We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan American Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pan American Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pan American Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79-00 Queens Boulevard, Elmhurst, NY 11373   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Elmhurst
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here from around the 25th Oct to early November for 10 nights and was quite pleased with the overall service. The shuttle from JFK was quite convenient. The front desk staff were a little blunt but always friendly and informative. The room was fine, it was a twin room w/ en-suite and cleaned everyday. No complaints there. Didn't like the pillows though, found them a little uncomfortable.

Ate in the restuarant 3-4 times over the 10 days and quality was always good, service was a tad slow. Getting to NYC was convenient with the Subway less than 10 mins away and Manhattan about 30 mins away depending on where you're going. I think its even quicker if you get one of the direct lines.

Hotel is about 10 mins walk from Queens shopping centre which has a Macy's as well as other shops so that was a big plus!

We did however experience Hurricane Sandy during our visit and that shut the Subway down for 3-4 days. This meant we had to walk to Manhattan from the hotel which is about 6 miles! Had to walk there twice and walk back once because as soon as the subway was fixed, the city ran out of gas for the cars and taxis! But if you like your walking (which I do) this should take you about 1.5 to 2.5 hours if you use the Queenboro bridge!

All in all I was happy with this hotel and would stay there again. Good quality for the price paid!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    344
    224
    81
    53
See reviews for
189
249
63
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night after returning from a grueling 24 hour trip. The ad offered shuttle service, which we needed. We checked in and were sent to room 410. It was worse than anything on the Bowery. The tub was filthy and chipped with a large dark strain in the ceiling above it. The sink was cracked. The tissue holder was rusted out on the top and bottom. The wallpaper was peeling in the main room and the drapes were filthy. In addition, we were told that the shuttle service was free from the airport but $10 per person to the airport. We called and complained and a manager came up. He left after we showed him the filth and then called and eliminated the $20 shuttle fee. No hotel or motel should ever have rooms like this. I was shocked that NY allows it. Please see the photos.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panamhotelmanagement, General Manager at Pan American Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Please accept our apologies for any unsatisfactory room conditions after your long plane plane ride back to the states. That particular room has been occupied virtually every day for the past 5 months and we regret that certain maintenance items were overlooked. Numerous families that have been displaced by the Hurricane Sandy devastation in nearby communities have been staying with us and these housing needs have contributed to our overall daily maintenance demands. As you will note, even from the past several reviews on this site, we maintain high ratings on cleanliness and housekeeping and our thousands of return customers confirm the high level of service. Also, for the past several years, with the spike in fuel costs, the hotel has instituted a Airport Return Fee. This charge is clearly noted on our website and every website or Online Travel site in which our hotel appears. In addition, as an FYI, the Bowery is one of the hottest hotel stay destinations downtown with numerous new boutique hotels that start at over $300 per night-if you can get a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here in March, 2012. They picked us up at JFK and made it easy for us. We took the tour of NYC from the lobby in the morning. Great tour. Statue of Liberty, Empire State Bldg, Times Sq., Ground Zero. Took the shuttle back to JFK having stayed 2 nights. Restaurant downstairs was fine. I would do this all again in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and the wife stayed here for four days on a trip to NYC. We found that pretty much all of the downtown hotels were too expensive and that parking was a real issue. We really didn't want to have to fork out the $30-$40 per night parking charge that was so common downtown.

We stumbled upon this hotel and saw that parking was free. We booked it and we were so happy we did.

No, this is not a five star Fairmont or Hyatt hotel but the staff was SUPER friendly. The bellhop helped us to our room and was so nice and kind. Probably the best service I have ever received from such a person.

Rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly, and yes, the parking was free. It definitely was worth it for us.

My only complaint was that it was a 20 minute train ride into the city so it is a bit out of the way. But the subway stop is so close, and after a full day of sightseeing, that 20 minutes on the train back to the hotel can be a bit relaxing, or a bit annoying, depending on the day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit NYC but doesn't want to pay a fortune to stay there. As long as you don't mind the subway ride to/from the city, this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Me and my friend visited this hotel in october. We had a great stay. The airport pick-up went very smooth and when we arrived to the hotel we received the keys to our room straight away. The room was very big and clean. We stayed on the 6th floor and our room had a view on Queens Boulevard. While some people complained about traffic noise we didn't experience this at all. The staff was very nice and helpful and gave us all the information we needed. The subway station Grand Avenue Newton was a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We had breakfast at the pop city grill everyday which is a great place. The hotel is situated in a very safe and neighbourhood, I never felt unsafe or scared not even when walking to the hotel at night.

In all, this hotel is a great stay and I wouldn't go anywhere else when I visit New York again in the future. We initially chose this hotel for its price when compared to hotels in Manhattan.so it wasn't our first choice but it will definately is now!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

With the hurricane putting many people in need of a room, PanAmerican was great! Debbie was especially helpful and very accommodating, as well as responsive amidst manning the phones alone last Saturday. My compliments to them for a job well done. Clean rooms and very dedicated staff. Thank You!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pulling off a wedding is no easy feat. Doing so in the midst of a hurricane is miraculous. In the immediate days following Hurricane Sandy, our initial hotel of choice in Long Island was out of power. With just over 24 hours to spare, Debbie at the Pan-American was able to reserve me a block of 14 rooms to accommodate all my out-of-town guests! What a lifesaver! And to top it off, Gus, the Manager at the in-hotel restaurant, The Duke, accommodated my rehearsal dinner for 25 people with less than 24 hours notice! The hotel is conveniently located to all airports and was very clean! I highly recommend this jewel on Queens Blvd! Thank you, Pan-American for allowing my wedding to happen without a hitch! Love you guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pan American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan American Hotel

Address: 79-00 Queens Boulevard, Elmhurst, NY 11373
Location: United States > New York > Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pan American Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is temporarily closed for renovations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Pan American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan American Elmhurst
Pan American Hotel New York
Hotel Pan American
Pan American New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan American Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.