We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal and drinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lib's Supper Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lib's Supper Club
106 West 5th Street, Elmira, NY 14901
(607) 733-2752
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 94 restaurants in Elmira
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
corning
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went to Lib's on a Saturday night and ordered shrimp scampi and clams linguine. The food was wonderful (very garlicky so if you're easily offended by garlic this probably isnt the place for you!!) I had a glass of merlot that was wonderful (wish I knew what it was so I could buy a bottle). My only complaint was about the service and I dont really blame the waitress - I blame the management. She was serving a large party in a different room and our table. We were the only table she had in that particular room - there were several other waitresses working that room (and one waiter who apparently had plenty of time to stand around and visit with his family while they ate) so I'm not really sure why they didnt give our table to somebody that was already working that room...seemed kind of unorganized to me. Irregardless the food was really good and priced pretty reasonably.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    27
    13
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Bad Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The food at this neighborhood restaurant is great. You can't go wrong on any of their Italian specialties. And the place has been there forever, so they have a great track record. My only complaint is that the decor is terrible and does not match the wonderful food. It is very dark, making it difficult to read the menu and it is broken up. If they would do a remodel, this could be the "hot spot" to go to because there are not a lot of restaurants in this area. That said, the wait staff are wonderful, serve time was great and again the food is to "live for".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice but slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Good Italian food, large menu, good wine list. Service a little slow, considering it was a Thursday, and not that busy. But still had a good meal, and enjoyed ourselves.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent food, large portions, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Lib's. The food was very fresh, nicely prepared and the portion was huge. The service was very good but my only complaint was the temperature. We went in February and the restaurant was freezing. There clearly was a problem with the heating system because other parts of the restaurant were hot. The ambience isn't great but the food is excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely Love Libs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We really enjoy our dinners at Lib's and it's become a restaurant that we visit quite frequently. Always a great time when Jeff is behind the bar with a smile and we love having Jenny wait on us. Together they are a great team and always make our dinners so much fun!! The chicken scampi and the chicken down under are both absolutely delicious and worth every single bite. If you love garlic and great food, this is your spot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lib's Supper Club also viewed

Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Lib's Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lib's Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.