We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B <3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast

A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast
57 South Bay Avenue, Eastport, NY 11941   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Eastport B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing B&B <3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first time stay at a B&B and we were so happy once we left. From walking in the door to the tour we felt right at home at Rosemary's. We were so comfortable in our room along with our semi-private balcony that faced the marina. The view was so nice. The room was very clean. I don't know what the other reviews are referring to as we had no problems in this place. They were so accommodating to us. Rosemary and her son helped us to find local restaurants as well as stores for basic needs with really great directions.

Breakfast was very good. We didn't know what to expect as it was our first time but we fell in love with the idea of a B&B. The first morning we had an egg bake dish served with potatoes that were so good. The second breakfast was even better. We had raisin bread french toast. They even made extra when my boyfriend wanted more. They were so happy to cook extra with the word no not being an option. We also were given this amazing apple dish on the side.

We will definitely be back during the "in season". It rained the first two days of our stay. But the air jet bath completed the trip. It was amazing for a relaxing night. We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    3
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located steps away from the bay, the Victorian on the Bay has a charm all of it's own, in addition to that of Rosemary, the B&B's Proprietor. Regretfully our stay was not actually "in-season" because after a stroll around the grounds, we saw the private pool, jacuzzi, oversized rear porch with barbeque grill and tables; not to mention the expansive and well maintained property, a tease, because it was just a bit too cold outside for us to enjoy. I'd liken this B&B to a room at a relatives mansion in the Hamptons, without being disturbed. Peace and tranquility best describe this cozy paradise. The fireplace in our room added that extra charm which, in such an expansive room made everything so much more perfect! If there was anything lacking, it would be a refridgerator in either the common area or room for the guests. Rosemary provided us with a bucket of ice to keep our bubbly at just the right temperature to enjoy. Our breakfast was so delicious, along with the bottomless cup of coffee, that I actually emailed Rosemary for the recipe. We plan on revisiting this delightful paradise again, "in-season", so that we can enjoy so much this B&B has to offer. Rosemary also provided us with a list of (top of the line) restaurants, wineries and interesting places to visit within the area - which are all certainly worth checking out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was torn about offering this review. On the one hand, Rosemary is a gracious hostess and wealth of information about fun activities. Her inn is most certainly an impressive piece of real estate and perfectly located. There are beautiful views of the bay and even the massive retreats on Dune Road, it’s a short walk to Trumpets restaurant across the street, and a central jumping off point for day trips to the South Fork: Hamptons, Montauk, Sag Harbor; North Fork: vineyards, Greenport, Orient Point, as well as the Tanger Outlets in Riverhead. But this was not the oh-wow getaway we had hoped for. The inn is welcoming and was expertly designed to give guests and the owner their separate spaces but is in need of a little TLC. In addition to repairing the ceiling in spots, the Bayview room could use a fresh coat of paint and a power cleaning. When you’re paying $370 a night, the room should be spotless… right down to the hand soap dispenser and ONE electrical outlet in the bathroom. That the outlet was not functional and we had to use an extension cord was disconcerting. We have expert electricians in our family, so I know it can be corrected…at what cost is probably the issue? Besides making up the beds, the summer interns should freshen the bathrooms and be “swifting” those floors every day. For aesthetics alone the lotion dispenser in the whirlpool tub should be replaced, never mind functionality. I know it’s impossible to find parts for these old units – we had one. Also must mention here that the whirlpool tub, although beautiful, is not user friendly for anyone who cannot swing their leg high into the tub. A nice touch would be to provide upscale toiletries (and toilet paper?). Not being a fan of liquid soap, I bought some Evelyn and Crabtree bar soaps for the rest of our stay, as well as a new pillow because the ones provided just smelled funky. Mind you, many of these things did not bother my husband? But we did agree that the linens and towels were inferior quality, something offered in a motel, not what you would expect at a pricey B&B. Another suggestion would be a larger dresser or armoire so the mini frig wouldn’t sit on the floor and be so inconvenient to use. Replacing that old TV with a new flat screen would be a check in the plus column as well. Beyond our room, we felt that the pool should be vacuumed, the decks swept, and patio furniture replaced, cleaned, or painted. More projects for those summer interns! As that back entrance is the one most often used by guests, the runners protecting the sitting room carpeting should be cleaned or replaced regularly. Not to be nitpicky, but the mauve carpet is a bit worn and outdated. Breakfast fare was nice, simple but not Martha Stewart type creations. However, waiting until 9:00 a.m. for coffee might be a concern for those needing an earlier kick start. So, we had a pleasant but not awesome stay. Sounds like you’d find that at the inn next door though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Rosemary is an unaccomodating Innkeeper. There is no coffee or tea before breakfast is served at 9 am and you cannot take any up to your spouse while they get ready for the day. The breakfasts are cheap! Raisin bread French toast, the bread was not bakery fresh but a loaf from the IGA, no meat, canned fruit, no real cream for coffee and one day the thickest, pastiest, tastelessbcrepes with cottage cheese folded in a square. If you are out late, all doors are locked and there is no key to the house! The decor is tacky. There is a plastic shower curtain as a curtain sheer for the sliding door, the walls are in serious need of cleaning or paint. Plaster tape is peeling. There is a Kleenex stuffed in a hole in the corner of the tub enclosure. The heat vent is in need of being screwed to the wall. The only outlet in the bathrooms for 2 rooms are connected and do not work. The robe hook has come off of the bathroom door and the holes remain. The room is supposed to be a rose garden and little birds are stuck in the wall hanging upside down. There are fake window boxes full of fake flowers below mirrors that are useless because they are too high and mostly obscured by fake floors. Rosemary does not get up before 7 am. It was warm out and the pool, only for the owner and relatives, was green with algae and only one group could sit on the deck at a time because the bar table had no glass on it. In conclusion, it was inhospitable, uncomfortable and unappetizing.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mepEastport, Owner at A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
It is a shame that people need to wait till they leave before expressing their thoughts. Breakfast is not cheap - and even if the bread was not made at a bakery it was not cheap. We often like to use challah bread but it is difficut to find in the season. Our fruit is never canned. The apples served were cut that morning and made into a delicious hot baked apple dish that generally gets great response. No we do not have meat - and any guest who is a vegetarian is quite happy abou that. Crepes are made with cottage cheese, pineapples and a delicious hot peach sauce. It is topped with cinnamon and a dallop of whip cream. Hardly tasteless. Yes they are square shape to make it easy to handle. It is called a Russian crepe. That's how they do it.
The window boxes are for decoration - there are plenty of mirros in the room. They were not intended to be for putting on make up or checking oneself before leaving for dinner.
The pool is not for just the owners. We tell the guests when they arrive the hours are 9- 8PM. The time when these guests arrived we had just opened the pool the week before and yes we were struggling with the algae as was everyone in our area. They never expressed an interest in the pool or we would have explained and they never expressed an interest in using the hot tub which was in perfect condition for use. There are decks with beautiful waterviews all around the house and if someone was on their shared deck they could have used any of the others.
Other things listed are just not true and are not even worth commenting on. But if they had asked about coffee the night before we would have given them their own coffee pot. We are not a 24 hour hotel service and there are usually just 2 of us working which can make it difficult to bring up coffee to a room duing the breakfast hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spent an enjoyable weekend on Long Island with girlfriends. The B & B was very comfortable and Rosemary and her staff were very friendly and accomodating. Visiting with friends is easier and more pleasant at a B & B than a hotel. Rosemary had wonderful recommendations for restaurants, wineries, and places to visit. The B & B has beautiful views of the water.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The weekend of August 12 to the 14 2011 we stayed at this property in Eastport, Long Island, NY. We were there to celebrate a family member's birthday and the party was in West Hampton which is only about 5 miles from here. The rooms are SPOTLESS and comfortable. The owner and her staff were very helpful and knowledgeable regarding places to dine and to visit in this area and the surrounding towns. Breakfast was delicious as well. I would recommend definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We live here on Long Island and received a gift certificate to this B&B. It was a great get-away and Rosemary was very helpful. The place was beautiful and upon our arival she was more than helpful in recommending places for dinner. She called the local restaurant "Trumpets" and we were able to take a nice walk and get a table on the outside deck right away. The next morning we met some interesting people and during our home made breakfast prepared by Rosemary, which was delicious. Bottom line, we would love to go back one day in the future and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice peaceful getaway. Thanks to my brother-in-law and future siter-in-law for the gift certificate!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 57 South Bay Avenue, Eastport, NY 11941
Location: United States > New York > Eastport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peninsula overlooking a bay. Built 1998 to be bed and breakfast. Featured on HGTV, Channel 12 news, many newspapers and magazines for uniqueness of property and rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list