We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Honor's Haven Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Honor's Haven Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
1195 Arrowhead Rd, Ellenville, NY 12428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
NYC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I just spent a weekend at Honor's Haven. When we checked in to the room, it looked lovely...large, lovely view...but looks can be deceiving! The bathroom sink backed up in the middle of the night. The most awful-looking and smelling sludge and debris was coming out of the sink.

When the maintenance worker came with a plunger at 2 a.m., he was so grossed out that he wouldn't plunge with force because the black slime was splashing around. My husband had to do it for him, and he ended up splashed with this disgusting liquid. In the morning we spoke to the front desk and they sent someone up to fix it. They came back and reported that there was nothing wrong with the sink now. Back in the room, we found the sink was still not draining properly--and the maintenance man left residual dirt and debris in the sink!

When I opened the coffee pot, I found several used, damp and moldy coffee filter packs in the tank...another experience which was gross beyond words. The sheets and duvet cover were scratchy, and the pillows were not great; the towels were well-worn and not soft.

We spoke with the manager on duty and requested that the room charge to be waived. Much to our surprise, he said "the best I can do is reduce it by 25%." When pressed, he said he would reduce the bill by 50%. Totally unacceptable in my opinion. This is a board of health issue as far as I am concerned, and I would never go back to Honor's Haven. It is unfortunate, because the grounds are beautifully situated in a fun area. This is a very strange resort, and it leaves much to be desired!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to communicate your frustrations with us. Our goal is to provide each of our guests with an exceptional stay and I can assure you that your recent experience was inconsistent with our standard of service.

We feel terrible that you and your husband had to endure the plumbing issue described in your review. While these occurrences are few and far between, we do on occasion encounter plumbing issues as does any historic building. It is, however, standard practice for our Front Desk to provide our guests with alternate accommodations in the event of such an episode. Because they did not, we have personally spoken with the Front Desk Manager; stressing the need for him to reiterate the Hotel’s procedures with his staff.

We feel equally terrible that our maintenance staff did not demonstrate the appropriate protocol or concern for you and your husband. As such we have also spoken with all members of our maintenance staff so as to avoid similar situations moving forward.

With regards to your in-room coffee maker, this is completely unacceptable. We take the health and happiness of each of our guests very seriously. Consequently, we have requested that our Head of Housekeeping conduct a thorough check of all in-room coffee makers immediately.

We thank you for your candid feedback and for bringing these particular items of concern to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    76
    34
    38
    46
See reviews for
55
81
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My church had our annual summer retreat at Honor's Haven. Having been there a couple of years ago, we were highly anticipating this trip especially after we learned of a "multi-million dollar" renovation. Upon arrival, it seemed as if nothing had changed. The rooms smelled musty and moldy, the walls were so thin that I could hear the toilet flush from the next room and any movement in the hallways could be felt inside the room. On our last night there, there was a party in the basement that seemed to last all night. The music was so loud that we could hear it from the west wing. After repeated requests to the front desk to put an end to the noise, finally we gave up and tried to sleep. Also, the front desk did not have a first aid kit available. One of our children fell on a pallet left out and a rusty nail pierced through his skin. When we asked for medical supplies, we were given a box of band-aids. A large resort should have medical staff and supplies even on the weekends. It was lucky that the injury wasn't any more serious.

I will be recommending that our group no longer hold our annual retreat weekend at this facility. For the amount of money we paid, I expected more, at the bare minimum, a clean room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. What you heard was correct we have undergone extensive renovations, but we are a product of a very large historic property that was built back in the 50’s. A lot of the issues you raise are structural and inherited to us. We are constantly doing everything in our power to make improvements and updates to this beautiful historic property and the service we provide to our guests. In regards to the medical staff and supplies, although not required as we are not a large facility, we do have 24 hour security on premises and they are all certified in basic first aid and CPR, and we have a standard first aid kit for our guests. For any large medical emergencies there is a hospital 2 miles from the resort and local EMT’s who when called, arrive at the hotel within 10 minutes.We hope that you will reconsider and come back in the future and give us another chance to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The former "Fallsview" has been renovated and turned into a more upscale, beautifully appointed hotel. Most beautiful than the inside is the scenery. With the Shawangunk mountains in the background, there is a sizeable lake, gardens and fountains. The grounds are peaceful and lush. While the food is nothing special, there is a spa and a big emphasis on recreational activities. We took a nature walk to a small water falls on the grounds, and had a surprise encounter with a friendly and knowledgeable guide, who gave us an appreciation of the birds and animals in the area. My family and Iwere there during the week. No evening entertainmment was offered that night...unlike the Catskill mountains of days long ago. Perhaps the weekends still have some kind of entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains, though facing the hotel's front is good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We are honored to have been afforded the opportunity to have you as our guest and thank you for sharing your review. We were delighted to hear that you found both our facilities and our setting pleasing and that you had the chance to explore our grounds with our resident naturalist; he is extremely knowledgeable, as you mentioned, with regards to the indigenous flora and fauna.

You are correct about the nightly entertainment; the Resort does offer more entertainment opportunities during the weekends that include DJ dance parties and karaoke in the Zephyr Lounge.

We thank you for staying with us and hope that you have the opportunity to visit us for a weekend getaway in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My friends and I were at this resort for my bachelorette. We were looking to relax and enjoy ourselves with some spa treatments.

First the good:
The grounds of this resort are lovely; obviously well taken care of and the security guard at the entrance of the resort makes it feel as though it is quite exclusive. The lobby is beautiful and spacious, probably recently renovated.

Now the "needs improvement":
My matron of honor called the hotel on July 27th to confirm our spa appointments, and the women informed her that they didn't have their August schedule available yet. We were arriving on August 4th.

When we arrived at the women's spa, we put on the terry cloth robes provided to us - only to find that they were beyond well-used. Mine had a hole in the side, a stain on the back, and a tattered belt. The room the hot tubs were in was not well-lit; the hot tubs themselves were filled with luke-warm water and the jets didn't work properly. We informed the women at the front desk of the spa, and she told us that maintenance would come but we never saw anyone.

Our rooms were expensive - $400 a piece. They consisted of two double beds, a tv, a bathroom and a sink outside of the bathroom, a microwave and a minature college-sized refridgerator. The sheets and mattresses were uncomfortable and scratchy. There was nothing I could see to make this price worthwhile. I will give the front desk credit for the fact that they gave us two rooms next to each other with conjoining doors, but other than that the rooms were a let-down. When we left the next morning, the ceiling over the toilet was pouring out water, presumably from the bathroom on the floor above us.

The other reviewers are correct - there are strange disgusting smells in different areas of the hotel and the elevators. This may be from the carpets or walls or different rooms, I'm really not sure.

I ended up having a wonderful bachelorette because of the company I was with, but I think we were all a bit dissapointed with the hotel and spa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing Honor’s Haven Resort & Spa for your special occasion. We strive to provide each of our guests with an exceptional experience and do our best to implement change where needed. In response to your concerns about our spa, the Resort’s aestheticians and massage therapists are outside contractors. As such we sometimes encounter a minor delay in receiving everyone’s availability. This delay however has never interfered with our guests receiving the requested services.

With regards to the condition of the robes provided, this is completely unacceptable. We have requested that our Spa Manager conduct a thorough inventory check and discard any items that are no longer suitable for use. We sincerely apologize for this unfortunate occurrence.

The management is aware of an odor problem in the elevator and is doing its best to locate the source and subsequently rectify this problem. In addition, we regret that you and your guests encountered a plumbing issue in one of your rooms. While it is not a common occurrence, our guests sometimes dispose of items via the toilet that are ill-adapted for older plumbing lines; causing an overflow situation. We are sorry that you encountered one of these rare episodes.

With respect to our pricing, the Resort does offer several different room types and packages so as to provide everyone, regardless of budget, with a comfortable and affordable stay.

Thank you again for choosing Honor’s Haven Resort & Spa for your special occasion. We are glad that you had a wonderful bachelorette getaway despite a few minor incidents. We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer and wish to congratulate you on your upcoming nuptials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was so looking forward to going to the outdoor pool.and relaxing but it was closed the entire time I was there. Disgusting algae and garbage in pool. Front desk had no idea and gave directions how to get there and told me what time the pool closed. Indoor pool closed for a private class in the afternoons, so the rest of the guests were out of luck. Indoor pool lacked simple things like a bin to put used towels and a garbage pail. As a result, wet towels were left around and so was garbage. Poor communicattion with front desk. They never new if the outdoor pool was reopened. Carpets stained and worn. Various areas of the hotel had bad smells. Bus loads of kids running around the halls screaming.....not relaxing by any means.. I read there was a shuttle bus to the casino but always got the run around about when and if it would go. Ended up driving there. Front desk staff were pleasant about giving directions and the grounds were beautiful. If this is the #1 hotel in Ellenville, I would hate to see what the #2 hotel was like!

Room Tip: Don't go there expectiving a relaxing spa atmosphere. Rooms near a staircase very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
The management at Honor’s Haven Resort & Spa was extremely troubled to hear about the lack of communication that transpired between our Front Desk and Outdoor Maintenance staff; leaving our guests unaware that the outdoor pool was in the process of being treated for an “algae bloom”- a common condition caused by the violent storms experienced earlier in the week. Even though this unforeseen incident was dealt with expeditiously, a sign should have been posted at the outdoor pool advising our guests of the situation. We apologize that this step was neglected.

Your suggestions regarding the indoor pool have been noted and will be addressed at our next operations meeting. We thank you for these ideas.

With respect to the shuttle and its schedule, we have been working diligently to implement a procedure. We are hoping to have this situation rectified shortly.

We thank you for your feedback and hope that your recent experience does not discourage you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen cove, new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

mildewed dirty carpeting. spots on carpet in room. the outdoor pool was filled with slime
and unuseable. intead of being a quiet spa resort it is indeed a camp for kids by the
busload. every night, because there are no parents, the kids go wild and yell and scream
and misbehave in the hallways preventing you from sleeping, the so called security
never showed up after 45 minutes. the staff at the desk was accommodating in giving
directions to get to different places in the area. the offer from security that they would
patrol the hall and would be there just call, never happened.

Room Tip: too much of a walk from the parking lot into and through the buildings. not enough CONVENIENT parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. While the Hotel hosts many different camps and groups throughout the year, I can assure you that all of our underage guests remain under the direct supervision of their camp/group for the duration of their stay and are required to adhere to set curfews as directed by their group leader. As with all historic buildings the thickness of walls and their ability to muffle sounds can sometimes be a challenge. We request that all of our guests demonstrate courteous conduct during their stay and our security officers do their best to ensure a pleasant experience for everyone, devoid of intrusive noises.

We apologize that you were unable to utilize the outdoor pool during your stay. Unfortunately, the pool was being treated for an “algae bloom”; a common condition caused by the violent storms experienced earlier in the week. This situation, which was completely unexpected, was handled most expeditiously by our Outdoor Maintenance Department, ensuring the least amount of inconvenience for our guests.

With regards to the condition of the Hotel’s carpeting, the hotel has undergone extensive renovations over the last four years and our staff is consistently commended for their level of service with respect to the cleanliness of the resort. All areas of the Hotel are periodically checked for cosmetic maintenance issues by our renovations team and we thank you for bringing this particular item of concern to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Loved every minute i was here. We didnt have a reservation, arrived late with 2 little ones. Chris at the front desk was an angel. She found a great room. It was a little expensive, but it wall worth it. The room was clean and very comfortable. We loved the room and the hotel it self. My only complaint, is that we couldnt stay longer. The mountain and lake view were to die for!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We were happy to hear that you found your accommodations pleasing and the surrounding landscape “to die for”. We are fortunate to be located amid some of Upstate New York’s most stunning vistas and hope that you have the opportunity to visit us for a more extended period of time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honor's Haven Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor's Haven Resort & Spa

Address: 1195 Arrowhead Rd, Ellenville, NY 12428
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Ellenville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the natural beauty that is Honor’s Haven Resort & Spa. Situated at the foothills of the Shawangunk Mountain Range, Honor’s Haven provides an ideal blend of modern touches with the completion of our multi-million dollar renovation process and breathtaking views of rolling landscapes. It’s all waiting for you… just 90 minutes from NYC & Albany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Honor's Haven Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor`s Haven Resort And Spa
Honor`s Haven Hotel Ellenville
Honors Haven Hotel
Honors Haven Ellenville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.