We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible interior decoration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
8219 River Street, PO Box 385, Elizabethtown, NY 12932   |  
Hotel amenities
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible interior decoration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Stayed here with my friends. The hosts were incredibly nice and the house is perfect for a quiet and relaxing trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Our hosts Kris & Jim were meticulous in their efforts to provide a pleasant experience. Their home was "comfy" with room galore. Bon Appetit couldn't have planned and served a tastier breakfast. Worked well as a central hub for our hikes and the Lake Placid area. With 35+ years B&B experience, we rate this one of the best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I only stayed at the Woodruff house for one night (after 2 days of intense hiking in the Adirondacks) but the experience was just so pleasant that we wished to have stayed longer...Kristen and Jim are wonderful hosts who really did everything to make us feel comfortable and welcome. The breakfast was as delicious as the house was charming - bringing you back in time with plenty of historical items throughout the property. We'll definitely pay another visit next time we head to the Adirondacks! Simply awesome people (and cats!), big comfy rooms, a superb breakfast and a bit of 19th century history (all for a quite reasonable price)....what more can two tired hikers ask for?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

If I have a choice between a B&B and hotel, the B&B will win every time. The Woodruff House is the BEST B&B I have ever stayed at, hands down! When your daughter asks if she can go downstairs and hug the owners for the teddy bear and chocolates left on her special bed you know you have a winner. Kristen and Jim make you feel at home, serve the most amazing spread of homebaked goods for breakfast and have beautifully restored their gorgeous antique home. I am looking forward to next year, which of course, I have already booked!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We loved this Bed and Breakfast in the beautiful Adirondacks. Jim and Kristen Hardman received us into their home as if we were family. They are very gracious, the house is awesome, decorated with the most beautiful antique furniture (you could see that it was furnished by a real professional!) and the breakfast was to die for. We would like to go back again and can strongly recommend the Woodruff House as a must on your visit to the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Great spot. Wonderful hosts. The breakfast was magnificent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B+B to anyone in search of unique and generous accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Woodruff House is delightful and Kristen and Jim Hardman make it just like home...if your home was a thoughtfully decorated historic house in the middle of bucolic Elizabethtown, NY. Our son stayed in the cupola - had a quiet space all to himself. The porch is a wonderful spot for reading, enjoying a drink before dinner, and for admiring the house cats. Breakfast is a wonder to behold - Kristen outdoes herself with choices and fresh food! Even our teenager had to back away from the table without finishing everything. The house is spotless and roomy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8219 River Street, PO Box 385, Elizabethtown, NY 12932
Location: United States > New York > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance in a neat old home shared with three fat, friendly cats on the Boquet River. Wi-Fi, gourmet country breakfast and beverages 'round the campfire' are included. Why not live it up a little? And plan to stay awhile; if you're like our other guests, once you're here you won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.