We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Holiday Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Holiday Valley to your Saves list
Inn at Holiday Valley
6081 Route 219 South, Ellicottville, NY 14731   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I've stayed at the Inn many times over the years and my experiences have all been great. The ski-in/ski-out here is great, as the sunrise chairlift is literally 30 yards from the front entrance of the Inn. The rooms are nice and cozy and are always clean. The indoor/outdoor pool is open year round and a great feature for kids. There's also a large outdoor hot tub which is awesome after a day of ripping up the slopes. There's also a dry sauna inside. The staff here have always been nothing but friendly and polite. There's a great restaurant in the Tamarack Club (John Harvard's) which has really good food and overlooks the base of the resort. Even though Cadillac Jack's restaurant is directly across the street STAY AWAY from this place! The food and service are both horrible! I understand this isn't a review of their restaurant, but due to the fact it's one of the only restaurants within walking distance of the Inn, a lot of people that stay at the Inn decide to try this place out. All the other pubs in town are great (Madigan's, Gin Mill, Balloons, etc.), but stay away from Cadillac Jacks. If you're looking for a fine dining spot, the Silver Fox downtown is your best bet. I've also seen people comment about the lack of shuttle services? Not sure why, there's shuttle's running all day and night at Holiday Valley. It will take you downtown, to any of the base ski chalet's (Yodeler, Main, Tannenbaum, etc), Holiday Valley Tube Park, Wildflower, Snowpine and many others that I'm forgetting. The shuttle's are one of the best aspects of staying at Holiday Valley, as you never have to drive anywhere. I've been coming here for many years and Holiday Valley (in general) is one of my favorite places. The Inn is top notch for value in Ellicottville and it's right at the base of the resort, so the location is tough to beat. Great place to stay for couples, friends or families.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    70
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
74
33
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our room was clean, but a bit dated. The front desk was accomodating and the complementary breakfast was fine. I'm not big into cabs, but I would have paid for a shuttle to downtown if it was available form the Inn as the town police write sham parking tickets aggressively, despite efforts to park conscientiously. Someone from the Inn should have a talk with the Mayor as this ticket targeting of out of towners could chase business away from the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Suite was nice, but for the amount of time we spent in it, it wasn't worth the ticket price. Especially since you can't check in early (we didn't even get to our room until well after 5 pm and we checked out the following morning). They said they would call if the room was ready early, but we checked at 3 pm and it wasn't.

Pool was little and didn't look very clean.

Breakfast was fine, the ski in/out is convenient.

Next time I would stay at Tamarac. It's more centrally located on the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times ( only mid week so can't speak about resort when very busy on weekends). Staff is always friendly and the package prices are really good ( kids ski free, etc). The ski in/out feature is awesome. I can't wait to go back again next year. Great outdoor pool/spa area ( yes we went swimming when it was -5 degrees- my florida children loved it!). During the week the resort was not busy at all and you can get a tremendous amount of tubing/skiing in. Great family resort for the price. Included breakfast more than adequate.

Room Tip: First floor room w/ ski in/out is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

After a long time to get to this place, I proceeded to check in. The first keys they gave us did not work. I had to go back and wait in line to get new keys. They said something was wrong with the system and the cards wouldn't work for 5 minutes. I complained because it was cold and my family was outside, so they said they would send maintenance right away to check it. We waited, my family freezing outside, the cards didn't work and maintenance never came. I go back in to see 4 employees including maintenance just talking to each other. Nice way to welcome your guests!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend of skiing last weekend. It was right at the bottom of one of the lifts, so it was very easy to put on your gear and make your way to the lift and the whole mountain of skiing! Buying the lift tickets at the hotel desk was a good savings as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Lovely clean room, Chair lift very close to our room. Great indoor/out door all season pool and hot tub. But...the best...On out mid week getaway we pretty much had the hills to ourselves. There was NEVER a wait at the chair lifts. Perfect.

Room Tip: Want to pop to the EVL brewhouse for a few? a cab will cost you $20 each way. Just walk the 1.6km
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Holiday Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Holiday Valley

Address: 6081 Route 219 South, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 50 miles south of Buffalo NY the Inn at Holiday Valley is located in the middle of Holiday Valley's Double Black Diamond Championship Golf Course, and at the base of the Sunrise Chairlift offering ski in ski out access. Complimentary Winter Shuttle Service to Base Lodges available. Walking distance to the great shops and restaurants of the village of Ellicottville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Holiday Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Holiday Valley Hotel Ellicottville
Hotel At Holiday Valley
Inn Holiday Valley
Holiday Valley Ellicottville
At Holiday Valley Ellicottville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Holiday Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.