We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Pool-Outdated Rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6555 Old Collamer Rd. S., East Syracuse, NY 13057   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in East Syracuse
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty Pool-Outdated Rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel in the coupon book you get at the travel plazas. The beds in the room we comfy and some furniture was nice. The bat tub was yellow and old. There was black stuff on the ceiling. The most disappointing thing was the pool. There was green algae and mold all around the pool and floor. It was obvious the pool had not been cleaned and scrubbed for awhile. My son said the water had a foul oder. For the price we paid for the room the quality was not there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Our goal is to ensure that all of our guests leave satisfied. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations.
Thank you again for the review and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and ensuring that you have a pleasant comfortable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    83
    49
    37
    23
See reviews for
112
45
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently traveled to the Syracuse area for a sporting event and this hotel was on the list for Syracuse area hotels that we had to choose from to accommodate our group. First of all, we checked in around 4pm on a 82 degree day. The room smelled like smoke and mildew and the air conditioner (which was off) was covered in dust. We dropped our luggage, turned the air conditioning on and left for one of our events. We came back at 8:30pm and the room was still warm! I went down to complain at the desk and a young girl said she would report it and it should be working soon. About an hour and half later, we were ready for bed, went back up to our room and still NO air conditioning. Went down to the desk and another woman was there this time. She told us they are aware of the issue and have been having issues with their air conditioning over the last few days. We had a sports group with several kids staying there to wake up very early to play their games and they had to sweat it out the entire 2 nights we stayed. At least by the 2nd night, they handed out fans. Not a great way to handle large groups at all! They should have warned customers at check in or suggested different hotels if they were not able to meet basic needs! On a positive note, the breakfast was decent and the most of the staff especially the bar staff was great! Got us through the weekend! My suggestion for Best Western. Have a little higher standards so your staff doesn't have to make excuses for what your properties lack!And please don't call it a PLUS unless you have truly renovated more than just the bedding and the sinks! Air conditioning and cleanliness are basic necessities- especially when you are traveling with families!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review about your stay this past weekend. I would like to personally apologize for your experience here.
We did have issues with our air conditioning system this past weekend and have since rectified the problem. I apologize this happened during your stay and I would like to take the time and discuss this matter personally with you. Please contact me at the hotel at (315) 437-2761 ext 602 anytime after 3pm Tuesday-Saturday.
I look forward to talking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed on our way to visit our children and grandchildren. Hotel layout is horrible. Not enough exit doors to the parking lot. Carpet in halls were dirty, needed to be vacuumed. Someone down the hall had room service and put their plates out (with food on them) and they sat all night long in the hall. Our welcome was not much of a welcome. We seemed to be more of an interruption to the clerk at the desk who was less than friendly. Room was nice, but we had to walk very far to get to our room - there were no exits to the parking lot near our room. The breakfast was good, except trying to find a clean table to sit at was impossible. They may have been short handed? We will not be staying at this Best Western again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. While I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, I am troubled that your experience did not equal yours or our expectations. I will certainly address the issues that you mention in your review. I appreciated hearing from you about your stay because that is what helps us make this a great hotel that guests love.
Thank you again for your business, and I hope to hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Valley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Firstly, this location is like a little hotel community. There are multiple hotels located within walking distance to each other.
Stayed at this location for one night This hotel was a nice stay when on a trip to Syracuse for shopping with an easy drive to both Destiny USA and the Shoppingtown Mall.
It was a former Holiday Inn, turned Best Western. The building itself was quite large and has a unique indoor pool, although not heated wonderfully well, was fun for a few of the kids that were using it. The room, esp the bathroom, definitely had an older feel about it. While the furnishings were are new and cared for the age of the building and rooms was apparent.
Breakfast buffet was included in our rate and was quite sufficient before heading out for the day.
Overall, a decent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that we were a good value for your family, and that we provided many things that you and your family liked.
Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Average Best Western Plus. Dinged one star just for internet, a necessity now days. Stayed in room 270.

Pluses: Clean room, our most important item. Quiet, even though room overlooked indoor pool. Excellent hot and cold breakfast buffet. Great staff. Generally good maintenance in a large property except for the items noted below. Room nicely appointed.

Negatives: #1 complaint, POOR internet bandwidth. This is a large property and they only have one internet signal. We showed an excellent connection signal strength on three different computers, HOWEVER, bandwidth was totally inadequate! Speed was worse than dial-up. Email, checking WX, news, etc. were impossible. Load a page and wait, and wait, and wait. We gave up!! Same result both evening and morning. We were forced to provide our own internet access by tethering from our cell phone.

Other Negatives - Minor: Bath vanity cracked clear through. Shower surround was fully cracked around the water control and probably is allowing water and mold into the wall behind the crack. Smaller room. A bit dark, needs better light. Refrigerator had a huge chunk of ice in the back of the refrigerator section. Hadn't been checked in a long time.

Would stay here again, IF they fixed the internet!

Room Tip: Ask about the internet bandwidth problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much taking the time to write a review. I want to express my gratitude for your information regarding the internet connection and I want you to know that the matter is being addressed. Please contact me personally the next time you are thinking of traveling to the area and I will be more than happy to give you an update and to assist you in your reservations. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for three days in late April. Staff were very hospitable, pool was great, there is small gym and several large conference rooms. The bar has a great menu and friendly staff. The breakfast was just right and it's right off the highway making it very easy to find.

Room Tip: The newer section (5) is probably the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so pleased you enjoyed our great location, rooms, staff, and amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Last minute stay with no reservation. Had a good coupon rate. The room was great! Comfortable, very clean, great TV, bathroom nice. Trouble with the AC system. I don't lnow if it was me or the system not working prerly, but the room felt too warm and adjusting the thermostat didn't seem to improve the temperature. The breakfast buffet was very basic but okay-not special. So happy with the room. I plan to stay here again if the rate is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our guest’s feedback is the most valuable to us and we appreciate it! Were glad that you had a pleasant stay despite the one issue that you stated above. We pride ourselves on our quality and service, and we’ll always do everything possible to ensure both of these areas are top notch. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse

Address: 6555 Old Collamer Rd. S., East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious, yet affordable Syracuse hotel offers abundant amenities, pet-friendly accommodations and convenient access to Syracuse University. Conveniently located near many of the area's businesses and organizations, you can make the most of your business trip at this Syracuse hotel. Enjoy just a short commute to Carrier Corporation, Magna, Time Warner Cable, John Deere, Sara Lee Food Services, Bristol Myers Squibb and many more corporate offices. Visiting the area's students and faculty? Columbia College, Le Moyne College, SUNY ESF and Syracuse University are all just minutes away. The Oncenter, home to many conventions, is also nearby.Both business travelers and leisurely vacationers will appreciate being near so many of the area's exciting attractions. Green Lakes State Park offers scenic lakes with golfing, swimming and snowshoeing or you can enjoy boating at Onondaga Lake Park. Just 27 miles away, guests of this BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse hotel can easily enjoy skiing at Song Mountain Resort. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being just miles from Alliance Bank Stadium and Carrier Dome, and those looking for a thrill will have convenient access to Turning Stone Casino and Syracuse Fairgrounds.Play or unwind in the indoor heated pool and relaxing hot tub at this Syracuse hotel. Many guests also delight in the many other abundant amenities, including an exercise facility, a cocktail lounge, an onsite restaurant, guest laundry, a business center, free parking and a coffee shop.Unwind and get a great night's sleep in the comfortable and spacious rooms at this pet-friendly Syracuse hotel. Enjoy wonderful amenities, such as cable or satellite television with in-room movies, free Internet access, a coffeemaker, a refrigerator, room service and much more. Wake up each morning to a delicious complimentary full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Western Plus-Carrier Circle Hotel East Syracuse
Holiday Inn East Syracuse
East Syracuse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.