We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality found wanting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast

A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
57 South Bay Avenue, Eastport, NY 11941   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Eastport B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hospitality found wanting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Rosemary is an unaccomodating Innkeeper. There is no coffee or tea before breakfast is served at 9 am and you cannot take any up to your spouse while they get ready for the day. The breakfasts are cheap! Raisin bread French toast, the bread was not bakery fresh but a loaf from the IGA, no meat, canned fruit, no real cream for coffee and one day the thickest, pastiest, tastelessbcrepes with cottage cheese folded in a square. If you are out late, all doors are locked and there is no key to the house! The decor is tacky. There is a plastic shower curtain as a curtain sheer for the sliding door, the walls are in serious need of cleaning or paint. Plaster tape is peeling. There is a Kleenex stuffed in a hole in the corner of the tub enclosure. The heat vent is in need of being screwed to the wall. The only outlet in the bathrooms for 2 rooms are connected and do not work. The robe hook has come off of the bathroom door and the holes remain. The room is supposed to be a rose garden and little birds are stuck in the wall hanging upside down. There are fake window boxes full of fake flowers below mirrors that are useless because they are too high and mostly obscured by fake floors. Rosemary does not get up before 7 am. It was warm out and the pool, only for the owner and relatives, was green with algae and only one group could sit on the deck at a time because the bar table had no glass on it. In conclusion, it was inhospitable, uncomfortable and unappetizing.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mepEastport, Owner at A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
It is a shame that people need to wait till they leave before expressing their thoughts. Breakfast is not cheap - and even if the bread was not made at a bakery it was not cheap. We often like to use challah bread but it is difficut to find in the season. Our fruit is never canned. The apples served were cut that morning and made into a delicious hot baked apple dish that generally gets great response. No we do not have meat - and any guest who is a vegetarian is quite happy abou that. Crepes are made with cottage cheese, pineapples and a delicious hot peach sauce. It is topped with cinnamon and a dallop of whip cream. Hardly tasteless. Yes they are square shape to make it easy to handle. It is called a Russian crepe. That's how they do it.
The window boxes are for decoration - there are plenty of mirros in the room. They were not intended to be for putting on make up or checking oneself before leaving for dinner.
The pool is not for just the owners. We tell the guests when they arrive the hours are 9- 8PM. The time when these guests arrived we had just opened the pool the week before and yes we were struggling with the algae as was everyone in our area. They never expressed an interest in the pool or we would have explained and they never expressed an interest in using the hot tub which was in perfect condition for use. There are decks with beautiful waterviews all around the house and if someone was on their shared deck they could have used any of the others.
Other things listed are just not true and are not even worth commenting on. But if they had asked about coffee the night before we would have given them their own coffee pot. We are not a 24 hour hotel service and there are usually just 2 of us working which can make it difficult to bring up coffee to a room duing the breakfast hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    3
    8
    3
See reviews for
2
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Spent an enjoyable weekend on Long Island with girlfriends. The B & B was very comfortable and Rosemary and her staff were very friendly and accomodating. Visiting with friends is easier and more pleasant at a B & B than a hotel. Rosemary had wonderful recommendations for restaurants, wineries, and places to visit. The B & B has beautiful views of the water.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The weekend of August 12 to the 14 2011 we stayed at this property in Eastport, Long Island, NY. We were there to celebrate a family member's birthday and the party was in West Hampton which is only about 5 miles from here. The rooms are SPOTLESS and comfortable. The owner and her staff were very helpful and knowledgeable regarding places to dine and to visit in this area and the surrounding towns. Breakfast was delicious as well. I would recommend definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We live here on Long Island and received a gift certificate to this B&B. It was a great get-away and Rosemary was very helpful. The place was beautiful and upon our arival she was more than helpful in recommending places for dinner. She called the local restaurant "Trumpets" and we were able to take a nice walk and get a table on the outside deck right away. The next morning we met some interesting people and during our home made breakfast prepared by Rosemary, which was delicious. Bottom line, we would love to go back one day in the future and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice peaceful getaway. Thanks to my brother-in-law and future siter-in-law for the gift certificate!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011 via mobile

A perfect weekend at a perfect B&B. Rosemary is incredible, the rooms are immaculate and the setting is spectacular! If you want relaxation, to be surrounded by beauty and feel like you are in a home away from home, look no further! You'll love the B&B as well as Rosemary.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011 via mobile

Amazing hospitality. Romantic rooms and delicious breakfast. So close to the city. Rosemary took great care of us.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Definitley not worth 300-400 dollars a night! For that amount of money, I would expect a room in pristine condition. The owner talks a good talk, but when you get there, you see that room needed to be painted, and the carpeting needs to be replaced because it looks worn and dirty. The shared patio that we had also shared our bathroom window so there was no sense of real privacy. The kitchen is completely closed off until breakfast, and there is no service station available to guests to even make a cup of tea at night or in the morning. We had to go to the deli down the street because we got up earlier than expected and our breakfast slot was hours away... The microwaved breakfast is served between 9 and 10 only. A late check out will cost you an extra 40.00 for an hour, and there is no extra bathroom available anywhere in the house for use by guests. The hot tub was closed up, and seemed to be unavailable. There is no sense of the house having a warm and inviting atmosphere. For those that just want a place to flop, this place will work. If you want a homey, warm and inviting place to stay, you will do probably do much better elsewhere and will pay much less! We will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mepEastport, Owner at A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
There is so much incorrect information contained within this review I do not know how to begin. The people who were in this room the night prior to this guest only raved about how it was so much better than the pictures online. They thanked us several times prior to leaving for giving them such a clean and delightful place to spend their honeymoon.
Our breakfast is cooked from scratch every morning and part of it might be warmed again in the microwave as a guest sits down -- especially if they come down after 9 AM. The hot tub is covered but certainly not closed. there are towels next to the the hot tub for guests to use. When the sun is shining there will always be guests lounging at the pool.
this is not a hotel and the only guest bathrooms are in their room. We do not have public restrooms. Also since this is not a hotel and only a small b&b there is not kitchen for the guests. We do not have the staff or space to provide 24 hour tea/coffee service. However whenever a guest asks if they can have coffee early, we provide them with a coffee pot in their room along with creamers and sweeteners.
While there is a window overlooking this deck, each guest can close their window and draw a shade for privacy. The room could use a couple of spots to retouch painting from luggage hitting the walls - but hardly needs a full painting. And any stains on the carpet are removed on a daily basis as guest check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 57 South Bay Avenue, Eastport, NY 11941
Location: United States > New York > Eastport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peninsula overlooking a bay. Built 1998 to be bed and breakfast. Featured on HGTV, Channel 12 news, many newspapers and magazines for uniqueness of property and rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.