We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Decor, Very Clean, Food Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regatta Bar & Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Regatta Bar & Grille
6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057
(315) 432-0200
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Watertown, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Modern Decor, Very Clean, Food Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a romantic dinner for two in early April. Pictures of the Regatta Bar and Grille looked inviting and we had previously checked out their online menu so we went there. There were three areas to sit. The first was in the bar area, the second was an adjoining area with no barrier to the bar and the third a dining area that represented the pictures I had seen on the website. It was cozy, warm and away from the bar. It was also was a room that was elevated from the other two with three surrounding walls so that it cold be more remote. We were placed in the middle dining area that was very loud with all of the Flat Screens and hooting that goes on in a sports bar. I longed to go into the third room that was more intimate and better decorated (in my opinion) . I wish I had been more forward and asked.. The menu was very simple and disappointing. All I can think is that they must have more than one menu because this was nothing like what I saw online on their personal web page.. We ended up ordering steaks that were grilled to our liking however I am not sure they were previously marinated. We were invited to a salad bar that had some fresh salads and some wilted stuff. All in all I was very disappointed with the seating and food but i have to give it three stars because I believe that tidiness and cleanliness are important and they certainly had both..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Late night reunion with old friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Late night drinks with a party of 4. We all stayed at the DoubleTree, this was conveniently located inside the lobby so was therefore the logical choice for late night drinks. The server was attentive and provided excellent service. We stayed well past 2 am and she was there till the very last moment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Service, Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Without a car and limited access to the city, I decided to give this restaurant a try, considering it was housed within the hotel I was staying at. The service was great, with the bar tender being attentive and helpful in providing dinner service at the bar. The food, a pasta dish, was neither spectacular nor bad, and left me satisfied. One part of me wished I had been able to seek something else out in Syracuse, finding a menu that was a little more exciting and inventive, but at the end of the day, the food filled me up and I left happy and that counts for something.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Spectacular service and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed this restaurant very much after a mediocre stay at the adjoining hotel. We had the breakfast buffet, which was very good and mostly house prepared. The omelette was exceptional, and fresh salsa surprisingly tasty. Our waitress was simply wonderful and accommodating to our two rambunctious boys.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Horrible Sunday Buffet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

When I called to make reservations, the hostest told me I might want to come earlier becaue they close down the buffet around noon. We arrived at 11. The food was COLD and many items on the buffet steam table were empty (and never replaced). the cook for the omellettes/waffles, etc. was not to be seen. Hedid show up after a 15 minute wait. This was a waste of $15.00 per person!!!!! This restaurant (inside the Doubletree hotel) used to have a fantastic Sunday brunch buffet. sorry to say that is no longer the case.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regatta Bar & Grille also viewed

East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Regatta Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regatta Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.