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Charlie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.