We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lib's Supper Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lib's Supper Club
106 West 5th Street, Elmira, NY 14901
(607) 733-2752
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Elmira
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tonawanda, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice but slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Good Italian food, large menu, good wine list. Service a little slow, considering it was a Thursday, and not that busy. But still had a good meal, and enjoyed ourselves.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food, large portions, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner at Lib's. The food was very fresh, nicely prepared and the portion was huge. The service was very good but my only complaint was the temperature. We went in February and the restaurant was freezing. There clearly was a problem with the heating system because other parts of the restaurant were hot. The ambience isn't great but the food is excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely Love Libs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We really enjoy our dinners at Lib's and it's become a restaurant that we visit quite frequently. Always a great time when Jeff is behind the bar with a smile and we love having Jenny wait on us. Together they are a great team and always make our dinners so much fun!! The chicken scampi and the chicken down under are both absolutely delicious and worth every single bite. If you love garlic and great food, this is your spot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A place only an Elmirian could love”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Somehow, this restaurant has a special place in Elmirians' hearts, especially older Elmirians. It may have once been elegant, but that was long, long ago. No money has been put into this place for, apparently, decades. Old, dingy, tacky, perhaps that is why it is so poorly lit. I ate there with a group of 16 people. Even though it may be a good place for steak, I could not see myself paying the big city prices they ask. Every other item is more in line with the location.

I won't criticize local tastes. I grew up there and know the Italian dishes they serve there are pretty much in the style they like. This means you start with a big plate filled with sauce (the tomato sauce is not bad), add a little meat, then cover with more sauce and maybe tons of cheese. I had the Chicken Marsala. It was ok for local, but in a big city restaurant market, it would be crucified. Others had the Shrimp Scampi. I, personally, would not call it that. I have rarely seen coated and deep fried shrimp used in real Shrimp Scampi. They also appear to have grated a large quantity of raw garlic as the topping. It probably doesn't help the menu says the chef attended the Culinary Institute of America, in the mid-70s. Doesn't look like the menu has changed since.

The service was fair enough, but our entire party was served by just one harried waitress. I think she did a commendable job.

I think the place is just limping along until its aging clientele disappears. The chairs are crooked, the carpets are ripped and dirty and it just looks old and run down. One very tacky feature is the walls are covered with signed photos of past celebrity guests (I assume), I'm talking 50s, 60s and 70s, and they are all for sale, with big price tags on them. Looks like an estate sale going on.

So, if a local brings you there, go and be nice. If you are visiting from out of town, keep looking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, huge portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Lib's as we traveled to visit our son at college, and like the first time, we were well pleased with our meals as well as the service. Location is not far from Elmira College (walking distance actually). While the decor is dark and dated, the old pictures (which are for sale) and artifacts on the wall provide great foundation for conversation. There is a wide range of menu items price wise, so one can easily find something within their budget. Go hungry, as the portions are HUGE! Even if hungry, you will likely come away with enough food for tomorrow's lunch. If on a Saturday night, reservations are recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lib's Supper Club also viewed

Elmira, Finger Lakes
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 
Elmira, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Lib's Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lib's Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.