We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6555 Old Collamer Rd. S., East Syracuse, NY 13057   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in East Syracuse
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The main areas of the hotel are dated, but the rooms have been updated, comfy beds and lcd tvs are great...also love that mini fridge is in everyroom. Staff were pleasant. The pool was very cold, but the hot tub is quite nice!! The pool area was busy and they need to have more towels available for the pool users...The free breakfast buffet was typical and nothing special. There was a huge line up and not a lot of food - hard for the staff to keep up....Overall it was a clean place to lay our heads, at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Best Western Plus regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that the staff made you feel welcome and that overall you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer.
I do hope we get to see you during future visits to Syracuse. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    97
    65
    50
    33
See reviews for
136
53
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the third year we have stayed at this property for our annual visit to the state fair. We enjoy this hotel because of its proximity to carrier circle, the free breakfast, and the pool. I have to say, though, that this year was the worst stay we have had. The staff were very courteous when we checked in. We were given a room on the bottom floor near the side entrance. Upon entering, we found several long, dark hairs on the white bedding and towels. The bed in this particular room was also very low to the ground, as if the mattress was very old and beaten down. The staff were very courteous and abliged whence requested a different room.

The second room was not too much better. The bed was decent and appeared clean, but the room smelled of mildew and the air conditioner worked very poorly, even when turned up to its highest setting. I like the room cool, but it did not go below 72 degrees during our entire stay. The bathroom was another problem...in serious need of some updates. The tub was old and the surrounding looked like it had been punched in and caulked over several times. The tub mat was dirty and brown and the soap holder was still dirty from a previous person's bar of soap.

Alas, I thought the saving grace was going to be what we enjoy most...the pool. Wrong. In past years the pool has been clean and well kept. Not anymore. The pool and hot tub were cloudy and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in days or weeks. The concrete surrounding of the pool was growing algae and the top part of the hot tub had a thick green build-up that people were carving their names into...yuck. On top of this, the pool area is not monitored by hotel staff, so none of the posted rules are followed. Children fill the hot tub from open to close...one couple even brought their toddlers (without diapers!!) into the hot tub. Hotel staff that walk by to refill the towels said nothing.

If you're looking for a nice hotel with an indoor pool near Syracuse, look at other options. There are newer, nicer hotels in the area that charge almost the same price. We will be researching these options for next year. Hopefully management takes these negative reviews to heart and encourages updates and regular upkeep to attract better business. Unfortunately, we will not be returning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your recent stay. I am currently looking into the issues you described and would love to speak with you directly about your experience. Please feel free to contact me at (315) 437 2761 ext 602 or jczarniewicz@tramzhotels.com. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second night at a Best Western following a stay in Watertown. This location was much nicer, though the bathrooms were dirty. This hotel could definitely use a renovation in the rooms. Front desk staff were pleasant. Pool area was dirty, there was plenty of mold and mildew, and looked like the pool could use a good cleaning. Our room overlooked the pool area, and our curtains did not close all the way so we had to change hiding beside the window. It was very loud until the pool closed at 10pm, we have a 4yr and 6 yr old so it was not a great location for us.

Room Tip: Do not get a room overlooking the pool. It is open until 10pm and very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We certainly appreciate your comments as they assist in continuously improving our service and facility. Our goal is to ensure the ordinary experience becomes "extraordinary" for every guest and we appreciate every bit of feedback our guests offer. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you when you return to Syracuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our whole family enjoyed stay at this hotel. Check in and check out are very fast, beds are comfortable, overall, we had a very comfortable stay. The hotel location is also pretty good, very close to highway. The breakfast is good too. Staffs are very friendly. It was a Saturday when we stayed there, so, if I have anything to complain, the swiming pool is a little bit too small, too crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience as a guest of the Best Western Plus. I am happy to hear you found our hotel very comfortable, the location convenient and the staff friendly. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 6:00 p.m. and was met by an irate hotel reception staff. We had phoned a head and reserved a room with a discount coupon and given a confirmation number. When we arrived the staff person didn't want to honor the rate given to us. She said there was a convention going on and we shouldn't have been given the room rate. We persisted and showed her our confirmation number and the coupon. She then grumpily agreed and complained about other staff not reading a notice. During the check in process she was very unhappy. The only person at the hotel that was happy and helpful was the lady taking care of the complimentary breakfast in the morning. The energy in the hotel was depressing and it felt old. The hallways needed painting and some TLC. The newly renovated part of the hotel seems to be the reception area and front landscaping. Wouldn't stay here again. First time staying with Best Western I was not impressed with the chain. Staff morale seemed really low.

Room Tip: Away from the indoor pool. It closes at 10:00 p.m. and opens at 8:00 a.m. in the morning. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Plus. I am very sorry you experienced such an unprofessional level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with the Front Desk regarding your check in, have been addressed. I appreciate you alerting me to this issue and I hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the Syracuse area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here one night. Would not do that again. Mold in bathroom shower, carpet really dirty. Walls need painting. Window ledges and tracks haven't been maintained. Room had a really bad odour like an old bar smell. However, staff was extremely friendly the breakfast was decent. Beds were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus and taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor ours. We pride ourselves on providing a clean room, great customer service and great amenities and we are sorry to see that we fell short during your stay.We do hope that you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the Syracuse area. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Building has come a long way from what it used to be! The stars given to this hotel is badly over-rated, as was the price. Evidence of lack of investment and care of the facility in bedroom and bathroom - see picture of bathroom. This is too bad as the location is good, relatively quiet relative to the other hotels in carrier circle. We felt mislead - not a "Plus" hotel at all!

Only positive was the breakfast, an ample clean dinning room, which included scrambled eggs and sausages (no bacon), as well as the other standard breakfast fare stuff like coffe, yogurt, toast, etc.

We will not be back to this one. Lots of better choices in same area.

Room Tip: Wait until they remodel the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our staff works diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations at a good value. I'm sorry to hear about the condition of the room you received during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and I appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse

Address: 6555 Old Collamer Rd. S., East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious, yet affordable Syracuse hotel offers abundant amenities, pet-friendly accommodations and convenient access to Syracuse University. Conveniently located near many of the area's businesses and organizations, you can make the most of your business trip at this Syracuse hotel. Enjoy just a short commute to Carrier Corporation, Magna, Time Warner Cable, John Deere, Sara Lee Food Services, Bristol Myers Squibb and many more corporate offices. Visiting the area's students and faculty? Columbia College, Le Moyne College, SUNY ESF and Syracuse University are all just minutes away. The Oncenter, home to many conventions, is also nearby.Both business travelers and leisurely vacationers will appreciate being near so many of the area's exciting attractions. Green Lakes State Park offers scenic lakes with golfing, swimming and snowshoeing or you can enjoy boating at Onondaga Lake Park. Just 27 miles away, guests of this BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse hotel can easily enjoy skiing at Song Mountain Resort. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being just miles from Alliance Bank Stadium and Carrier Dome, and those looking for a thrill will have convenient access to Turning Stone Casino and Syracuse Fairgrounds.Play or unwind in the indoor heated pool and relaxing hot tub at this Syracuse hotel. Many guests also delight in the many other abundant amenities, including an exercise facility, a cocktail lounge, an onsite restaurant, guest laundry, a business center, free parking and a coffee shop.Unwind and get a great night's sleep in the comfortable and spacious rooms at this pet-friendly Syracuse hotel. Enjoy wonderful amenities, such as cable or satellite television with in-room movies, free Internet access, a coffeemaker, a refrigerator, room service and much more. Wake up each morning to a delicious complimentary full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Western Plus-Carrier Circle Hotel East Syracuse
Holiday Inn East Syracuse
East Syracuse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.