We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tamarack Club to your Saves list
Tamarack Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Holiday Valley Road, Ellicottville, NY 14731   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“another great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

stay at the tamarack! i think this may be our seventh or eighth trip since last xmas...it is so clean and convenient! and ashley at the reservations is absolutely fab!

we always stay in a one bedroom slopeside room. the views are amazing!

dd does ski school and just loves it! they do a great job. we find the tamarack a great place to spend the wknd! it is convenient and clean.

we do not hesitate to book here. and look forward to our next visit.

the staff is friendyl and helpful , the service is great! the starbucks in the AM is a nice added extra...

dd loves the indoor/outdoor pool! what a great way for kids to end the day! cant beat it...

room service is quick also.

Room Tip: slope side cannot be beat~
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
31
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I didn't go here to ski so I can't review those facilities. I was there for a conference, so I'm just reviewing the accommodations.

Nice, large, clean room with full kitchen.
Big bathroom, very clean.
Good flat screen television with fairly good channel selection
Lighting was just okay; not great in either the living area or the kitchen

Parents: BEWARE. If you get a room with a gas fireplace, the glass in front of the fireplace gets EXTREMELY hot. Keep kids away from it. It's a hazard just waiting to injure someone, take my word for it.

Comfortable bed, average linens and towels.

Staff gets about a C- as far as I'm concerned. You either get friendly, helpful staff, or people who seem to just be there for the paycheck .

Here's another extremely weird thing: Their check out time is 10 a.m. Yes, I said, 10 a.m. Never stayed anywhere that had a checkout that early. And they are pretty darned inflexible about a late checkout.

Their convenience store is woefully inadequate. If you are staying for more than one quick night, hit up a store before you get there. They are also a Pepsi property....if you're a Diet Coke freak, you're plumb out of luck without a quick trip to the store.

There is a spa on site, but I wasn't able to use it. Lots of kids if you're there over a holiday weekend, so be prepared for that.

Overall, it's okay. Not great, but not bad.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the slopes are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed three nights Jan 1 to 4 in a spacious slope side one bedroom condo - fully furnished including all the kitchen stuff you'll need for short stay - there was no problem with bed comfort as is alluded elsewhere - the place is clean and well organized for skiiers especially if your condo is on the ground floor (3rd floor they call it).

There is underground parking where we left our car the entire time - and the the ski check is right adjacent with easy access to slopes or garage.

A very short walk from the ski check takes you to the lifts - it is virtually ski in-out. You don't need the car after you've parked it .

The restaurant in the hotel serves road house style food that was quite satisfying.also providing good take out so you don't have to cook if you so chose.

You can make your own meals if you're in one of the condos , we had breaky and lunch in our room and take out for dinner.

The pool was well heated and clean.

The ski slopes were in excellent shape during our visit helped along with flurries every day and a good dump one day . We are recreational skiiers and the challenge was just fine for our family - plenty of bumpless green cruisers and some blues to test our mettle...I no longer try the black diamond slopes, but they look steep and bumpy if you wish to give 'em a go.

A couple of minor irritants easliy avoided ;
1- book early to avoid changing rooms as that consummes a lot of time and introduces stress

2- check in is 4PM -- don't expect to get in early at busy times - you can arrive early and ski before you check in but remember to pack your ski stuff easily accessible as you will probably not get your room earlier than 4ish and you'll be changing the car or the swimming pool change rooms .

An irritant not easily avoided is the incessant snow making and accompanying jet engine sounds .... we understand why in this climate so we just grin and bear it.

There's a good food store in town-- TOPS ---they have everything you need including beer . A liquor store down the street fills in with wine and liquors.

This place is a short 3 hour drive from Toronto. We would go back to this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The beds were absolutely horrible. The room looked disheveled as we walked in. The sheets and bedding was of very very low quality. I had higher expectations for a room that was 300$ a night. Couldn't wait to get home and get an actual good nights rest.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Tamarack Club for 3 nights over winter vacation. My husband, two children and I rented a 3 bedroom apartment, which was spacious and very nice. The proximity to Holiday Valley's ski slopes could not be beat, and the service was good. If traveling to Holiday Valley for a ski vacation this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived at the Tamarack and did not like to the room we were in because it was on the ground level and was lacking privacy. I asked to get another room and was moved immediately. The room was amazing and was so welcoming. The only complaint is that house keeping only came twice in a four day period. Would gave been nice to come back to our room and have the place spruced up. Also the restaurant in the hotel was not so good. Other than that the place was clean and inviting.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms are great for a great view!!! The valley side is just as good as the slope side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have always loved coming here in the winter for a skiing adventure, beautiful evergreen runs throughout. The village of Ellicottville is an enchanting little town, something right out of a storybook novel. This year we decided to drive through the Appalachian mountains in Autunm to see the fall colors, and we loved it. The Tamarack Club is a 1st class hotel + condominium with lovely grounds and a beauiful terrace with 2 hot tubs and a indoor - swim to outdoor pool. We really enjoyed ourselves and the town of Ellicotville.

Room Tip: We had one of the single rooms facing the ski hills - very quiet and a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Club

Address: Holiday Valley Road, Ellicottville, NY 14731
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellicottville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Club 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Tamarack Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Club At Holiday Valley Hotel Ellicottville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.