We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Onion

Green Onion
6596 Old Collamer Rd, East Syracuse, NY 13057
(315) 432-1710
Update restaurant details
Ranked #33 of 57 restaurants in East Syracuse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Manlius, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The menu is average lunch with sandwiches. Great for a quick meal. This used to be someones home, so it looks, kinda small and dark inside for a restaurant. It was OK.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

33% Recommend
    2
    4
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Lot Of Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Have had dinner here a few times. It is always excellent. The chef came out to meet me once, wanted to meet the lady who had ordered her dinner extra spicy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Highly recommend this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Owner/cook came out and asked me exactly how I wanted my steak done so he got it right. Nice old man. Good place to go and relax. Just a small place with friendly people and good food. Great value too for Syracuse.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Run Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

There are many hotels in this area and we did not want to drive so we walked from the Best Western across the street. The restaurant is located in an old century home and we thought it looked lovely. Everything went downhill from there. The menu is very limited and many of the items were fried. The advertised halibut was actually talapia which is a much cheaper fish. The "salads" that were served with the meal were a small bowl of bagged iceburg lettuce with one cucumber slice, one quarter tomato wedge and some 2 or 3 shredded carrot pieces. None of our bake potatoes were cooked enough and when we pointed this out to the waitress her comment was "gee whiz" and did nothing, not even offering to replace them. The waitress was not at all friendly. She acted like she was doing us a favour. There was only one other table occupied on a Friday night and Syracuse was bustling with the state soccer championships and tons of Canadians taking advantage of the increased shopping allowance. Our bill was $93 dollars and not worth a penny of what we spent. My two friends and I, who have travelled extensively for both work and pleasure, agree it was the worst dining experience we have encountered.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Interested in supporting a local business vice a chain, we went as a small group of friends. It wasn't busy (a Tues night). The staff tried to be friendly.

Some menu items sounded interesting; however, the actual meals were only average. Some dishes were luke warm and it seemed like the watered down tomato sauce made its way to almost everyone's dish.

Ordered wine but when we wanted a second bottle there was none in stock.

Not recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Onion also viewed

East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
East Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Green Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.