We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude rude rude front desk service!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan American Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pan American Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pan American Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79-00 Queens Boulevard, Elmhurst, NY 11373   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Elmhurst
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude rude rude front desk service!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

On both mornings of my stay i went to the lobby for complimentart coffe. thier was no milk or cream left for the coffee. i asked the front desk and both mornings the rude young agent said, "once milk is gone, thats it" i was shocked and embarrassed. With a smirk in his face!!! the cups were 4oz. COME ON!!!! TO MEAN TO GET MILK FOR $159 a night repeat customer!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamhotelmanagement, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We regret that this experinece with the front clerk was not handled more professionally. That young individual was a newhire whose job was not extended beyond the probationary period and is no longer on staff. We do appreciate your continued patronage and your high 5 star ratings on cleanliness and rooms. Please have full confidence that this issue has been corrected and that all future reservations will meet your considered approval --as it did last June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    343
    223
    80
    53
See reviews for
189
246
63
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights last October. Our main reason was that we had stayed here in 2008 and had really liked it. The price was right and the proximity to New York City was a plus. This time we thought the quality has gone down. The bathroom, TV and the rooms need an upgrade. The restaurant in the lobby was ok.

On our last day we took taxi back from Manhattan. The driver wondered why we stayed at this place when, according to him, better hotels are now available in Astoria. They are closer to the subway and are more modern. May be we will look into that next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

As I indicated to the hotel itself, the room was in very, very poor shape. We paid a lot because it was recommended on a hotel booking website as a place of good value for the money. Couldn't have been further from the truth! Room 410 has rust and cracks in the tub. The ceiling has a brown water spot over the tub. The sink had a crack as well. The tissue holder above the toilet was all rusted and corroded. The wallpaper in the bedroom was peeling and the drapes were filthy. The extra blanket we asked for was like sandpaper.The room was definitely not worth the price. It was disgusting! It also indicated in their ad on the booking site that there was a shuttle to the airport. Never mentioned fees. We were told when we checked in that from the airport was free (we didn't need that service) but to the airport would be a charged of $10 per person. When we complained about the room, and the manager came up to look, about 10 minutes later the front desk called and said they would waive the fee for the shuttle and did we want to change rooms. Since we were exhausted from our return International trip of the last twenty four hours, we declined a room change and just made do. The state of room 410 in the Pan American Hotel Nov. 15, 2012 was truly disgusting!! We deserve to get our money refunded!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamhotelmanagement, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
These comments appear to be a duplicate of one posted on 11/19, referencing the same room and pictures. Our records indicate that these guests arrived before 8PM in the evening and after complaining were offered every opportunity to change to a different room and, subsequently decided and refused. This is confirmed in the statement above. Likewise, they were given free airport return service (a $20 value) and contrary to what is written, our website and all websites in which our hotel appears it clearly indicates a "return fee" for airport transport. The person's comment, "never mentioned fees" is not valid. Our hotel ran at 98% capacity (213 rooms) on that evening and this was the only complaint that was received. We believe that our staff acted professionally and correctly in providing the option of a new room for them to move to. They declined and instead resorted derisive comments on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here from around the 25th Oct to early November for 10 nights and was quite pleased with the overall service. The shuttle from JFK was quite convenient. The front desk staff were a little blunt but always friendly and informative. The room was fine, it was a twin room w/ en-suite and cleaned everyday. No complaints there. Didn't like the pillows though, found them a little uncomfortable.

Ate in the restuarant 3-4 times over the 10 days and quality was always good, service was a tad slow. Getting to NYC was convenient with the Subway less than 10 mins away and Manhattan about 30 mins away depending on where you're going. I think its even quicker if you get one of the direct lines.

Hotel is about 10 mins walk from Queens shopping centre which has a Macy's as well as other shops so that was a big plus!

We did however experience Hurricane Sandy during our visit and that shut the Subway down for 3-4 days. This meant we had to walk to Manhattan from the hotel which is about 6 miles! Had to walk there twice and walk back once because as soon as the subway was fixed, the city ran out of gas for the cars and taxis! But if you like your walking (which I do) this should take you about 1.5 to 2.5 hours if you use the Queenboro bridge!

All in all I was happy with this hotel and would stay there again. Good quality for the price paid!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night after returning from a grueling 24 hour trip. The ad offered shuttle service, which we needed. We checked in and were sent to room 410. It was worse than anything on the Bowery. The tub was filthy and chipped with a large dark strain in the ceiling above it. The sink was cracked. The tissue holder was rusted out on the top and bottom. The wallpaper was peeling in the main room and the drapes were filthy. In addition, we were told that the shuttle service was free from the airport but $10 per person to the airport. We called and complained and a manager came up. He left after we showed him the filth and then called and eliminated the $20 shuttle fee. No hotel or motel should ever have rooms like this. I was shocked that NY allows it. Please see the photos.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamhotelmanagement, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Please accept our apologies for any unsatisfactory room conditions after your long plane plane ride back to the states. That particular room has been occupied virtually every day for the past 5 months and we regret that certain maintenance items were overlooked. Numerous families that have been displaced by the Hurricane Sandy devastation in nearby communities have been staying with us and these housing needs have contributed to our overall daily maintenance demands. As you will note, even from the past several reviews on this site, we maintain high ratings on cleanliness and housekeeping and our thousands of return customers confirm the high level of service. Also, for the past several years, with the spike in fuel costs, the hotel has instituted a Airport Return Fee. This charge is clearly noted on our website and every website or Online Travel site in which our hotel appears. In addition, as an FYI, the Bowery is one of the hottest hotel stay destinations downtown with numerous new boutique hotels that start at over $300 per night-if you can get a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here in March, 2012. They picked us up at JFK and made it easy for us. We took the tour of NYC from the lobby in the morning. Great tour. Statue of Liberty, Empire State Bldg, Times Sq., Ground Zero. Took the shuttle back to JFK having stayed 2 nights. Restaurant downstairs was fine. I would do this all again in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and the wife stayed here for four days on a trip to NYC. We found that pretty much all of the downtown hotels were too expensive and that parking was a real issue. We really didn't want to have to fork out the $30-$40 per night parking charge that was so common downtown.

We stumbled upon this hotel and saw that parking was free. We booked it and we were so happy we did.

No, this is not a five star Fairmont or Hyatt hotel but the staff was SUPER friendly. The bellhop helped us to our room and was so nice and kind. Probably the best service I have ever received from such a person.

Rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly, and yes, the parking was free. It definitely was worth it for us.

My only complaint was that it was a 20 minute train ride into the city so it is a bit out of the way. But the subway stop is so close, and after a full day of sightseeing, that 20 minutes on the train back to the hotel can be a bit relaxing, or a bit annoying, depending on the day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit NYC but doesn't want to pay a fortune to stay there. As long as you don't mind the subway ride to/from the city, this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pan American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Address: 79-00 Queens Boulevard, Elmhurst, NY 11373
Location: United States > New York > Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pan American Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is temporarily closed for renovations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Elmhurst
Pan American Hotel New York
Hotel Pan American
Pan American New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan American Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.