We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGH!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Destiny USA Shopping!
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in East Syracuse
Hamilton
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“UGH!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

I had it marked 'Terrible' but backed up. The bed was good and there were 5 pillows for each bed. We were delayed by the airport and they sent us to the DoubleTree. I was happy because in Texas they are very good. The desk clerk asked if we wanted to put money on account up front in case we wanted any extras.This one had faded, dirty and worn floors and litter in the halls. The light was burned out in the room entry, the toilet seat was loose, the coffee maker was broken and missing a part. The room was small and crowded. The prices were high for dinner and breakfast. They charge $10 for wi-fi in your own room! They have a computer for guests to use downstairs in a crowded and very warm small room. In the morning they delivered a newspaper to your door and charged you an extra 75 cents. The whole experience was very much less than we expected. This happened on our way home after a very enjoyable 9 day trip. We'd been very happy to have picked out a Comfort Inn for a much less price and better amenities. Glad we weren't picking up the tab on this one. In fairness to the staff they were quick to repair and replace whatever we brought to their attention. And the worker was the one that told us about the charge for wi-fi....not the front desk! This just wasn't good. They were stingy and petty. We have recieved much better most every place we've been and we've been far and wide.

  • Liked — bed and pillows
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    187
    109
    25
    15
See reviews for
155
99
30
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the doubletree on our way from Washington DC to Ottowa. The people at the reception were very helpful and extremely nice. We were asked what our room preference was and which floor we'd like to stay at. The room was very clean. The king size bed was very comfortable. We had the view of the swimming pool. They have an indoor pool as well which we didn't use.
I am very particular about having a clean room. I am one of those people who carry their own pillow and sheets but didn't need it here.
We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel as there is nothing close by to the hotel and after 6.5 hrs of driving we didn't want to venture out to look for food. The restaurant is real nice and you can order off the bar menu . We got a salad and a club sandwich. The portions are huge.
Overall I think its a great transit hotel.
We placed a bid at 65$ on priceline and paid $81.85 in total for 1 night.

  • Liked — Great transit hotel
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

My family and I were in town for a Homeschool Convention.
When we checking into our room it was nice and clean and somewhat fancy. When I tried to turn on the air conditioner it never worked. I called the front desk and immediatly they came up and verified it didnt work. He gave us a new room on the spot and a voucher for free buffet breakfast for my whole family. The room was nice and cool and everything else was great.

  • Liked — Value, cleanliness, hospitality.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2006

I have stayed at the Wyndham several times when traveling for business purposes in Syracuse. Previous experiences have been pretty nice, but my last trip was really bad. The hotel was very noisy, my room service took over an hour to arrive, checkout took forever, my phone didnt work when I got in my room. I usually have a very nice stay, but this was not one of those times.

To their credit - I did fill out an online evaluatioin they sent me about a week or two later, and was quite frank about my concerns. About one week later, I received a letter from the management acknowledging my concerns, along with a very nice gratuity, asking that I give them another try. I will, again because I found tghe hotel suited my just fine for travel purposes. Lets hope this last experience was not a signal of a decline!

  • Liked — convinient access to the thruway, pool/gym, easy parking
  • Disliked — meetings=noise
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Stayed here for 7 nights last week in September. I found the room
good, staff helpful.
Towels were a little worn, and the matteress had seen better days but room was overall good!
Problems we had were the ridiculous INTERNET charges $10.99
per night, one night or 7 its still the same!!
Next the restaurant and the bar were very overpriced!!! Forget
room service very expensive!!
A lot of renovation in progress.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Internet charges,poor mattress,over priced bar and resturant
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay here if you have to use internet
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

First off, if you are going to stay at this hotel join the Wyndham by Request before your stay. (Free and Easy) We checked in this past Tuesday and the proccess took about 2 minutes. The staff was very helpful and provided maps as well as dining options that are local. We went to our room which was a first floor room with a slider door that went right to the outdoor pool. When we got to our room because we had done the Wyndham by request there was 2 bottles of wine, 2 bottles of water, and some cheese and crackers for us to enjoy. The outdoor pool was heated and the indoor pool was a little on the cold side (but refreshing). We had a flight at 6 am and the hotel was able to drive us to the airport at 4 am even though there shuttle does not start until 6 am. They went out of there way to help us. The dining in the hotel was a little on the expensive side but they have a bar area that offers pizzas and such that is pretty reasonable. I definately recommend that you give it at try.

  • Tips/Secrets — Join the Wyndham by Request before your trip to enjoy free welcome drinks/snack
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

Checking in was not easy, the desk clerk was not helpful, happy or accomodating. The hotel was practically empty and I don't think it would have hurt to smile at your only check-in of the day. The pool is nice only 4 1/2 deep and jacuzzi and sauna are clean and in working order. The carpets in the room are new in 2006 but the hotel IS old. The bar/restaurant is open in the lobby but extremely pricey. The staff is downright uncomfortable to be
around. So if you don't get a deal (under 100.00) don't go here.

hint-hotwire currently has this property as a 3 1/2 star $58.00 deal

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Address: 6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
#6 Family Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service hotel in Syracuse, New York, is situated in a corporate park just off the New York State Thruway and is only ten minutes from downtown and Syracuse University. Take the complimentary shuttle to Syracuse Hancock International Airport.Our rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Relax in the courtyard area with seating, plus enjoy the heated, indoor pool with a whirlpool spa and the heated, outdoor pool with a sundeck. Dine at Regatta Bar & Grille, offering cocktails and light food. Our hotel in Syracuse, New York also offers room service, a complimentary 24-hour fitness center, complimentary 24-hour business center and a self-service pantry. Host a meeting in 12,000 sq. ft. of event space including two ballrooms and two boardrooms capable of hosting up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel East Syracuse
Doubletree East Syracuse
East Syracuse Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.