We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6555 Old Collamer Rd. S., East Syracuse, NY 13057   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in East Syracuse
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Okay, but ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Average Best Western Plus. Dinged one star just for internet, a necessity now days. Stayed in room 270.

Pluses: Clean room, our most important item. Quiet, even though room overlooked indoor pool. Excellent hot and cold breakfast buffet. Great staff. Generally good maintenance in a large property except for the items noted below. Room nicely appointed.

Negatives: #1 complaint, POOR internet bandwidth. This is a large property and they only have one internet signal. We showed an excellent connection signal strength on three different computers, HOWEVER, bandwidth was totally inadequate! Speed was worse than dial-up. Email, checking WX, news, etc. were impossible. Load a page and wait, and wait, and wait. We gave up!! Same result both evening and morning. We were forced to provide our own internet access by tethering from our cell phone.

Other Negatives - Minor: Bath vanity cracked clear through. Shower surround was fully cracked around the water control and probably is allowing water and mold into the wall behind the crack. Smaller room. A bit dark, needs better light. Refrigerator had a huge chunk of ice in the back of the refrigerator section. Hadn't been checked in a long time.

Would stay here again, IF they fixed the internet!

Room Tip: Ask about the internet bandwidth problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much taking the time to write a review. I want to express my gratitude for your information regarding the internet connection and I want you to know that the matter is being addressed. Please contact me personally the next time you are thinking of traveling to the area and I will be more than happy to give you an update and to assist you in your reservations. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    45
    33
    21
See reviews for
103
41
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for three days in late April. Staff were very hospitable, pool was great, there is small gym and several large conference rooms. The bar has a great menu and friendly staff. The breakfast was just right and it's right off the highway making it very easy to find.

Room Tip: The newer section (5) is probably the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so pleased you enjoyed our great location, rooms, staff, and amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Last minute stay with no reservation. Had a good coupon rate. The room was great! Comfortable, very clean, great TV, bathroom nice. Trouble with the AC system. I don't lnow if it was me or the system not working prerly, but the room felt too warm and adjusting the thermostat didn't seem to improve the temperature. The breakfast buffet was very basic but okay-not special. So happy with the room. I plan to stay here again if the rate is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our guest’s feedback is the most valuable to us and we appreciate it! Were glad that you had a pleasant stay despite the one issue that you stated above. We pride ourselves on our quality and service, and we’ll always do everything possible to ensure both of these areas are top notch. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed two weekend nights for a wedding with kids and family dog. We had two Double Queen bed rooms. This hotel is an older property in an almost desolate area of Syracuse near former Carrier Air Conditioning plant.

Cheer competition in Syracuse that weekend and many teams staying here. Hotel was packed with families.

We had two 2nd floor Rooms - they appeared clean upon arrival. Beds were comfortable with a serviceable supply of pillows. Rooms' decor is typical of older motor lodges with spartan furnishings. The rooms had refrigerators, they were clean and cold. The TV's worked nicely and allowed us to easily hook up our Wii console.

Heat/Air Conditioning/Ventilation fan did not work in either room. One room in 80's the other in the 60's. We asked at front desk, maintenance worker arrived while we were gone and left message heat turned off in warm room. In reality, nothing changed.

Wi-Fi didn't work in either room, signal so poor we could not get devices connected. We asked at Front Desk, told there was a problem, but nothing could be done until Monday morning.

Asked at Front Desk for more Bath towels on the second day, were told there were none available until late afternoon, but some could be delivered. As promised, towels were delivered around 5:00 PM that day.

The last night, our dog made his first trip into the kids room. He started sniffing around behind the night stand and wouldn't come out. We found out why - empty vending machine snack wrappers, moldy pizza crusts and an a inch of dust and dirt. Disgusting !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We did use the pool and hot tub, water was clean. The pool area was large, clean, open space located in a newer/renovated part of the building. Definitely an asset. We found pool towels, but MANY other guests complained they had were no towels.

We had the free breakfast twice - Juice, fresh fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, french toast, breads and bagels, sweet rolls and muffins. It was the same both days, fresh each day, well prepared and what you should expect for a complimentary breakfast. The restaurant area was always clean and the staff very courteous.

Room Tip: Pool area is busy and noisy. Many rooms overlook pool area, so if you are looking for quiet, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property during your stay in our area. I am very sorry to hear about your experience with our housekeeping department and I thank you for bringing this to my attention so that I can correct the situation.
We hope that you give us another opportunity to provide the experience you deserve the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was there this past weekend and room was decent and people were friendly. There was no towel in the swimming area and I was told there will be some up in my room when I return to my room for me and my kids.
The pool is not deep and was cold for an indoor pool but we had no towels after leaving ours there for 6 hours and called 3 times from our room finally getting only 2 when asked for 4. For myself and family. Saturday we left for the pools and the life guard had asked for us 3 times to bring towels downstairs for people in the pool and once again had to stay in the pool for 1 1/2 hours before towels arrived.
Plus towels were in really ruff shape....

Front desk was friendly but everything else I thought need work. Definitely don't recommend spending your weekend here.

Mattress was also to soft where my head was a lot lower than my feet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with an exceptional stay. The little details definitely do make a trip and I regret we missed the mark during your trip. Your feedback provides me with important information for us to work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms were nice but small, and room service was average. They did not refill the toilet paper & forgot face cloths. The complimentary breakfast was average. The only hot items were eggs & sausage. No bacon, no potatoes, etc... and wehn it got crowded on the weekend, there was no place to sit, had to wait a long time to get juice. One on the employee, who brought the toilet paper to us one night, was not too friendly. Would not even open the door for us when we were just behind her. But many did have a smile and said hello every morning. Kids enjoyed the pool. Always had to wait though for towels... For the price 88$/night, it was acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business and I do apologize about the issues with the amenities and wait time during breakfast . I appreciate you letting us know and we do hope you will come back again. Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Carrier Circle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel has very attentive staff - they make sure on wake up call, arrange shuttle trip to a car rental, explain you where what is located in the hotel. The bed is good and so is water pressure; they might forget to provide you with shampoo however, which is nice Pantene Pro V shampoo. The hotel has an indoor pool - good for winter time. The only thing, I did not like was breakfast. It had coffee, tea, pastries, sausage and eggs, lots of carb-food, but no berries, organic yogurt, or vegetables. I know it is complimentary, and I would not mind to pay a bit extra for more healthy style.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your honest feedback with others! It's feedback like yours that encourages guests to stay with us and allows us to be able to give our guests what they are looking for. We are currently in the process of changing up our breakfast buffet to include options for all dietary needs. Thank you for your business and I hope you can return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse

Address: 6555 Old Collamer Rd. S., East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious, yet affordable Syracuse hotel offers abundant amenities, pet-friendly accommodations and convenient access to Syracuse University. Conveniently located near many of the area's businesses and organizations, you can make the most of your business trip at this Syracuse hotel. Enjoy just a short commute to Carrier Corporation, Magna, Time Warner Cable, John Deere, Sara Lee Food Services, Bristol Myers Squibb and many more corporate offices. Visiting the area's students and faculty? Columbia College, Le Moyne College, SUNY ESF and Syracuse University are all just minutes away. The Oncenter, home to many conventions, is also nearby.Both business travelers and leisurely vacationers will appreciate being near so many of the area's exciting attractions. Green Lakes State Park offers scenic lakes with golfing, swimming and snowshoeing or you can enjoy boating at Onondaga Lake Park. Just 27 miles away, guests of this BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse hotel can easily enjoy skiing at Song Mountain Resort. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being just miles from Alliance Bank Stadium and Carrier Dome, and those looking for a thrill will have convenient access to Turning Stone Casino and Syracuse Fairgrounds.Play or unwind in the indoor heated pool and relaxing hot tub at this Syracuse hotel. Many guests also delight in the many other abundant amenities, including an exercise facility, a cocktail lounge, an onsite restaurant, guest laundry, a business center, free parking and a coffee shop.Unwind and get a great night's sleep in the comfortable and spacious rooms at this pet-friendly Syracuse hotel. Enjoy wonderful amenities, such as cable or satellite television with in-room movies, free Internet access, a coffeemaker, a refrigerator, room service and much more. Wake up each morning to a delicious complimentary full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Western Plus-Carrier Circle Hotel East Syracuse
Holiday Inn East Syracuse
East Syracuse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.