We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOLD! Will not look any further next time we come!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Pine Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicottville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Pine Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sugar Pine Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
6158 Jefferson Street ( Rt. 219 ), Ellicottville, NY 14731   |  
Hotel amenities
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SOLD! Will not look any further next time we come!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to stay overnight while skiing in Ellicottville and randomly picked this B&B. We had never been to Ellicottville overnight and never stayed at a B&B either. We were greeted as soon as we pulled in by the owner and he showed us our room. The room was so beautiful and cozy! The beds were sooooooo comfortable. The fireplace and warm colors of the room made us feel like we were in our own little world. The breakfast was outstanding and the chef Scott made us feel so welcome. I felt like a long time friend at their table. It was also nice that we were given the option to stay one night while many other places there require the two night stay. This made a difference in our decision, but now we are sold based on the experience. We will definitely be back with the family next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hosts ( art even brushed the snow off my car), excellent food ( Scott was very professional, best coffee I've ever had),
Great rooms ( very warm and cozy, very comfortable bed).
We hope to go back again someday.
Don't eat at the casino. Stay in ellicottville.
Colin and Kim

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conestogo
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a magical stay at Sugar Pine Lodge. Arriving after an 18 inch snowfall, the location, mid-way between the ski slopes and the village, meant that we could park the car and not worry about driving. The accomodation was excellent,with all the amenties we needed to allow us complete relaxation. We looked forward to breakfast each morning - fabulous food and great conversations. And new years eve was made special with the torchlight parade and fireworks at Holliday Valley!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Art and Marilynn Chubb have literally anticipated one's every need in configuring this attractive and comfortable inn. Our one night stay was far too short but we managed to enjoy all aspects of our suite, from the jacuzzi bath to the terry cloth robes. Chef Scott Stevens' surprise
hors d'oeuvre platter was full of tasty fruits, cheeses, meats, even carmelized onions. His sumptuous breakfast again was a delight to the eye and the palate.
For a welcoming and cozy get-a-way you can't go wrong in selecting the Sugar Pine Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Sugar Pine. We celebrated our birthdays which happen to be a day apart. Arrived Sat., 11/10/12, and were able to check in early because of the Ellicottville Beer and Wine Festival. I pre-ordered an appetizer platter from Chef Scott Stevens so we would have some munchies before the event started. Very nice selection of cheeses, crackers, pepperoni, sausage, fruits and marinated artichokes and peppers. I would highly recommend to anyone. We walked to and from the festival, headed downtown to Dina's for a bite to eat and back to the Sugar Pine. Room decor is so lovely and the bed is so comfy. We joined 5 other couples for a wonderful breakfast which included a frittata with sausage, peppers and mushrooms, apple crisp, fruit cup, juices, coffees, cereal and breads. Enjoyed stories from everyone and especially Chef Scott's retelling of how he skipped school as a younger boy so he could stay home and cook! Sugar Pine is a lovely retreat where you can feel relaxed and refreshed. It sure was a birthday weekend worth remembering for both of us and we will definite visit there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Arthur Wendell and it is beautiful! Our favorite room is the Bordello but you must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alden, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were here October 19-21st for our 55th birthdays weekend. The Arthur Wendell suite was our third choice, frankly, but was fairly lovely! We opted out of breakfast on Saturday, as my husband prefers to sleep in. We did partake on Sunday, with friendly fellow guests and Remi, the house dog, greeting us all! I thought herbed pork loin and cheesy grits a bit odd for 9 am but the food and company were lovely.
Our room had a tiny balcony, which we squeezed out on, on Friday night. The main room has a warm fireplace: cozy!
This was our first stay at a B&B; while my husband eschews having to eat at a precise time (they pipe music into the hallway at breakfast time-it was not audible in the bedroom), one can opt out. The window near the wet bar had a great view of the ski slopes, and each window has an electric candle light that comes on at dusk. All in all, this was a lovely, relaxing stay! You can tell Art, Marilynn, Chef Scott and Remi love it here!

Room Tip: All suites appeared to be equally lovely- we peeked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I needed a little break from the everyday & this is just what the doctor ordered! Beautiful bed & breakfast with a very romantic room, welcoming hosts & a delicious breakfast. A bit of a walk from town (about 10 minutes), but a lovely, safe walk - just what we needed to work off the calories we found in town :) Highly recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Pine Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Pine Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6158 Jefferson Street ( Rt. 219 ), Ellicottville, NY 14731
Location: United States > New York > Ellicottville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicottville
Also Known As:
Sugar Pine Hotel Ellicottville
Sugar Pine Lodge b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Pine Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.