We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6555 Old Collamer Rd. S., East Syracuse, NY 13057   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in East Syracuse
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The stay in this hotel was just okay, as there seemed to be a banging noise behind the wall against the thermostat which made it more difficult to sleep. The room itself was okay, but is in need of a freshening up. However, the complimentary breakfast was very good and the pool was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay in Syracuse. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will try us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    67
    36
    27
    19
See reviews for
86
34
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alfred, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first time this year. We have been regular attenders of the NYS Fair as my children are in the 4-H dog program, and compete at the fair with their dogs (in obedience, grooming and handling, agility, etc.) The hotel we stayed at last year was very nice, but between their room rate and what they charged for the dog nightly, the bill was well over $300.00 for two nights. With my daughter now in college and our budget a bit tighter, I was looking for something a little less expensive, but just as nice. Well, we found it at this hotel! You can tell that the hotel is not new (although my 13 year old son thought it was,) but it was very clean, both in the public areas, as well as our room. Staff was very friendly. We were on the first floor, near a door, making it very easy to get our dog in and out. Linens were immaculately clean- could not tell they had ever been used before! Air conditioning was nicely adjustable, and having a refrigerator in the room was great as we were able to take our own cold drinks to the fair, rather than buying them all there, to save more money. Restaurants and grocery stores are within an easy drive from the hotel. The "business center" has four computers to use for mapquest directions, and has a printer for taking the directions with you. I was a little concerned when I noted two tour buses the one day. We had to be at the fairgrounds and ready for competition by 9:00 the next day, and I envisioned long lines of people at the breakfast buffet, and nowhere to sit. Well, that never occurred. The staff had breakfast ready to serve before 6:30, and everything flowed smoothly. The only negative experience was that our television did not work. We do not have television at home, and so my son was hoping to watch it at the hotel. I mentioned it to the staff at the front desk, and they said that they would send someone down to take care of it. Well, is never did work before we left, which was not a big problem for us (we were busy with our dog and fair preparations,) but might be a big issue for someone else who is a bit more fussy than we are. I was looking for clean, comfortable, pet- and people-friendly accommodations at a fair price, and that was what I got ! ! ! I saved about $80 compared to what I paid last year, so, we will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank You for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us this year and letting everyone know about your stay.
I do want to apologize about your TV and I thank you for letting me know about this.
When you come back please mention this review. I would like to make it up to your son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

BW has done a pretty good job of upgrading what seemed to be an old worn down facility. But our stay was just fine. Beds are very comfortable although the down comfortables are way to much unless you turn the a/c to freezing. We should have taken advantage of the lighter blanket in the closet. The lounge and grill area is very nice. All in all we were satisfied with our stay. A/C unit was quiet compared to other BW we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write us a review. We appreciate all of your thoughts and comments – which are used to better serve our guests. Your experience has been shared with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights while in syracuse to see the State Fair.
The location is good to get on and off the Highway. It is a lot bigger than it seems as it has a few different wings. The breakfast was OK, long line ups for the food, but the food was basic but pretty good. Hallways had the slight smell of chlorine, which I suppose is normal since there is a pool. The rooms could use an update, especially the bathrooms and AC un it which was noisy.
Overall, I would go back.

Room Tip: Take a room far from the indoor pool to avoid chlorine smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We truly value the input we receive from our guests.
We are pleased to hear you would stay with us again and we hope you have that opportunity soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hotel is ok. Bathrooms are old and not in great shape. Rooms are in a little better condition. Rooms have a fridge. It could be a long walk to your room. Breakfast is included and the lady who works the breakfast room is great. Pricing is decent and this hotel is much better than the Comfort Inn and a couple others in the circle. Right off exit 35 on 90.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We appreciate your review on your recent stay at our hotel. We have a dedicated and great team in our restaurant who make sure our guests are satisfied and happy and I will be make sure to pass your compliments along!
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. I booked a hotel with a higher star rating because I wanted to make sure it was clean.
This was NOT the case with this hotel. The carpets we disgusting, hadn't been vacuumed in ages. Our feet were black after walking barefoot on the floor. Not nice.
One of us had to sleep on the pull out sofa. It was not even made up when we arrived. I had to call reception to get sheets and a pillow. It took them two hours to finally give us some sheets. I had to go back and ask for a comforter since all we got was two sheets and a pillow. Instead of a comforter we got a bedspread. By this time it was really late so we decided to make due.
The bed (king bed) was comfortable. However as we noticed in the morning it had stains on it. It did smell clean, so it might just have been stains that didn't was out, but still not very nice to see. The pull out bed on the couch was not fit for sleeping on. The mattress was thin and I felt every spring in it.

Breakfast (included) was a busy affair, not much to choose from. There was only scrambled eggs and a few dry sausages. The French toast was all gone, as was the muffins and toast. (We had breakfast at 9 am)

IN the morning we also asked again to have another comforter for the pull out sofa. We finally received a blanket. It had lots of hairs on it so it had not been cleaned. We didn't use it.

Our room's windows faced the pool. If you decided to stay here, ask for a room facing the ROAD... it will be a lot quieter. The racket in the pool kept the kids awake. It was noisy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay at the Best Western Plus. It is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel. However, all guest concerns and feedback are taken very seriously by our employees and management staff at the hotel.
I’m so sorry to hear about the cleanliness issues during your stay. I assure you this is not a common occurrence with our housekeeping department as we take great pride in our cleanliness standards and I will be sure to share this with our Executive Housekeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here the evening of August 25/2012, and I must admit that everything was perfect. The beds were clean and very comfortable. The temperature controls were accurate which helped to create a room that was extremely gratifying. The breakfast in the morning was not and offered a wide variety.

For anyone travelling down I-81, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for queen or king beds if they are available. There is plenty of parking available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We're pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate all of your needs and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse

Also Known As:
The Best Western Plus-Carrier Circle Hotel East Syracuse
The Best Western Plus-Carrier Circle Hotel
Holiday Inn East Syracuse
East Syracuse Holiday Inn
Address: 6555 Old Collamer Rd. S., East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious, yet affordable Syracuse hotel offers abundant amenities, pet-friendly accommodations and convenient access to Syracuse University. Conveniently located near many of the area's businesses and organizations, you can make the most of your business trip at this Syracuse hotel. Enjoy just a short commute to Carrier Corporation, Magna, Time Warner Cable, John Deere, Sara Lee Food Services, Bristol Myers Squibb and many more corporate offices. Visiting the area's students and faculty? Columbia College, Le Moyne College, SUNY ESF and Syracuse University are all just minutes away. The Oncenter, home to many conventions, is also nearby.Both business travelers and leisurely vacationers will appreciate being near so many of the area's exciting attractions. Green Lakes State Park offers scenic lakes with golfing, swimming and snowshoeing or you can enjoy boating at Onondaga Lake Park. Just 27 miles away, guests of this BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse hotel can easily enjoy skiing at Song Mountain Resort. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy being just miles from Alliance Bank Stadium and Carrier Dome, and those looking for a thrill will have convenient access to Turning Stone Casino and Syracuse Fairgrounds.Play or unwind in the indoor heated pool and relaxing hot tub at this Syracuse hotel. Many guests also delight in the many other abundant amenities, including an exercise facility, a cocktail lounge, an onsite restaurant, guest laundry, a business center, free parking and a coffee shop.Unwind and get a great night's sleep in the comfortable and spacious rooms at this pet-friendly Syracuse hotel. Enjoy wonderful amenities, such as cable or satellite television with in-room movies, free Internet access, a coffeemaker, a refrigerator, room service and much more. Wake up each morning to a delicious complimentary full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carrier Circle Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.